Header
Triumvirat - Russian Roulette CD (album) cover

RUSSIAN ROULETTE

Triumvirat

Symphonic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
1 stars I tried to understand why a musician like Jurgen Fritz (leader of a very good progressive rock band, that triumvirat really was!) comit artistic suicide!! This album is a joke! and nobody deserves it (a truly bad one!). Simply horrible in it´s entire concept (cover, production, composition, musical ideas, performance and sound). If you don´t know Triumvirat, please, try any of the first four albums... And you´ll listen a deep interesting Prog rock band in an usual trio (ELP) format. The POMPeii album is also very good (with guest appearances of Passport egressed musicians - Curt Cress (Drums) and Dieter Pietereit (Bass) some of the songs in this album are amongst the best of the band (Earthquake, Viva Pompeii, Vesuvius), awesome keyboards, enhanced by a specially spiced drum/bass duo - Passport courtesy in this case!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to fredfontes (BETA) | Report this review (#11881)
Posted Monday, March 01, 2004 | Review Permalink
marcio@rio.co
1 stars I swear I thought that I got the wrong CD. That sound could not come from Triumvirat. Well, for someone who once sang "I sold my soul to rock and roll I never got it back", it seems he finally got it... I understand Jürgen Fritz had the right of changing his style as many time as he felt this 20 years, but there was no need to use the name of Triumvirat on this album. It would be fair for the old band lovers to hear something like "The New Jürgen Fritz Band". For a band like that I could even give a better rating. For Triumvirat, it is only Bad.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#11882)
Posted Wednesday, March 31, 2004 | Review Permalink
1 stars I would give this album zero stars if it was possible. "Russian Roulette" is very poor in all senses: an awful cover, mediocre songs and an overall weak performance by all musicians (some of them are great instrumentists, but you'll never say it when you listen to this album). Arno Steffen is the worst singer I've ever heard in a progressive rock album. Jürgen Fritz seems to have lost his ability not only to play, but to write songs. I like Triumvirat, even if it is by all means an ELP clone. They made some interesting albums at the mid-seventies; this album, in the other hand, is uninspired and frustrating - no wonder why they called a day after its release. Buy "Russian Roulette" at your own risk.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to M. B. Zapelini (BETA) | Report this review (#40367)
Posted Tuesday, July 26, 2005 | Review Permalink
1 stars This has got to be one of the worst albums by a good prog band going commercial. When listening you don't even have a hint that this is Triumvirat. They should have just changed their name. "A La Carte" is even brilliant compared to this. 0 stars, not even for completionists.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to cmidkiff (BETA) | Report this review (#56685)
Posted Thursday, November 17, 2005 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars I believe that it is not so often that an album gets the same consensus.

Absolutely awful.

Like almost every fellow reviewer, I just have wished that the zero star rating would have been available. The band turned already to a completely different genre with their previous album "A La Carte" but they really reached their very lows here.

There is absolutely not a single track which is worth listening (I really deserve a medal to have endured this). Not a single prog moment of course (but it was already the case with "A La Carte").

It is very difficult to identify the worst song here. I can't do it. Any of them could deserve this "honour". Is it the funky "Cooler", the boring "Games", the stupid "Come With Me", the disgusting reggae-ish "The Ballad of Rudy Törner" ?

Like the titled "Rien Ne Va Plus", it is really painful to hear how low a band can go. Isn't there anybody in their management to tell them : stop guys ? I don't understand.

Anyway, as one star is the minimum rating on PA, it fully applies to this absolutely dreadful album.

NEVER listen to this one. You will do yourself a favour.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#134650)
Posted Thursday, August 23, 2007 | Review Permalink
Tarcisio Moura
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars Honestly, I could never believe the once great prog musician and songwriter Jürgen Fritz could release an album worse than A La Carte. But, alas, he did. To call it a Triumvirat CD is an insult to the memory of one of Germany´s best prog groups of the 70´s. I took a long time to borrow this CD to review it. Granted: I was warned by everyone who did. But still I wanted to hear it to believe.

It´s really the end of line. Arno Steffen is the worst singer this band ever had, really awful. Of course the musicians involved are great, but the whole concept (or lack of it) the very poor songwriting and the mediocre arrangements blow it all. I can´t believe he was even allowed to deliver such piece of crap. I mean, what happened to HIM? Did he ever think he could bastardise Triumvirat´s name to get a few bucks and get away with it?

Not even an average pop album, it does not have a single track that can save the CD from being a total failure. Fortunatly this would be the last nail to the coffin. It´s the only good thing I can say about Russian Roulette: it was the last. An end that gave the fans a relieving feeling instead of one of sorrow.

NOT worth even for completionists. Zero stars. To avoid at all costs.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Tarcisio Moura (BETA) | Report this review (#187086)
Posted Monday, October 27, 2008 | Review Permalink
1 stars 10 000 polar bears would never venture into a record shop to buy this album. Therefore; 10 000 polar bears cannot be wrong.

Triumvirat really morphed into a joke on this album. Gone is the ELP copycat and in comes a band who really only plays commercial rock with some Supertramp influences. That is; when Supertramp was really, really bad and obese on money and Colombian farming products. But this album is not as good as they were on their worst.

The music on Russian Roulette (strange...... Accept's flop album was also named Russian Roulette....... better stay away from this type of activity) is piano based pop with a lot of Las Vegas written all over it. The quality is really really abysmal and this album is an uber-turkey. The one near the top of the sofa, admiring the view of the ground one meter below.

The vocals deserves a special mentioning though. It is something that will replace the chasing cat in my nightmares, I believe. Utter, utter abysmal vocals. Is there a bullet in the chamber ?

1 star

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to toroddfuglesteg (BETA) | Report this review (#624690)
Posted Wednesday, February 01, 2012 | Review Permalink
3 stars From the start, Russian Roulette is nothing like the classic Triumvirat music period that fans knew and loved, and many felt it was a let down because of that. My appreciation and understanding of this record has grown over what was a pretty long span of time. I initially made an error in only judging this album by those the band made previously, and now, after years later, i finally fully realize how much of a mistake that really was.

For years, i refused to give Russian Roulette a second chance, but on re-evaluating this record totally as it's own entity, my view and perspective have changed-it doesn't deserve the bum rap given by so many. The songs are catchy, but not commercial to the point of irritatingly so, and there is diversity here, which creates different moods, and that is actually refreshing. "Party Life" is an infectious song that flirts with an almost new wave/punkish feel and is quite well done. There is the reggae tinged "The Ballad Of Rudy Torner", the upbeat rockers like "Cooler" and "Were Rich On What We've Got", and the more mellow "Rien ne vas Plus"

Different songs for different moods-it is obvious in this musical experiment straying so far from what was tried and true for the band, Triumvirat had no one track mind. And a couple of musical guests from the excellent group Toto, Steve Lukather and Jeff Porcaro, help to diversify and shake things up, creatively.

When guitar player/singer Helmut Koellen left the band after the "Spartacus" tour in 1975, things were never the same, never on the same quality level-they couldn't be, with Koellen absent.

But 1980 was not like 1975, for any band, musically. I have finally come to the conclusion that Russian Roulette should not be ignored because of that. For me, you might say it's uniqueness and diversity has enabled me to grow to like it, even though the music is so far from Triumvirat's best from the early years. I conclude that this is not a one star wasted effort-i give it three.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to presdoug (BETA) | Report this review (#626160)
Posted Saturday, February 04, 2012 | Review Permalink
5 stars Triumvirat were playing Russian Roulette with their fans. Like an idiot I went out and paid my hard earned money for this thing that crawled out of a sewer. Even ABBA fans would run away from this disaster with their tails curled. I'm just wondering if there's anybody else on the planet who bought this atrocity who didn't use it for skeet shooting. Maybe Jurgen had too many chicks that he could handle and he said " down girls, down girls I'm trying to make an intelligent romantic album, merci".

Why are there hamburgers on the cover and no guns. I would expect a graphic photo of a guy lying with his brains blown out by a .38 Special. Looking not unlike a spaghetti buffet after being attacked by 100 famished Italians. And then Jurgen has this dumb song with steel drums. He thinks he's Jamacian. Maybe he had some Jamacian chicks who did him some weird sexual favours.

If I were to make an album called Russian Roulette I would have hired some assasins from the Russian mob. I would accompany them on some hits and made a heavy metal album out of it that would make Norwegian Black metal sound like Perry Como on Qualudes.

OK have I reached 75 words yet? I'm actually going to give this dishrag 5 stars for badness. It just can't get any worse than this. I can't believe I just listened to the whole thing.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Vibrationbaby (BETA) | Report this review (#1015868)
Posted Saturday, August 10, 2013 | Review Permalink
1 stars I will always give releases multiple listening before passing judgment on whether I like a disc or not. I tried with this one...it's not the Triumvirat that we have come to love. Gone are all progressive elements of anything they have done previously. It sounds like Randy Newman meets the Bay City Rollers meets Dean Friedman. I keep wishing the next track will be better than the first...it just doesn't ever happen. Even the vocals are grating an not pleasant at all (just listen to Party Life). I will never listen to this again, it is not the great Triumvirat of Illusions or Spartacus, something went terribly wrong. I need to go back and listen to anything else they have done, I cannot leave this as the last Triumvirat I listened to today.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to OldSchoolProg (BETA) | Report this review (#1285901)
Posted Monday, September 29, 2014 | Review Permalink

TRIUMVIRAT Russian Roulette ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of TRIUMVIRAT Russian Roulette


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.19 seconds