Header
Saga - Behaviour  CD (album) cover

BEHAVIOUR

Saga

Crossover Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
lucas
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
5 stars This is my favourite saga album. Saga reaches here the peak of their career (this is IMO their last good album). Although not in the same vein as their earlier efforts, this opus deals nonetheless with very good stuff, keyboard-oriented and melodic. Michael Sadler has a very pleasant voice and Steve Negus plays briliantly both electronic and acoustic percussion. For those who like 'Power windows' or 'Hold your fire' by Rush, this album is highly recommended. Enjoy it!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to lucas (BETA) | Report this review (#17529)
Posted Saturday, November 01, 2003 | Review Permalink
geraldmerkley
5 stars The last great SAGA album(for a while). The first "concept" album by SAGA as all the songs deal with the theme of love. A BRILLIANT album, the best keyboard & guitar work melt together with the lyrical twists of the experience of dealing with love.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#17530)
Posted Thursday, December 11, 2003 | Review Permalink
Fishy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Saga issued this album in 1985. When compared to earlier efforts, there's a change in direction. Let's face it, Behaviour is a perfect mid eighties pop album with some influences from new wave. The band is famous for making progressive rock accessible. The sound of this album is accessible but it can't be described as "progressive". The production is totally different from previous albums, very smooth, this is most noticeable when listening to the keyboardsounds, no more space sounds, no more fantastic album cover as well, lyrics about romance (boy meets girl). Only the closing track "One upon a time" seems to have some excitable moments. But not all is bad, the songs have great melodies and there's the brilliant guitarist Ian Crichton who shines on this album as he does on any other Saga record.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Fishy (BETA) | Report this review (#17533)
Posted Sunday, June 20, 2004 | Review Permalink
mls1968m@aol.
4 stars I remember listening to this album in 1986 on CD.I still have a copy to this day...Remember this is a full digital recording...One of several pop/rock CD's issued that year... I remember reading a review of the album comparing it to work from the alan parson's proj./I listen regularly to aol's progressive station today & all I hear is wind him up(does anyone remember the video?)A much better album than wildest dreams for sure...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#17534)
Posted Monday, January 17, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars Excellent Pop-Rock Prog effort. It's possible that many SAGA fans don't like the style of this record but here we've got many of their best songs ever and classics like 'Take A Chance' 'Misbehaviour', 'Here I Am' and '(Goodbye) Once Upon A Time' probably the best points of the album. Also the production is great! by far better than the production of their previous release 'Heads Or Tales'. This is definitively not my favourite album but a really great one. JUST TRY IT!!! REMEMBER: SAGA IS WARRANTY!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to porcupine_boy (BETA) | Report this review (#17535)
Posted Sunday, March 13, 2005 | Review Permalink
bugskinkel@ho
4 stars My first album from SAGA. It is different from their earlier style, but very strong. First time they sing about women. Very melodic, more pop oriented, less keyboard, but very strong guitars and drums. Wanna get revitalized? Then listen to "Out of the shadows", "Easy way out", "Here I am" and "Once upon a time" in a row. And be careful with that volume knob - the power might blow you away. The sound recording is one of their best - powerful, surrounding drums and a clear voice. Brilliant guitars and dark moogs. I recommend it as an easy way to enter the sound of SAGA. Enjoy!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#39095)
Posted Sunday, July 10, 2005 | Review Permalink
2 stars I must recognize that I love Saga and sometimes costs to me to recognize their errors. But there is no doubt that with this album they lowered to much the strip. That like trio seems to me album far better... I´m talking about "The Beginner´s Guide...". But the first five albums in studio are the best of this canadian group. I´m waiting for the return of the great drummer of this project, Steve Negus. "House Of Cards" is a great CD and "Marathon" too. But I think the real prog albums are "Saga", "Images At Twilight" and "Silent Knight". I hope that more people give a try and... yes... come taste the band!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to ADRIANGALES (BETA) | Report this review (#41162)
Posted Monday, August 01, 2005 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars This is a logical follow-up of Saga's previous album "Heads of Tail". Through this album Saga has committed the style of compositions they make and the music direction they would like to take. The key to Saga's music is the combined keyboard and guitar work that produces unique sound. Ian Crichton is a talented guitar player who, I believe, never show off his talent through long guitar solo, rather he played it in harmony with the beats and keyboard work. He knows really well how to create guitar sounds that do not produce distorted sounds that impact the vocal line.

