Header
Saga - Trust CD (album) cover

TRUST

Saga

Crossover Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
bloodless.but
4 stars Well, what to say about this masters with almost 30 years of trajectory. There is his new one, and I trusted them inmediatelly since I know "Trust" was the title of the record, because I know SAGA is warranty. And in fact, this album was risen from all the saga history to become one only modern and great record. The first time I listen to it, a few day ago, the fist tracks to captive me were, I'M OK!, which remembers me of the first SAGA era, maybe it's like some Silent Knight pieces, so beatufill with Gilmour shining on his piano, a really great song, and of course the one that gives the title, TRUST, a rock oriented song, strong, it makes you wanna stand up inmediatelly when the chorus arrives, the other was the first single at the moment, I'm talking 'bout It's Your Life, rocker too, with a typical SAGA's riff style, full of the band's personality on all the composition, and the new drummer Brian Droener has adapted himself too well to it, and the other one, near to the finish, was you were right, it really suprised me too much, I love this song, it sounds like all the early saga albums in one, even including the disapointing Steel Umbrellas in some riff, but with amazing vocal work from Mr. Sadler everywhere and pianos and Ian arrangements. Most of the other songs liked me too, but I must admit I have to listen too it al few more times to get deeper in them because I'm new with this record. But I'm able to make this review and to tell everyone fan or not-fan, this is the best record since House Of Cards no doubt, a great effort, you can't miss this piece of excelent music, so go and GET IT!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#74864)
Posted Thursday, April 13, 2006 | Review Permalink
sas@flatearth
4 stars Well, what do you know!? This is actually the first Saga album in more than fifteen years that I actually like. I was a huge Saga fan in the early eighties, had all their LPs, saw them a couple of times perform live, but gradually my enthusiasm died with every album that was less progressive and more mainstream untill they didn't interest me at all. I kept following them in the press, even bought a few CDs that were supposedly a return to form (Generation 13), but those I played only a few times before relegating them to the cupboard.

This CD could change all that, because the Saga boys have now completey returned to their old sound. Most of the songs could have been outtakes from their first five albums and I don't mind at all because the songs sound fresh despite that. I really like the extended sections, the greater emphasis on synths, the numerous synth vs guitar duels, etc. For the first time in god knows how many years hearing a new Saga CD actually brought a smile to my face.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#76699)
Posted Sunday, April 30, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars Well here we go again fellow Saga fans a new release from the masters of Canadian prog. Another inspired offering from my fellow countrymen who have been heartfully adopted by Germany.This album could easily be called "Covering all the Bases " ,which they do very deftly ,unabashedly bringing into play the older Saga bag of tricks & still sounding fresh.It's truly amazing that a band can combine hard rock/prog & pop & do it so effortlessly while changing tempos so easily without interrrupting the flow of the song & on the bigger picture -the album.This has been a Saga hallmark since album # 1. Album starts off with "That's as Far as I Go" ,a sonically heavy driving syth lead w/lots of twists & turns.Next track "Back to the Shadows" ,finds the guys mining a straight ahead rocker reminescent of newer albums such as Full Circle & House of Cards.Track 3 "I'm OK" may be the feel good track of the album catchy as heck ,would be a single surely if this were the early / mid 80's."Time to Play" ,finds the funk groove ,perhaps inspired by Michael Sadler's hero & main inspiration Freddie Mercury.Jim Gilmour takes the mike (although he is all over this release with harmony / supporting vocals), for one of his signature & touching ballads wth "My Friend".The title track "Trust" is shouted universally by the band come chorus time for a fist in the air vibe."It's Yor Life" , a nice mid tempo rocker with some nice keybord touches.This next track "Footsteps ", sounds like a hybrid between Silent Knight & Worlds Apart- chills on this one ! "Ice in the Rain " ,may be my personal fave on the album,a basic guitar riff w/beautiful keyboard flourishes over the top ,but that could change daily as the complex layers of this album reveal themselves(like a great prog album should !).Last but not least finds Saga doing a little bit of Celtic music for the intro w/Michael Sadler going into newer vocal territory w/ a nice warm chorus.It's all over too fast ! One must respect the fact that Saga can return to their roots unabashadly ,while maintaining a modern sound ,not easy to pull off I'm sure ! Without a reservation I give this album 5 stars -Canada's best kept secret.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to nordwind (BETA) | Report this review (#77879)
Posted Friday, May 12, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars I have to admit this is the first Saga album i buy in a long long long time. I've heard the new crop of albums ( Full Circle, House of Cards, Marathon, Network, Chapters Live) but none of them made me actually take my credit card out and actually buy it like Trust did. The album is already a hit in Germany and top 40 in Sweden.

