Header
Mike Rutherford - Acting Very Strange CD (album) cover

ACTING VERY STRANGE

Mike Rutherford

Prog Related


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
chrlsalvrz@ao
1 stars Like his fellow band mate Tony Banks, Mike tried his hand at singing lead vocals, and that further bogged down this album. Unlike his majestic debut, this album would prove to be a harbringer to further solo releases, in which Mike would forsake his progressive roots, find success in the "POP" world with his offshoot band Mike and The Mechanics. Charles

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#27205)
Posted Wednesday, March 31, 2004 | Review Permalink
Guillermo
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars This album and other albums by Mike and the Mechanics (and some from Tony Banks) show that Phil Collins`wasn`t the only member of Genesis who liked to play pop commercial music. So Collins wasn`t the only "guilty" person in Genesis for their more commercial albums ("Abacab", "Genesis", "Invisible Touch"). The best song in this album is "Hideaway", a ballad with 12 string acoustic guitars, dums, bass and a very good orchestral arrangement. This is a very good song. The other songs are pop rock, with Rutherford`s distorted guitars (Daryl Stuemer also appears in this album) as he played in the "Abacab" and "Genesis" albums. Rutherford sings in tune, but he is not a good singer. "Hideaway" is so good that one forgives Rutherford`s vocals. "Maxine" was played in the FM Radio (at least in my country) and it is also good. The rest of the songs are more or less good, average pop rock/arena rock of the eighties. Stewart Copeland plays drums, doing a good job.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Guillermo (BETA) | Report this review (#27206)
Posted Monday, September 06, 2004 | Review Permalink
Chris S
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars Not to be taken seriously at all. Acting Very strange is merely Mike rutherford taking the piss and having a bloody good time about it too. He knows he cannot sing but that did not stop this release. If you have this approach with zero expectation settings then you will probably enjoy the album as I did. Really quite heavy in parts, very repetitive for shortish rock songs. My favourites would be ' Maxine', ' A day to remember' and ' Hideaway'

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Chris S (BETA) | Report this review (#27207)
Posted Tuesday, September 07, 2004 | Review Permalink
greenback
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
1 stars This album has a very poor artistic value! Unlike "Abacab", this record has no reason to be qualified as a pop success. Despite the easiness of the compositions, this stuff is so hard to listen and to really catch the unconvincing airs, that you will be tempted to throw into the litter after the first listen! It is so unprofessional that it should make you laugh. We are extremely far from the "Smallcreep's day" record: actually, the album sounds a bit like "Abacab" or "Duke", except that the Genesis' soul on it is seriously diluted. The poor lead vocals does not help at all. Apart the slightly more decent "Hideaway", the rest will probably not retain your attention. Mike really tried to make some success but he failed!! All the guys play their instruments properly, featuring Stuart Copeland on drums and Daryl Stuermer on guitars, but the quality of the compositions is absolutely not there!

Rating: 1.5 star

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to greenback (BETA) | Report this review (#39426)
Posted Thursday, July 14, 2005 | Review Permalink
Intairnet@gmx
3 stars "After recording 'Acting Very Strange' I realised my voice was crap" Mike once said about this LP. It certainly isn't a masterpiece in singing, but this still doesn't mean an album isn't worth listening to.

Although the other critics here are rather disappointed, I have got to express my sympathy for "Acting Very Strange". Songs such as "Maxine" or "Hideaway" really prove Mike's abilities at songwriting. The shortcoming is: The few good songs get dragged down by the not-so-good-ones. As already mentioned, "Hideaway" is a song which can absolutely compete with early eighties Genesis-stuff.

Anyway, this LP is NOT 1 Star.

Have a good one...Nick

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#42671)
Posted Saturday, August 13, 2005 | Review Permalink
2 stars If Yes had released "90125" right after "Close To The Edge", you would have been pretty freakin' disappointed, right? I mean, the progressive-pop that comprised the comeback album (90125) for Yes just wouldn't have compared to the quintessential prog album (CTTE) against which all others are measured. (I still genuflect whenever I refer to the sacred CTTE!)

So you see, "Acting Very Strange" is not really a bad album. It was just a huge disappointment to the progger in me after his extraordinary debut solo release "Smallcreep's Day" (the undeniably BEST solo album from ANY member of Genesis EVER!).

Very tight playing, as one should expect from the quality musicians that he surrounds himself with here again. Lots more guitar (frequently distorted), and not much in the way of keyboards.

Count me IN as one of the few who think Rutherford's vocals are good. They weren't what I was expecting at all, and really sound a lot like Peter Gabriel on some songs.

Personally, I only desire to hear "Halfway There" and "Hideaway" these days. The other songs can tend to get a bit tedious and repetitive, especially in the fading outros.

Can't condemn the guy for doing a rather fun, poppish album; it's just not my cup of tea. (2-1/2 stars really)

Fans of Genesis and prog best look elsewhere.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Squire Jaco (BETA) | Report this review (#64359)
Posted Thursday, January 12, 2006 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
1 stars This is a major disappointment in any measure. Take a measure of Rotherford's previous excellent album "Smalceep's Day" this is a serious downfall. Take a measure of Genesis music - all fans would be disappointed with this. Take a measure of a music as general - not even rock music - this is not a good product at all. Despite, this album involves great musicians like Daryl Stuermer (Genesis's guitar player for concert), Stewart Copeland (of The Police) - I think this does not help. It is NOT recommended at all.

Peace on earth and mercy mild - GW

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#93955)
Posted Tuesday, October 10, 2006 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
1 stars We can't sing

Rutherford's second, and to date last solo album, was something of a disappointment. After his highly credible first album "Smallcreep's day", expectations were high that Rutherford would some up with something more akin to the earlier prog of his parent band, and thus demonstrate clearly that he was not responsible for Genesis pursuit of the King's shilling. This was especially the case in light of the way the music of Genesis was heading (this album was released between "ABACAB" in 1981, and "Genesis" 1983),

The first and probably most significant mistake that Rutherford made with this album, was to sing the lead vocals himself. This was something he would not do again, even with Mike and the Mechanics. Indeed, Rutherford since has since indicated that he does not have any ambitions to sing lead again, clearly he is all too aware of his shortcomings in that department. What makes his decision to do the singing here even more ill advised is that this is a very vocal album.

The opening (title) track is indicative of the content of the album as whole. A mediocre mid-paced pop rock song is given a cod-punk feel through the pseudo-cockney accent. Indeed, while the performances are perfunctory, and Rutherford's singing prosaic at best, it is the uniformly poor nature of the song-writing which is the real Achilles heel of this collection. Lyrics such as "There's nothing you can do, I'm still in love with you" from the most awful song on the album ("Halfway there") are decidedly unworthy of a talent such as Rutherford. Every song sounds the same too, there no variety, just the bouncy pop rock songs which thousands of bands churn out every day.

Only the final track, "Hideway" offers any sort of change at all, being a reflective ballad. To call it the best track on the album implies it has anything to compete with, which it does not. The song has a passing similarity with the vastly superior song of the same name by Creedence Clearwater Revival from their "Pendulum" album.

Even the presence of Genesis (live) guitarist Daryl Stuermer and Police drummer Stewart Copeland can't save this turkey. One star is over generous.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#103311)
Posted Saturday, December 16, 2006 | Review Permalink
2 stars This album isnt that bad as most people here says, but i shurely understand what they mean, the vocals are so-so (sometimes it sounds abit like peter gabriel) but i think rutherford does a decent job at the vocals. The songs are mostly very poppy and /or soft... some good songs are here, who is fooling who should be on genesis (83) Halfway there sounds also like a genesis outtake (duke era) The tiltle track is actually very funny and nice (I remember hearing it the first time, i laughed my ass off., mike sounds so [%*!#]ed up on this one, in a good wAy)

But there are also crappy stuff on here, like Couldn't Get Arrested is sinking like a rock, the fm radio song Maxine sounds also like a bad genesis song from invisible touch. A Day To Remember sounds like a song that could be used in a film like "crocodile dundee" or any other bad movie from the early 80`s.

Hideaway is a nice enough song, here rutherford sings very good, but the songs is actually very 50/50 (good orchestration, terrible refrain)

If you liked Smallcreeps Day, i think youll find atleast 2 good songs on here.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to zebehnn (BETA) | Report this review (#109225)
Posted Sunday, January 28, 2007 | Review Permalink
Matti
COLLABORATOR
Neo-Prog Team
1 stars I can't understand how I once, in the late 80's when GENESIS was my favourite band, happened to buy this LP. It must have been VERY cheap (used?) and ordered by mail. I remember I listened to it just once and - enormously amazed by its poorness - threw it into garbage bin. Not only the cover is disastrous, the music in this album is just as disastrous. Imagine Abacab without Phil Collins' vocals and Tony Banks' loonie keyboards. THAT result would still be way better than this set of lousy pop/rock songs sung by Rutherford, who simply can't sing decently. This is nothing but a bad joke. I wonder how Stewart Copeland (drummer of The Police) felt with this job. BTW the songs are as far from progressive as they can be.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Matti (BETA) | Report this review (#141437)
Posted Tuesday, October 02, 2007 | Review Permalink
1 stars A very very poor effort.

Mike Rutherford isn't a singer ... why a producer doesnt tell him this evidence?

Songs are ... in fact I don't hear any song in that stuff...

Please, listen to "Mike and the mechanics" CDs if you're possibly interested in poppy Mike's work.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to H.NOT (BETA) | Report this review (#147808)
Posted Sunday, October 28, 2007 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars This album was released a year after the poor ''Abacab'' from whom you might have heard. I have rated this (non) ''Genesis'' album with one star.

To put things into perspective, you have to consider that ''Abacab'' was a masterpiece in comparison with this humiliating ''Acting Very Strange''.

Again, the title of the album is very well chosen. Our dear Mike was indeed acting very strange. These songs are absolutely awful. He improvised himself as a lead singer and the result is an enormous catastrophe.

The song writing is pitiful as well: there is nothing to be found here. No melody, no passion, no moving instrumental breaks NO NOTHING. From start to finish.

This is one of the poorest release I have ever heard (and I have heard a few thousand ones). I guess that it is not necessary to write a long & detailed review about this dreadful thing. It is a shame really. The only listenable song is the closing ballad ''Hideaway''.

To make your life healthier, I can only recommend you to NEVER, EVER listen to this record. Shame on you Mike. This is a typical zero star album. Such a sad story!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#221449)
Posted Tuesday, June 16, 2009 | Review Permalink
2 stars I'm not having a good day so I feel the need to pile on the indefensible ;-) Mike Rutherford of Genesis decided to have a go at lead vocals with Acting Very Strange. It was his second solo with the first being the very good Smallcreeps Day. Now I like some pop / rock (yes I'm a fan of most of Mike and the Mechanics) but the first thing a pop song has to have is a good lead singer. Well, Mike is not it. I remember being warned about this one album, so I waited until I found the vinyl on sale for $1.99. There are a couple of good tunes, with Hideaway being the best of the bunch, but most of this is repetitive and without any development. Now that I have gotten this off of my chest, I'm feeling a bit charitable, but not much. I originally gave this a very weak 2 stars, but after thinking about it, I can only give this 1 star.

PS - This should remove the bile from the fans who want to stone Phil Collins for moving Genesis towards pop / rock. All three did it while Genesis as a whole did it better then any of them individually.

PPS - After editing this once and downgrading it to 1 star status, I decided to go back and listen to it for the first time in years. What did not change is Rutherford can't sing. What did change a little is my opinion of some of the songs. Besides Hideaway, Maxine, Couldn't get Arrested while not being great (or even close) brings some fresh air into the mix. By that I mean its not as layered as Genesis or most any prog album, but in this case its not unwelcome. I'm going back to my original 2 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to tdfloyd (BETA) | Report this review (#221462)
Posted Tuesday, June 16, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars I briefly considered giving this album a 5 stars simply for shock value. However, I don't think that would be quite honest because this album is, frankly, not a masterpiece. Mike's vocals are an acquired taste. It's funny to know that every member of Genesis has sang on at least one album. Peter's vocal talents are, obviously, unquestioned. Phil's voice, while less respected, is still very powerful and expressive. Steve Hackett has developed into a respectably pleasant singer, and Anthony Phillips has a similar type of voice: pleasant, if not incredibly powerful. Tony has a voice reminiscent of the Pet Shop Boys (a comparassion he himself made, that I actually find to be true). Mike...oh Mike. Mike doesn't go out of tune on here. At least not often. It's simply that the texture and timbre of his voice is more than slightly unpleasant. It's funny to watch old footage of the band and see him singing back up vocals. He does good there. I guess when it came time to do his own album, and sing lead, he needed to do the "powerful" lead singing thing that Peter and Phil do so convincingly. Mike can't do that. His voice is raspy and deep. I don't know if he was still smoking around this time, but it sounds like he smoked at least a pack before each song.

Now that I've delved onto that often harped point, I'm going to go to the positives. Okay, for many Genesis (and even Mechanics fans) this album is an abberation. It doesn't sound ANYTHING like any Genesis album from any period. It doesn't sound ANYTHING like the smooth pop of the Mechanics. It doesn't sound ANYTHING like any solo album by any Genesis member, including Mike. The synthesizer tones are shril and sometimes noisy. The introductory synth riff to "A Day to Remember" is no doubt one of the most dissonant things on any Genesis album. As is the chorus synthesizer to "Acting Very Strange." The guitars here are distorted, sometimes repetitive, sometimes heavy, and sometimes fast. It's a loud screeching album that befits Mike's voice, to be quite honest. To the Genesis fan expecting "Mama" let alone anything Genesis did before or after, it's quite a shock. It definitely was to me.

However, to me it was a pleasant shock. I've always expected that, out of the "three" Mike was the strongest songwriter. Note that I don't say composer. Tony can write heads and tails above Mike per complexity of melody and harmonic complexity. But Tony, as good as he is, has a hard time writing a straight up pop tune. It seems forced to him to do so, and although he has some good ones, I don't think it's his forte. Likewise, with Phil, I think Phil is unable to get really complex, in general. He is a good songwriter, but limited and simplistic. This is why I think Mike is stronger: his songs are simpler than Tony's but more complex than Phil's. This is why his solo albums hold up artistically after all these years. Even though Phil was more succesful commercial than the Mechanics, to many critics and fans his solo career was a joke (I don't quite agree, but do understand). The Mechanics, however, are not as ridiculed. Their soft rocking style has been more succesful artistically, because their songs are more complex and diverse than Phil's. And Mike's songwriting was key to the success of the Mechanics.

This is why this album works for me. The melodies to these songs are incredibly strong, creative, diverse, and even meaningful. Try getting "Acting Very Strange" out of your head or even "Maxine." To some people, this is a bad thing, but I appreciate these melodies. I even appreciate the general approach. While Mike would have made an awful lead singer for Genesis or even on any other solo album, here it works. It works because the music is weird, dissonant, and even aggressive, as are his vocals. Mike's album tries to approach punk aggression with an early new wave style and it is an incredibly odd attempt. For me, the mix of melody and strangeness works. For others, it doesn't. I'll put it this way; no other album I've ever heard, including Genesis solo albums, sounds like this.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to SonicDeath10 (BETA) | Report this review (#238648)
Posted Friday, September 11, 2009 | Review Permalink
1 stars This is my first try to write a review - and the first difficulty was to find "THE" Album to review. Should I take the "best" one of my collection ? or the best of the last year? the one which made me a fan to progressive rock? It' s really hard work to find the album to start in this community - so I took my personal album list to search the one to start......... I decided - after some studies - to take the worst album I've ever bought. Why - because to elect this album was really no problem.

Mike Rutherfords second album is poor in every sight. The album cover is ridiculous - the sound very poor - the lead vocals are incredibly weak.... I remember when I played this album the first time, I stopped the player to look, if it is really Mike Rutherfords album or just a wrong one..... it is a try for simple structured pop-songs, nothing to do with prog, but also nothing for radioshows, because of its poor sound and compositions....

The best songs will be Maxine and Hideaway - but only because there is no material on this album to compare. As I said - it was easy to identify the worst album of my collection - that means out of nearly 2000 albums.....this one is only a piece for completitionists....

1 star is very generous...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to progspotter (BETA) | Report this review (#249712)
Posted Tuesday, November 10, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars The album 'Acting Very Strange' is a fairly enjoyable one from Mike Rutherford. Generally, Genesis solo albums are not on the same level as the Genesis albums, with the exception of Peter Gabriel, though I still prefer Genesis to his solo output.

For the purposes of this site, it is probably worth to mention that this is not a 'prog' album, although the first two songs have a slight prop-pop leaning.

However, the big change from his first solo album to this album is the quality of production. On 'Smallcreeps Day', the singer for that album, Noel McCalla, is unfortunately buried in the production, under layers of synths, bass, guitars and other noise. That's a shame because Noel is a good singer, and it didn't do justice to him. He can be heard to good effect on backign vocal of 'Who's fooling who'

On this album, Mike Rutherford's voice is loud and clear, sitting perfectly in the foreground. Yes,his voice is harsh, raspy and a bit ugly, but in my opinion he is the best Genesis singer after Gabriel and Collins. One thing he doesn't do is mumble, and he knows how to inject 'personality' into his singing. He knows how to deliver the songs. His voice is just a bit raspy, but when you're singing about being hard done by, well that's kind of a plus, isn't it?

The songs themselves are not prog, they are catchy, enjoyable pieces of new wave and a bit of reggae and soul. He is still experimenting with guitar tones, especially on the eerie 'A day to remember', which is my favourite song here.

The single from the album is 'Maxine' but 'Acting very strange' would have been my choice, much catchier, much stronger. The only song I don't like is the bare audible 'Hideaway', a ballad at the end of the album. My rating is 3 1/2 or 3 3/4 so I'll round up to 4.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Brendan (BETA) | Report this review (#343559)
Posted Sunday, December 05, 2010 | Review Permalink
octopus-4
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
RIO/Avant/Zeuhl Team
1 stars When I think to this album and the high number of times I've listened to it I feel guilty respect to GTR. That album, together with Yes Big Generator, Vangelis See You Later and the 80s production of Renaissance are the worst that I own in vinyl. The reason why I've listened to it so much is that I copied it onto a 90 minutes tape and on the other side there was Smallcreep's Day.

It's the auto-reverse that made me listen to it so much times.

The reason why I have bougth it are two: the excellent solo debut of Mike Rutherford and Stewart Copeland at drums and percussions. A strange mix.

Effectively it doesn't start too bad. The title track is a Genesis song on a Police rhythm. Artsy pop, nothing progressive, but quite enjoyable. Too few to say that the album is poor.

The sad moments arrive quickly: "A Day to Remember" is a song to forget. Electropop from the 80s. Mike's vocals are surprisingly good, but the song is full of the "plastic" electronic sounds typical of the epoch. The same sounds that can be found on some songs of Richard Wright's ZEE, but without the composing skill of the former Floyd.

"Maxine" is one of the lowest moments. Like Van Halen's "Jump" in a slow-motion. I know at least one person who likes this song but personally it's one that I'm used to skip.

If "Halfway There" was sung by Sting it could have been a good Police song. Nothing prog, really and the A side is gone.

The funky side of Genesis for a song that could have been on Face Value. Even if Mike tries to sing like Phil Collins it's not the same. More brasses could have saved this pop song.

"Couldn't Get Arrested" is the only song that doesn't sound like anything specific. If put between good tracks it could have been a good filler. Nothing more than this. In addition I find Mike's singing on this song particularly bad.

"I Don't Wanna Know", together with the title track is the best thing of the album. Based on 80s electronic as "A Day To Remember" is at least a sort of Genesis song

Finally a song that could have been a highlight. It seems to be coming from Smallcreep's Day side A, but the final is really too long and boring. I remember that when I have copied it inot a tape for my car stereo tape reader I have cut it out.

It's between 1 and two stars, but I have rated 1 star GTR so I have to use the same measure.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to octopus-4 (BETA) | