Header
Can - Landed  CD (album) cover

LANDED

Can

Krautrock


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
corbet
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Even though many people respect Can, they always say not to venture past Soon Over Babaluma. This is strange. I think it is a shame, for at the very least, it has prevented the world at large from discovering one track in particular: Vernal Equinox. At about half the length of other acknowledged Can classics (Halleluwah, Bel Air) Vernal is their more dense but equally potent cousin. And in terms of sheer Can energy, it is the undisputed king of their discography. Michael Karoli's amplifier sounds like it is on the verge of exploding as he rips the best solos of his career, and Jaki works his drumkit like a hyperactive computer. How can you go wrong? In addition to the remaining shorter songs (which are quirky and great), you also get "Unfinished" -- their most blissed out instrumental yet. Really. CAN FANS: by all means investigate this album, one of the essentials!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to corbet (BETA) | Report this review (#23286)
Posted Saturday, January 17, 2004 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
4 stars As the preceding ones were all on Spoon record, this one boasts a major change as well as being released on Virgin: the sound. This probably explains that as Virgin insisted on better sound engineering and what a difference it makes. Much clearer and more dynamic, the music gained everything from it. Too bad most fans tend to disregard this - solely because of the label change because the music and the studios are the same. THIS SHOULD BE CONSIDERED AS ANOTHER CLASSIC AND A SECOND PEAK AFTER TAGO AND EGE. However the following albums will not be quite this good and the sound will be more commercial (I don't know if the sales will be, though) and Holger Czukay will gradually be less involved with the band but will still produce the albums. For the rest I can only suggest you to read Mr. Corbet's excellent review as I wish I had the patience to describe every number such as he does.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#23287)
Posted Wednesday, March 17, 2004 | Review Permalink
periurbanix@a
5 stars The main difference between this album and previous CAN albums was the technological leap from primitive overdubbing techniques to full scale multitrack recording. The chaotic structure of the early albums is controlled here, and the new studio tricks that Czukay employed give the album a very much more cohesive and easily comprehensible sonic landscape.

LANDED is my favourite CAN album (and I like almost all of them!)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#35301)
Posted Sunday, June 05, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Landed isn't as interesting as Tago Mago nor as dreamlike as Future Days. It's more focused than Ege Bamyasi which is more groove-jam oriented but is less groundbreaking. The sound is very good as Can finally had access to modern studio technology. And as a bonus it's Damo Suzuki free whose off key, wimpy, and unintelligable vocals cluttered up previous Can albums from Soundtracks up to Future Days.