It is i think their best effort since the mid 80's. synths are back with a vengeance and Ian guitar riff is there. I think it is an album that old Saga fans will cheerish. It will bring back a lot of memories and for sure it will make you take out 'Saga 1' 'Images at Twilight' 'Silent Knight' and 'Worlds Apart' from the bottom of your cd stack and play them like crazy. Trust me,'Trust' is a new gem for the canadian band.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to V for Victory (BETA) | Report this review (#78413)
Posted Wednesday, May 17, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Finally a Saga album that has not let me down. I love the first four, the debut thru Worlds Apart but after that have not heard anything that rivaled those album til now, though 1992's Security of Illusion and 2001's House of Card were getting close.

The production on this album is absolutely pristine, something that was woefully lacking on the last two disasters Marathon and Network.

The melodies are sharp and tight. Keyboards have taken to the front again. Not on a level of Images or Knight, but still prominent.

Anyone who has been somewhat unimpressed with Saga's output over the last 10 years may find some real enjoyment with this release. I did:)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to zx2781 (BETA) | Report this review (#79372)
Posted Friday, May 26, 2006 | Review Permalink
Melomaniac
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Everyone has their opinions about which albums from this Canadian band are good and which are not. I will start by saying that, in general, I love Saga's albums from the first up to Heads or Tales, Behaviour being the album where, for me, things started to get a bit less interesting. Wildest Dreams and Beginner's Guide... I really don't like, Security of Illusion was good, Steel Umbrellas is, in my opinion their worst effort, Generation 13 I found amazing, The Pleasure and the Pain, with it's heavier side and session drummer (I was never too fond of Negus' drumming, except on Generation 13 where he shines brightly) was also very good. Full Circle was ok, House of Cards was great, Marathon was good, and Network I really like (again, Negus shines by his absence, Christian Simpson did a great job behind the kit).

Which brings us to Trust...

Enter new drummer Brian Doerner (formerly of Helix). He is, without a doubt, the best drummer Saga ever had, and I sincerely hope he'll stick around for a while. Trust is their best album since House of Cards, and among their top five from all time. You can find Gentle Giant influences in here, especially in songs like Footsteps in the Hall and On the Other Side. Saga managed to go back to their early style and still sound fresh with Trust. Only one song I find less interesting, which is Time to Play. Every other song is, simply put, Saga at their best. Only downfall : the album is too short !!!

4 and a half stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Melomaniac (BETA) | Report this review (#80773)
Posted Friday, June 09, 2006 | Review Permalink
Menswear
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars When the going get tough, the tough gets on going.

Man, is it me or Canadians bands seems to live longer than many other bands? Triumph, Rush, Gowan, Harmonium, Uzeb and Saga are good examples. They seems to grow unfatigable even after 25-30 years of good services. Gotta be that hockey and maple syrup....

Saga was to me an attractive band 'artwork' speaking. I thought the firefly logo was a catchy trademark and the LP covers fascinated me as a kid. But their songs...hmm, not a close as Rush. With time, I understood they're not playing the same leagues, nor the same crowd. Saga is more on the friendly side with an evident 80's sound, but this time, it's been hyped up on something!

This is not brain teaser by any means, but it's not fast food on the other hand. Saga can be surprisingly good musicians and songwriters; many times I've cranked up the volume thinking: 'Woo, this rocks!" And it does rocks. Against all odds, this is a very decent record.

Like Kansas, Toto or Styx, Saga has tremendous feet stomping potential: good (Mega Man style) guitar solos, catchy catchy catchy choruses, Gentle Giant winks and satisfying keyboard textures.

If you're looking for ONE simple but good, intelligent entertainment, Trust is a very good value. Most of the songs are pleasant and it's varied from rock to prog.

And to me, it's been a long time that I've had a soft spot for the 80's feel!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Menswear (BETA) | Report this review (#81439)
Posted Sunday, June 18, 2006 | Review Permalink
lor68
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars In the vein of the best melodic albums by Styx (a band which is closer to their spirit and sense of melody as well) and sometimes resembling also the mood of Kansas, the present new issue by Saga is not equal to their best album of the nineties ("Generation 13th"), but it's worth checking out at least! First of all the production is excellent as usual, but especially this time the work of synths is executed with the greatest care for detail, by means of the best technological devices. Beyond our imagination, this "Trust" is one step closer to the best proto-type of such an important sound engineering. Therefore their singer Michael Sadler has recently become well aware of the importance of his role: his vocalism implies that their melodies must be supported by his strong interpretation!!

Secondly, the remarkable guitar job performed by Ian Critchon is able to increase all the credits of Saga, among the several new melodic pop progressive bands of the world (Styx, Enchant, Collage and so on), because these latter often miss the impact of the harmonic guitar parts invented by Ian. Of Course Saga has always performed a melodic and commercial pop progressive music genre, which is far away for instance from the mood of some experimental progressive rock bands such as Glass Hammer, After Crying, A Triggering Myth, relatively speaking; nevertheless the goal of Saga has been successfully achieved once again, thanks also to their clever arrangements!! Besides the special effects inside That's As Far As I'll Go", the pleasan t melodic ballad "My Friend" and especially the impact of "On the Other Side", one of the best tracks, are quite memorable. At the end I could remember their job, after their pretty chorus within "It's Your Life", but above all the "interlacement" of the melodies created by their synths will stand alone as the best "trademark" of Saga ever.

The best album for your lightest and relaxed moments!!

Score: from 3 to 4 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to lor68 (BETA) | Report this review (#83198)
Posted Sunday, July 09, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars Wow! The undisputed masters of 80's pop-prog are back in high form! (Please don't mistake this for Neo-Prog) This music is like a window into a forgotten world - the imagined worlds of Jules Verne, George Orwell, Aldous Huxley, H. G. Wells, Fritz Lang. It is an echo of the Saga's best years, which, luckily for those who did not forget the glory days of the music that we call Progressive Rock, brings back all that was great about this Canadian band. The urgency, the focus, the vague feeling that something is wrong, that the world out of control, the bittersweet poetry - it's all back! It's as if they have come out of a 20- year deep freeze and picked up where "Heads Or Tales" left off in 1983. Perhaps the guys got tired of looking for new audiences and decided to do the "right thing" and come back to a sound that would be sure to please the core fans, of which there are plenty.

The massive keyboard, crunchy guitar sound (emphasized by production) and super-crisp vocals are a trademark of this record. Although the songs vary in quality they are overall very good, loaded with nice little prog surprises. As on every Saga album, some songs stand out, in this case the highlights being the awesome "That's As far As I Go", "Back To The Shadows", the stunning "Trust", "It's Your Life", the chop-o-matic "Footsteps In The Hall", the surprisingly Rush-like rocker "You Were Right" and the beautiful pop-prog song "On The Other Side". The booklet graphics are stunning.

If you are a fan of early Saga, and like 80's pop-prog rock in general (which would include early 80's Genesis, Yes and Rush), you are not likely to be disappointed with this excellent album. I can only add a wish that Genesis, Yes and Rush would follow Saga's example and return to making quality music once again...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to EMinkovitch (BETA) | Report this review (#83626)
Posted Thursday, July 13, 2006 | Review Permalink
3 stars Musically, you can't fault this album. All the current members of Saga are very, very good musicians. I particularly love the piano parts that flavour this release and the vocals are also very striking. But I can't make up my mind if I really like the album yet.

It is actually the first Saga album I bought, despite having been aware of them since way back in the 80s. I remember hearing them on the radio and on friend's hi-fi systems and thinking these guys aren't bad at all. So I suppose it's something of a crime that I'm only getting round to really listening to them now.

I'm listening to the album as I type and as each new song comes on I think, that's not bad but... Perhaps it's that too many of the tracks sounds too reminiscent of other acts with which I'm more familiar. There are elements here of Styx, Kansas, Enchant and even fellow Canadians - and progressive Gods - Rush. Not bad company to be keeping!

With time I think this one will grow on me more but, based on its initial impact, I'd say it's a 3 star release. It's one to check out if you like the bands I've mentioned above but there are other albums that should be added to your collection first.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to scarista (BETA) | Report this review (#114558)
Posted Thursday, March 08, 2007 | Review Permalink
3 stars About ten years ago, I had more or less given up on this band. "Pleasure and the pain was probably one of the absolute worst (if not THE worst) effort a group or artist I had ever liked ever did come up with...ever. Yes, I am rubbing it in. But a few years later it seemed they had recovered and made House of cards" a really decent listening experience. Nowadays I only take the time to check up on them once every third album or something like that. And Trust" is quite a nice one, not on a par with their absolute highlights, but enjoyable, catchy and without really abominable entries. I like it, not feeling overwhelmed but entertained. Especially the basically power pop-tunes like the title track, "It's your life" and "That's as far as I'll go" works well. All this adds up to, I think, three solid stars, bordering on a fourth but not quite.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to sanjuansueco (BETA) | Report this review (#158505)
Posted Sunday, January 13, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars I came across this album cheap on Ebay, and as I'd heard the name Saga before, I thought it wouldn't hurt to check them out. I'm glad I did.

