Header
Peter Gabriel - Hit CD (album) cover

HIT

Peter Gabriel

Crossover Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Kelticman123@
5 stars A fine, well put together compilation of Peter Gabriel songs and a must buy for all those too mean or too lazy to buy his back catalogue.From the memorable hit single, "Solsbury Hill": a song about his departure from Genesis, to the haunting and emotional classic , "Biko", about black South African human rights activist,Steve Biko,who was tortured and killed by the police in 1977 - This evocative and ecclectic mix sees Gabriel,the solo perfomer, at his very best and serves to highlight and re-confirm his status as one of the most important recording artistes/performers since the last thirty years.Gabriel is one of the few musicians where the term "genius" can be rightly and unashamedly applied.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#26579)
Posted Thursday, February 19, 2004 | Review Permalink
3 stars This record is only for those who wants to have everything from Gabriel, or has nothing from Gabriel, divided into 2 discs, the first one is the "hits" from his career, and the second is the "hits" in his mind, rightfully called "miss". The only jewels are the song from "PHILADELPHIA" and the new cut made to fit this record, apart from that is just a "greatest hits" album. Buy it only to hear his music evolution.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to arqwave (BETA) | Report this review (#26583)
Posted Monday, September 13, 2004 | Review Permalink
Marc Baum
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars This is a nearly perfect compilation for new listeners of Peter Gabriel. Very well is, that the great acoustic version of "Here Comes The Flood" is included. There are also some great unreleased songs like "Burn You Up, Burn You Down", "Cloudless" or "Downside Up (Live)", what is very interestening for fans too, who already have the complete backcatalogue of the genius. In normal way, I never give the highest possibly rating for a greatest hits album, but at this time, it's the only way for me. I'll buy the german version of "Hit" in the next days or weeks, where all the 30 songs here are performed in german language by Peter. Must be sounding very funny, because I am from germany :)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Marc Baum (BETA) | Report this review (#26584)
Posted Wednesday, September 15, 2004 | Review Permalink
deadwintergra
4 stars This collection of "Hits" & "Misses", is the milestone of an artist that, through the span of his career, has always had the strength to dare where many other artists haven't. In the first CD we find the "conventional" hits of Gabriel, songs every fan of his work knows by heart. But the real great idea is the second CD, where we can find rare tracks and great tracks that never made it on an official album. The joy of listening to "Love Town" is great. Congratulation, Peter, you are really a musical god.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#26587)
Posted Monday, February 14, 2005 | Review Permalink
2 stars I always find it hard to review collections, since I'm no fan of them. Like I've said many times, splitting an album up, and removing some of its tracks destroys the idea, atmosphere and feel of that specific album. Even when we're not talking about a concept album, the entire album was (probably) all recorded during the same sessions, during the same frame of mind. This collection is no different. But, I bought this 2 disc set along with Yes' Fragile all for $22 CDN., so I couldn't go wrong. The music itself isn't shabby at all. It has all the classic hits, along with some live versions and new edits. Gabriel's music was one of the few 80s acts that could still channell that 70s vibe. It's got the experimental nature, though often more electric than before. Unfortunately, some songs are much too radio-friendly than I'd of liked. If you're wondering what life after Genesis was like, but don't intend on byuing Gabriel's entire discography, than get this and see how you like it. If you already know the Gabe's sound and/or have most of his albums, than avoid this collection.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Shakespeare (BETA) | Report this review (#97076)
Posted Saturday, November 04, 2006 | Review Permalink
Chris S
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars I have to admit that I was given this album, no way was I going to purchase this CD. A greatest hits album of Peter Gabriel just does not sound right....but now that I have it in my possession I stand corrected as I quite like it.' Burn You Up, Burn You Down' from my understanding was co-written by Karl Wallinger of World Party fame. A highly undervalued and underrated artist. It goes without saying why Gabriel collaborrated with Karl Wallinger to make this grooving driving beat of a song.Apparently they have an unreleased album called the Blue Ball project, I am waiting in anticipation...