One thing peculiar about Saga, for me personally, is the beats each song has which to my ears has created something unique that other bands have ever emulated. It sounds to me that the beats do not fall into predetermined bars that usually govern the music.

Back to this album, it's a good album even though it's not essential.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#120990)
Posted Monday, May 07, 2007 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Saga's Behaviour is a transitional album in their career's, why, because this album is more pop orientated with prog leanings, typical for mid '80's, and kinda far from even the previous one Heads or tail, not to mention the early one who were the best and very strong releases and very prog. Still a good album, but not a single piece shines here, it must be taken as a whole, all are on the same level. The pop orientation is clear on every track, well not really bad, but not special either. I considered this album weaker than anything Saga released before this one and even more unintristing than the most controversial album of them from the'80's The begginers guide to throuing shapes from 1989 Well this album is as a whole typical Saga music but is less enjoyble than other albums who appeal more to me like Heads or tails, Worlds apart or Full circle for ex. So 2.5 rounded to 3, good but nothing special about.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#189028)
Posted Thursday, November 13, 2008 | Review Permalink
debrewguy
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars Having read some of the previous reviews, I have to agree that this album seems to establish where the group wants to head with their music. One question though, after my interview with Ian, is how much the pressure from their record label pushed the band towards a more commercial radio-friendly sound, and how much was natural progression.

When Behaviour came out, Heads or Tales was still getting much play on my record player, and one of my friends still played In Transit & Worlds Apart quite frequently as we had both just got into the band in the last year.

So when this one came out, I heard the single "What Do I Know", and thought that Saga had managed to keep the magic of their previous two releases and added some radio appeal without losing their prog edge.

So I come to this review of two minds. First, with Genesis putting out angular white soul, with the Cars perfecting and giving the ultimate polish to their perfect pop, and even Queen hardly rocking hard anymore, Saga really should have hit big with this album. This music was tailor made for many a radio programming style - MOR, Adult Contemporary, Modern Rock, AOR even. But "What Do I Know" didn't manage to get the album up the charts, nor even match the previous two releases' success. Second, as good as it was for what it was ... it wasn't what I liked about Saga, nor was it music that I generally listened to. So the cassette that I bought was traded back pretty quick for something else.

So for this review, I picked up a used LP copy at Spin-It, and uploaded it to my PC. I'm listening to it as I write. So is my wife. She quite likes it. And despite my misgivings, I can see why. This is excellent adult rock. There are very few prog aspects apart from some of the playing. But the compositions themselves are examples of how a mature band can strive for a more mainstream & commercial sound without sounding stilted, unnatural or forced, or worse bland. And too many 80s giants fell into that trap (Styx anyone?)

So I won't hold you longer. If you like What Do I Know. If you enjoy adult rock. If you like intelligent pop with a modern sheen, then this is an album that will please you.

If you're looking for the Neo before Neo sound that I loved about Saga, their prog stylings on such albums as the debut, Worlds Apart and especially Heads or Tales, then Behaviour is one album to pass on. Still worth a listen for the curious. More than one fellow PA collab holds this one in good regard. Just don't expect Heads Or Tales PT II

Unfortunately. A 2 for competence.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to debrewguy (BETA) | Report this review (#216481)
Posted Monday, May 18, 2009 | Review Permalink
progrules
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars There was a tough task ahead of Saga to come up with a fine follow up for one of their greatest albums ever, Heads or Tales. Apparently the challenge was a bit too much asked. Finally also Saga (like many other progbands such as IQ, GENESIS and YES) capitulated for the more poppy style almost all those chose to play forced by the inevitable flow you probably have to conform to at a certain point. Well, ok, also Heads or Tales (from 1983) had already some pop influences but this successor, Behaviour, even more so. To reach a dramatic rock bottom with Wildest Dreams ultimately.

Listen to your Heart isn't really a bad song to be honest. Sadler does a great job here and the ambient start of the song is quite captivating. 3,5*.