As the opening riff of 'That's As Far As I Go' gets going, I knew I was listening to someone different than the norm. As a guitar player myself I instantly fell in love with Ian Critchon's style of riffing, sounding very fresh and unique. This style continues throughout the album, making songs like 'Ice in the Rain', 'It's Your Life' and 'Back to the Shadows' sound as though they're being played by a whole new band looking to prove something.

Unfortunately, one or two filler tracks prevents this album from getting a five-star rating that it deserves, which is a shame, as Saga's previous few albums didn't really receive such great critical response. But with 'Trust' Saga truly put themselves back on the map, and show that they are a band to be taken seriously.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Valarius (BETA) | Report this review (#182271)
Posted Friday, September 12, 2008 | Review Permalink
debrewguy
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Some may think they know what the contents will be when you pick up a Saga album . Pomp Rock with dashes of AOR and or Pop depending on the time period.

However, on their best releases, the group manages to forge a sound all their own that is more than that, and hard to describe. It's easy to identify, yet, there are always additions, changes, aspects that are muted or mutated from one album to another.

So what's the overview on this one - heavier, not just guitar-wise, but also in the keyboard sounds. If it wasn't for the fact that it wasn't released in 2006, I'd have no problem being convince it was released in the 80s, during the heydays of Arena Rock. And a good Arena rock album it is.

Trust, the title song, reminds me of mid period Rush with the big guitars, and the swooshing synths in the back. Footsteps in the Hall bring them back to songs like How Long & Compromise. That's As Far As I'll Go, the album opener is probably the most symbolic song as far as the whole package goes. Gilmour's keyboards, Crichton's guitars, Sadler's soaring vocals.

It's not that Saga has covered new ground here. And they have put out more interesting albums. But in a career spanning 16 studio albums over 30 plus years, I'd dare anyone to name more than a few acts that have been as consistent, and have regularly delivered albums that their fans consider band classics.

And so, while I give it a 3 only, I admit that the Saga fan will find much to enjoy here. And if you're just starting to get into their collection, this one won't disappoint.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to debrewguy (BETA) | Report this review (#213807)
Posted Monday, May 04, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars More a variety of songs, some containing classic SAGA material in the On the Loose Period, others going into Radiohead territory, then Tool territory, some Neo Progressive as well.

Everything is well written and performed. Michael Sadler's voice holds up. New drummer Brian Doerner of heavy metal Helix fame is wise to mostly not play in that style, which adds a variety dimension to the sound.

4 stars because of the quality variety because quite frankly, I would never give any SAGA recording 5 stars (yet).

However, this is clearly the quality reformed SAGA material that does not care about getting played on the radio because of Canadian content regulations, especially since Canadian radio stations, Rush excepted, only play old recordings of Canadian veterans of the music scene, thus any new material is ignored no matter how good it is.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to SMSM (BETA) | Report this review (#221621)
Posted Wednesday, June 17, 2009 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
3 stars Back to the shadows?

Trust seems to be a popular album here on PA, and it is indeed another good Saga album, but in comparison with the two albums that surrounded it - 2004's Network and 2007's 10.000 Days - Trust is actually a less good album in my opinion. This album does indeed feature all the usual Saga trademarks - some of which I like a lot and some of which I don't like very much. The typically catchy songs are occasionally just too catchy for me here; too cheerful and superficial to be fully enjoyed. The overly anthemic and repetitive chorus of I'm Ok, for example, is hard to stomach. Such generic words are just not worthy of that kind of display. I liked the previous Network and even more so the follow-up 10.000 Days, two albums that were slightly darker and more serious. I also think that especially 10.000 Days was also more progressive than Trust is.

The 11 tracks on Trust are rather short, even by Saga standards, the longest being the title track of just less than six minutes and the shortest is just over three minutes. This leaves less room for solos and instrumental workouts. There are some nice quirks in some of these songs for sure and some songs towards the end are even slightly Gentle Giant-like, buy personally I prefer the Neo-Prog and Prog Metal leanings of the other two aforementioned albums. Still, there are some very good songs here and there is no sign of the band losing any power despite going on and on for years and years, constantly making good albums.