Most people will be familiar with PG's work so from a package point of view the songs make sense being a collection. If you are new to Peter Gabriel however listen to ' Solsbury Hill', ' Games Without Frontiers', ' Growing Up', ' Red Rain', ' San Jacinto' - his finest piece of music IMO, ' The Rythym of The Heat' and ' The Drop' to name but a few. Peter Gabriel is accompanied by his regulars as in Daniel Lanois, David Rhodes, Peter Green of Fleetwood Mac fame, Tony Levin, Fripp, Kate Bush and on... Overall a very satisfying album, one drawback, so little of PG 2 on here, only' D.I.Y 'made it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Chris S (BETA) | Report this review (#109404)
Posted Monday, January 29, 2007 | Review Permalink
evenless
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars A true HIT album!

I'm usually now a fan of compilation albums as a "real fan" would always prefer to have all original studio albums rather than just some compilation disc. Usually it also tends to reek after some "cashing in" by the artist as many artist come up with some compilation albums when they are long lost and forgotten. This is one would be an exception to the rule I think, since Mr. Gabriel has still released many fine albums after this one. I guess it's not a bad one to start with if you didn't already own some (or all) of his preceding studio albums.

"HIT" is truly a very appealing 2 disc setter though. Actually, if you would not own any PG albums yet, I would recommend you to start here! The 1990 compilation "Shaking the Tree" was already a nice compilation, but "HIT" is even better! "HIT" contains 2 CD's, the 1st one containing 15 tracks and the 2nd one containing 16 tracks. This is 15 tracks more than on "Shaking the Tree"! But then again, "HIT" was released 4 studio albums after the sixteen golden greats.

Conclusion: if you don't have any PG album yet, start here! If you already do have quite some albums of PG, it is still a nice compilation to have anyhow.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to evenless (BETA) | Report this review (#109842)
Posted Tuesday, January 30, 2007 | Review Permalink
russellk
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I'm not quite sure what the point of this was. OK, I bought it, even though I had practically everything here on other albums. It's uniformly high quality music - but if you are going to listen to 150 minutes of PETER GABRIEL, why not play PG III, followed by PG IV, followed by US or UP?

Still, a few people might begin their exploration of this outstanding musician here. If so, give it plenty of listens, and let yourself be impressed by the breadth of his musical vision. Then note carefully where your favourite tracks come from, and go shell out some cash for the original albums.

I admired PG's original idea to call the first CD 'Hits' and the second 'Misses'. I can also see why his record company wasn't so keen. Nevertheless, that's how it is arranged - the tracks on the second CD are more obscure than the first. You'l wonder why the sparkling 'Burn you Up, Burn You Down' didn't make it on to the final cut of 'Up'.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to russellk (BETA) | Report this review (#116077)
Posted Friday, March 23, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars This is really a compilation masterpiece. To begin with, one has to realize that here there are really very good tracks for albums that are materpieces. Therefore, something which is done from masterpieces must be a masterpiece itself. In addition to the already known tracks, there are a couple of tracks that complement the others. In fact I could have done the album without these tracks, since I already have all the albums by Peter. In addition, there are some interesting photos of Peter in some concerts or that make some reference to his previous work. Probably, this photos can be found elsewere, but if you buy the album you do not need to loose your time looking for them. Therefore, I give maximum.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to amontes (BETA) | Report this review (#239599)
Posted Wednesday, September 16, 2009 | Review Permalink
Matti
COLLABORATOR
Neo-Prog Team
3 stars Not bad - if you really have to include the hits in the first place. That's to say, if this was a single CD, without the second one cleverly titled "Miss", this would have been very surpriseless compilation. And mostly made of those PG tracks I like the least (if at all), such as the disgusting, funky ones 'Big Time' and 'Steam'. Surely there are beautiful calm hits too: 'Don't Give Up' featuring Kate Bush, 'Blood of Eden' featuring Sinead O'Connor... and classics like 'Biko', 'Here Comes the Flood' and 'Red Rain'.

It's really the other disc that makes this a superior PG compilation. A lot of good album tracks from IV (1982) and Up especially are included. The choices could have been a bit more democratic and include for example more from the maligned II (1978) than just 'D.I.Y', or from the debut besides the obvious two songs. There's only one live song, 'Downside Up' featuring her daughter Melanie. And it's frustrating to get also on the second disc several songs familiar from the video collection Play, (the boring 'Lovetown' and the warm 'Father, Son'). But in the end probably this is the most succesful PG compilation I've seen, since the hit material seems to be the main thing in all of them.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Matti (BETA) | Report this review (#840037)
Posted Thursday, October 18, 2012 | Review Permalink

PETER GABRIEL Hit ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of PETER GABRIEL Hit


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.20 seconds