Take a Chance is a very catchy rocker with both poppy leanings as some progressive elements. Brings back sweet memories ... 3,5*

What do I know ? is a bit more ballad-like with great support vocals by Sharon Benson. Also here there's still good old Saga to be detected. Another classy song I can only admit but not outstanding. Ian Crighton shines at times as well on his guitar. 3,75*

Misbehaviour is more up tempo and again pretty accessible, touching the pop boundaries. Slightly less my personal fav but still good enough for 3,25*.

Nine Lives of Miss Midi is a short ambient key dominated instrumental. Just nice. 3*.

You and the Night is a very fine ballad again causing a great atmosphere caused by Gilmour's keyboardplay. Another one that is soooo Saga. Wonderful. 3,75*.

Out of the Shadows is the first song of the B-side of my beloved vinyl. And somehow it's no coincidence that this is the B-side. First four songs sound just a bit less inspired and less interesting compostionwise. I will gather them here for they all end up in the same score which is somewhere between 3 and 3,25 stars.

But they did save the best for last obviously. (Goodbye) Once upon a Time is one of the better songs in their career even and for sure the best song on the album. This mini-epic (for Saga standards) is very well built up and has a great atmosphere. 4*.

It all ends up in a score somewhere in the middle of a 3 and 4 star rating. So it's a tough choice once again. I've given many Saga albums four stars because the band is very special to me but somehow this one is a little bit less. But it's still (almost) very good all things considered. But I will leave it at three this time.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to progrules (BETA) | Report this review (#261953)
Posted Friday, January 22, 2010 | Review Permalink
3 stars Saga peaked commercially with this album who also spawned a minor hit in the song What Do I Know.

I have not been listening to this album for at least two decades and I have not been listening to Saga since my last review of one of their albums many months ago. Saga was the band that introduced me to progressive rock so I have a soft spot for this band.

Progressive rock is a bit misleading when it comes to Saga. Pomp rock is a far better and more correct label. Saga is as pomp as you can get. This album fits into this mould like a hand in a glove. Pompous songs and pompous vocals, synths & guitars. Pompous is the word. Say cheeeeeeeeeese.

Despite of this and listening with prejudice, this album have some really good songs. What Do I Know is not one of them though. But You and the Night and Listen To Your Heart is Saga close to their best ever stuff. The songs is full of small details as per usual for a good Saga album. In short, this is a good Saga album, but probably also an acquired taste for those who does not know this band. I have a soft spot for Saga and I like their period from the debut album up to and including this album. This is a good album and a cosy nostalgia fest for my generation.

3 stars

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to toroddfuglesteg (BETA) | Report this review (#305600)
Posted Tuesday, October 19, 2010 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
1 stars (Goodbye Prog) once upon a time...

The Prog-quotient on the previous couple of Saga albums was low, and it had gradually decreased ever since the self-titled debut from 1978, but on Behaviour it was for the first time reduced to zero. Whatever remnants of progressive Rock that could be found on Worlds Apart and Head Or Tales is wholly eradicated here. This is Pop-Rock pure and simple, complete with smooth and slick, radio-friendly production, syrupy love songs, utterly banal and predictable lyrics and even some occasional cheesy female backing vocals. The solos and instrumental breaks that could still be found on the previous album are kept to an absolute minimum here and the focus is instead on the vocals. This is especially unfortunate as they have absolutely nothing interesting to say here. The lyrics are as uninspired and predictable as the music and consist mostly of old clichés. The tempo is generally much slower than we are used to from Saga and they have completely forgotten how to Rock here. These songs are all smooth, mid-tempo Synth-Rock or dull Pop ballads. The excesses that characterize the typical Saga sound are not to be found on this album.

There is nothing that stands out here, in either direction; there is nothing that grips me or interest me but also nothings that is truly awful. Behaviour is not a horrible album as such, it is just an utterly flat, dull and monotonic recording that has also happens to have nothing whatsoever to do with progressive Rock.

One of Saga's poorest efforts

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#490693)
Posted Tuesday, July 26, 2011 | Review Permalink

SAGA Behaviour ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of SAGA Behaviour


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.25 seconds