A highlight would be the 13 minute long (and poorly named) psychedelic excursion "Unfinished". Landed isn't a bad album at all and well worth getting for any fan of Can, but if you're a newbie I would start at Monster Movie, Tago Mago, or Future Days.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Tylosand Ektorp (BETA) | Report this review (#46791)
Posted Friday, September 16, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars As one reviewer mentioned earlier this album is a lot more cohesive and structured, it isn't as jam orientated. It sounds as though they were moving toward more accessible music, apart from Vernal Equinox and Unfinished, the other four tracks could have been played on the radio, but still they are Krautrock and Can has not soldout yet, they would wait for their next album Flow Motion to sell out. This album has almost a space rock feel to it, and perhaps might even attract fans of Space Rock, also I'd say they sound a little more like Faust. The first song Full Moon on the Highway, starts off as a krautrock track sung by Holger Czuckay, very different sound from other Can songs, Irmin Schmidts Keyboards, and altered vocals sound very imaginative, Holgar Czuckay has his trademark bass. Half Past One, has great sounding keyboards again, it has a flaminco feel to it. Great vocal effects, and spacy sounding. Hunters and Collectors is a gem, Michael Karoli's voice sounds vaguely similar to Syd Barret, but I think this is more of a coincidence, it has great spacy guitar that adds a slightly disorientating feel to the Kraut song, there are great Keyboards again. This is a groovy piece, which shows Can still has its touch. Vernal Equinox, is a reprise of Hunters and Collectors, with great guitar affects and a fantastic keyboard break. It is a real energetic rocking track I envy Red Hot Indians is a happy reggae (I don't mean it in a bad way like on their later albums) sounding piece, with that funky almost whispering vocals - like on some of Suzucki's vocals. Unfinished is definately a Space Rock piece similar to the experimental stuff on Tago Mago, but yet more focused and listenable, this is very early Pink Floydish, and has moments of beauty and weirdness. On this album the multi track editing makes the guitar and keyboard sounds more cleaner and emphasised, and add more impact and dimension to the songs. As a result Leizbects drumming may sound more in the backround but he is still a machine-man on this album, you just have to listen to it a little more carefully. This is the last good album by Can,before they released a disco single one year later (I kid you not). It may be a more accessible introduction to some newbies of Can who don't like Radiohead and/or are fans of Space Rock. It has fantastic keyboard and sound effects. Humouress lyrics which make the album sound a lot more light hearted.An excellent album and a worthwhile purchase not as grand as Tago Mago or Ege Bamyasi, but still essential to the Can fan, just remember don't get any studio albums past this one (Unlimited edition doesn't count). Can Rocks!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Cheesecakemouse (BETA) | Report this review (#81340)
Posted Saturday, June 17, 2006 | Review Permalink
3 stars Well, I'm going to keep this review brief, because if I were to try talking too much about this album, all that would happen is that I'd either end up sounding like a CAN fan boy and endlessly talk about how good Vernal Equinox and Unfinished are, or I would sound like someone with nothing better to do who felt like bashing an album as I discussed the tracks that are not Vernal Equinox or Unfinished. To tell the truth, this is only half an album. Those twenty-some minutes are some classic CAN, and the rest of it is CAN in sell out mode (well, not quite, but almost). Even the album title is fitting. CAN, who had previously been up in musical heaven, has now landed back on Earth, with faults just like the rest of us. They have not yet deplaned and joined the rest of the world, and so they still have some sense left, but for the most part they are clearly on the path to sellout-dom.

As I pointed out, half of these songs are just plain bad. Some of them are actually listenable (though I do think that part of that is that I'm loath to think that anything by my favorite band could ever be unlistenable), such as Full Moon on the Highway (but this one only marginally), Half Past One (this one is actually fairly decent, even if it doesn't come close to what I know these musicians were capable of), and Hunters and Collectors (like Full Moon on the Highway, this one is only marginally listenable). The remaining track that is not either Vernal Equinox or Unfinished is Red Hot Indians, and it is one of the worst songs I have ever heard. I'm still in shock from realizing that CAN could do something quite that bad. So what, then, is good about this album? Well, Vernal Equinox and Unfinished. Vernal Equinox has more energy than any CAN track than Father Cannot Yell (the first song on Monster Movie), and is most excellent. The guitar solos are blistering and the drums go at light speed, showing that these truly are great musicians, though the fact remains that I preferred it when Liebezeit served as more than just a traditional drummer (which he does here, albeit a very good one), and when Karoli noodled around on guitar rather than took himself seriously, but we can't have everything, and this is still a great track. Unfinished is a sonic stew in the vein of those that came before it (such as Aumgn, Soup, and Chain Reaction/Quantum Physics), but it lacks the focus of those, and so is not quite as good. I still very much like it, but CAN has done much better.

Put these two halves together and we get a patchy album that I cannot recommend to anyone not already a huge CAN fan. If you do like CAN, you will probably want to hear Vernal Equinox and Unfinished, even though you will be left disappointed with their sound. If you don't like CAN, or don't know them, don't bother venturing here until after you know you like their earlier albums like Monster Movie, Tago Mago, Ege Bamyasi, and Future Days. CAN was on the verge of selling out when they released this album. They managed to keep some of their integrity with them here, but were already leaning towards the fate that lay in wait not only for them, but also for bands like Yes, Genesis, and Gentle Giant (to name a few). This album marked the end of the once great band CAN, and is not essential by any stretch of the imagination.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Pnoom! (BETA) | Report this review (#115876)
Posted Wednesday, March 21, 2007 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars For me this was a big improvment over the prevoius album "Soon Over Babaluma". And I highly recommend CAN fans get this one if they don't already own it, if only to hear the amazing "Vernal Equinox".