Trust is indeed yet another good Saga album that is bound to please the Saga fans and many fans of progressive Rock in general, this reviewer included. This is not among Saga's very best and next album would, in my opinion, be an improvement over the present one. Three stars, but "that's as far as I'll go"!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#239877)
Posted Friday, September 18, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars If you are searching for a disk will capable to reach success between the old and new progressive fans... one choice with chance to make your satisfaction completed, is the album TRUST from the Canadian band SAGA,album release in 2006. This album is fully of heavy,neo and symphonic prog splendid moments. Their sound (at least in TRUST ) brings tome reminiscences from bands like the Swedish ACT, , Scottish PALLAS and Americans from KANSAS and Styx, English CITY BOY and ASIA The disk starts with the powerful track 1 "That's As Far As I'll Go" with a profusion of "agressive" Keyboartds and a "co-star" very well played electric guitar, one of highlghts from the album which "open passage"forTrack 2 "Back To The Shadows" a pulsating hard-rock and the disk proceed whitout a weak moment until the last track ." On The Other Side" where about 0.40 seg from execution a musical sequence reminds me the GENTLE GIANT "moods". I agree with the P A community which put this album between SAGA's best releases, and my rate is 4 stars !!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to maryes (BETA) | Report this review (#796285)
Posted Saturday, July 28, 2012 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars 3.5 stars for sure

Saga was and is one of my fav bands ever, I have a soft spot for them , that's why I still buying their albums since 2 decades ago when I've first encountered their music. Trust from 2006 is another worthy album from their vast catalogue, maybe not as shining brilliant as their classics, but a fairly good album in Saga style. They developed over the yeras their own brend of music, combinig complex progressive parts dominating by excellent guitars and keyboards with catchy melodic parts, that made them fampous world wide. Well, this album stars with the great opener That's As Far As I'll Go, the best tune from the album with unique excellent deep voice of sadler. The album is perfect progressive/art rock release, where each musicians even don't really sine, they done a great job. This is typical Saga album, no less no more. I like what I've heared here as on every Saga album, I do considered that they don't have weak albums, only some periods in their career were more great and inventive then others. Love this band for years Trust desearve 3,5 stars for sure. Great band

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#829780)
Posted Friday, September 28, 2012 | Review Permalink
4 stars "Scratching the surface. You better come up for air. A new experience to get you there."

Saga was another one of those bands I had only marginal interest in that appeared on late night music video TV. The chorus of the song was catchy and memorable, but like Yes, Genesis, Glass Tiger and a few other bands that were not despicable pop bands like Culture Club and Wham, Saga was actually just a mild respite from top forty pop drivel while I waited for a new video by Accept, Scorpions, Iron Maiden, or any other metal band that might have a video slotted in just before the closing credits of the show. So, I was very surprised to learn on PA that Saga was not only a distinguished neo-prog/crossover prog band with a long history but also the guys were fellow Canuckleheads (Canadians).

It's always a challenge when picking up a band for the first time to choose the album that is going to be worth the money and get me interested in the band. I read the reviews on PA, check out samples on Amazon and iTunes if possible, or go to YouTube, and then make my choice. For Saga I decided the album that would most suit my taste was this one: 'Trust'.

Have you ever seen the Australian comedy movie 'Strictly Ballroom'? A young hot shot dancer with some fancy steps wants to turn the ultra conservative Ballroom Dance Association around. He hooks up with an unknown Spanish immigrant woman whose father teaches them how to dance the Pasa Doble. The result is this couple add something completely new and unheard of to ballroom dance, shocking some while thrilling others.

'Trust' reminded me of that movie because regarding the song length and structure, this album looks by all means to be a traditional rock album: 4 to 5-minute long songs, verse- chorus-verse-chorus, etc. But the music is like the fancy steps in the Aussie flick. Keyboards dance with neo-prog flair all over the album while guitar with hard rock and even metal sensibilities takes turns with the keyboards to show off fancy finger steps. Though the drumming is not exceptional and the bass nothing outstanding, the music on this album is as good as any bona fide neo-prog or even symphonic prog band might produce. It's just shorter and often quicker, licks and tricks darting in and out of the song like a bat out of hell hunting locusts. There's a wonderful duel and duality between the keyboards and the guitar, and vocalist Michael Sadler's voice holds the songs together with liquid smoothness. It sounds like commercial rock, but with something that goes beyond your top forty rock output.

I haven't yet picked out any non-interesting tracks, but the ones I enjoy the most right now are 'That's as Far as I'll Go,' 'Back to the Shadows,' 'I'm OK' (for the music), 'Time to Play,' and 'Trust'. But as I listen through the rest of the album for nearly the tenth time I still find I am enjoying most of the songs, usually for the music. What could have been an arena rock album is delightfully neo-prog in many ways. I am now looking at which of Saga's other albums will be worth purchasing. With 34 years and 22 albums of history, there's bound to be some great music to discover.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to FragileKings (BETA) | Report this review (#847454)
Posted Wednesday, October 31, 2012 | Review Permalink

SAGA Trust ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of SAGA Trust


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.38 seconds