"Full Moon On The Highway" really has a 60's vibe in my opinion. The guitar is abrasive and that beat is relentless. "Half Past One" is slower paced with almost spoken vocals. Organ a minute in.The krautrock spirit is alive and well in this one. Some intricate guitar as well. "Hunters And Collectors" is probably the most controvrsial tune on here, but also the one that will stick in your head for days. It's interesting to say the least. Vocals are the focus, and for the first time I don't regret that Damo is gone.

"Vernal Equinox" is one of CAN's best songs ever. It's aggressive as drums and guitar dominate. Scorching guitar 1 1/2 minutes in. We get a spacey vibe though 3 1/2 minutes in. Guitar is back after 5 minutes ripping it up. "Red Hot Indians" begins with percussion as sax then vocals join in. More sax 3 1/2 minutes in. Percussion and guitar lead the rest of the way. "Unfinished" has a Post-Rock flavour to it. Lots of experimental sounds before it settles down 2 minutes in. It gets spacey and louder 5 1/2 minutes in. Guitar and piano rise out of the spacey atmosphere briefly 11 minutes in. This is a trip !

CAN's last great album in my opinion and a well deserved 4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#180803)
Posted Monday, August 25, 2008 | Review Permalink
Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover & JazzRock/Fusion Teams
3 stars Not bad.

Once again, we have an album of nice, slightly deranged Euro-tunes, driven along by Jaki Liebezeit's frenetic percussion tracks. And I must admit, I find guitarist Michael Karoli's solos much more pleasing to my ears than on most other Can albums.

There seems to be a consensus that "Vernal Equinox" and "Unfinished" are the best tracks on this album, but I keep going back to "Hunters And Collectors" as my favorite, probably for it's eeriness.

I can't help thinking, when listening to "Unfinished", that Can was the inspiration for David Bowie for the sound collage pieces on his Berlin albums. I like Can's results much better. Plus, you don't have to listen to Bowie's pop songs to get to them.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Evolver (BETA) | Report this review (#221835)
Posted Friday, June 19, 2009 | Review Permalink
Bonnek
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
4 stars It wasn't till the end of the 80's that I discovered Can. Landed was one of the first albums I heard and it blew me away right from the start. The sound and rhythm on this album was not like anything I had ever heard from 70's bands. I was a big fan of Tuxedo Moon back then and I was amazed to hear that so much of their avant-garde sounds had already been done by a band this early in the 70's. Especially Half Past One must have been a huge source of inspiration.

There's quite a lot of stuff here that is really weird. Vernal Equinox and Red Hot Indians are experimental jazz you should reserve for moments when you're really relaxed and comfortable. Due to the demanding nature of the music they are certainly not recommended when you've got a concentration demanding task on your hands. By contrast, the openers Full Moon and Half Past One listen away easily (for Cans terms). Both catchy and direct. Unfinished is more abstract and absolutely stunning.

Easily 4 stars for this album that opened the Can for me.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Bonnek (BETA) | Report this review (#245224)
Posted Monday, October 19, 2009 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars "Stranded" is the 7th full-length studio album by German experimental/ psychadelic rock act Can and the second album after the departure of lead vocalist Damo Suzuki. The last couple of albums, while still enjoyable, haven´t really made my blood boil and as a newcommer to Can I try and listen to each album with fresh ears and give each album an equal chance to impress me. I don´t have any preconceived opinions. It´s hard not to notice the decline in quality over the last couple of albums though and "Stranded" doesn´t really help much on that impression.

The music on "Stranded" is very much like the music on "Soon Over Babaluma (1974)" IMO. Just a bit more easily accessible. "Stranded" is still charactarized by the trademark repetitive beats though and both "Vernal Equinox", and the 13:20 minutes long closing track "Unfinished", feature the usual experiments as do the other shorter tracks albeit in smaller portions. It´s hard to say what´s missing really but the album just doesn´t appeal as much to me as the earlier albums do. Can are still an exceptionally well playing band and that of course is one of the greatest assets on the album. The production isn´t as interesting as it could have been and it actually sounds a bit cold to my ears.

"Stranded" gets a 3 - 3.5 star (65%) rating from me as it is after all a good album but ultimately lacks the really great things that the best albums by the band have.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#255826)
Posted Sunday, December 13, 2009 | Review Permalink
2 stars Can - Landed

People who don't get CAN usually say this is their best work (for some unknown reason). I think CAN is one of five greatest bands in prog rock history and greatest one in krautrock sub genre. Their albums brought new view to rock music, improvisation, experimentalism, avant, minimalism. They developed new way of thinking in rock music and in music in general and what is extraordinary about their music is power and beauty. I personaly consider LANDED their first fall, and one of their weakest effort. For this I mainly blame departure from their old approach and equipment. I've listened them for years now and imho this album deserves 3 stars and not a star more. Best song: Unfinished followed by Half past one and Vernal.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to alionida (BETA) | Report this review (#281530)
Posted Wednesday, May 12, 2010 | Review Permalink
tarkus1980
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars An apt title, given the journeys into space (Babaluma), another dimension (Future Days) and the most psychotic depths of the mind (Tago and Ege) that the previous albums took the listener on. This is the first Can album to sound, if not normal (which it really doesn't), then like they're trying to sound like something approaching "normal." Except for a big ugly mess at the end, and a surprisingly (for the better) heavy instrumental in the middle, these songs are all regular rock songs at their cores, and that's definitely a novelty for Can. Of course, that also means that the band loses much of its identity as the perpetual groundbreaking machine, churning out new genres and sounds for other bands to recombine into other forms later, and it definitely doesn't help that (with one exception) these "regular" songs aren't particularly interesting, but it's still kinda neat to hear Can breaking off into new (for them) directions.

"Vernal Equinox" is the aforementioned heavy instrumental, and it manages to rule immensely while taking a rather different route from the kinds of instrumental work the band had done before. Whereas Jaki and Holger are relatively subdued during the rest of the album (they no longer stand out as the most robotic rhythm machine in the world), here they get to sound like, I dunno, like the Deep Purple rhythm section in a particularly good performance of the jam section of "Space Trucking" (with the added bonus that Jaki gets to spend some time playing with his futuristic proto-electronic drum sounds). In other words, really fast, and really tight. Karoli and Schmidt, meanwhile, just go absolutely nuts on this track as foils towards one another, especially Karoli (this album may arguably be his peak with the band) who gets to abrasively shred like he had never been fully given the chance to before. The album, frankly, is worth picking up if only for this track.

The opening "Full Moon on the Highway" is also an all-out success, a song that would be a fine straight-ahead rocker with wonderful guitar work and a terse vocal delivery but that also has the voices in the chorus processed into oblivion and has neat effects in the low-pitched keys. Ever wonder what 60's hard-rock would sound like if done by Germans that looked as coldly decadent as the guys appear on the front cover? This is your answer, and the answer is creepily great!

The other numbers, unfortunately, aren't anywhere near as successful as those two. "Half Past One" can't help but bother the heck out of me in that Karoli doesn't seem to realize that speaking in near-constant pitch is not the same as singing, and this attempt at sounding "moody" (I guess) like the backing track just seems like total failure to me. "Hunters and Collectors" stands out to me in that Karoli sounds eerily like a German Syd Barrett at times, which makes this weird attempt at something resembling "poppiness" kinda enjoyable, but it would never be counted as a highlight for the band. "Red Hot Indians" is notable only for the strange presence of a saxophone, and the giant atonal sound mess that is "Unfinished" probably should have stayed unreleased (gee, I'm sure nobody has ever made that pun before). There are some moments here and there that more or less work, but as a whole, it comes off as a third-rate "Aumgn," and that's not a good thing.

All in all, while I'm not thrilled with much of the album, a *** seems about right because the two clearly good tracks are so wonderful, and the ones that aren't "Unfinished" are basically listenable. Regardless, don't sweat this if you can't find it easily.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to tarkus1980 (BETA) | Report this review (#306016)
Posted Thursday, October 21, 2010 | Review Permalink

CAN Landed ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of CAN Landed


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.23 seconds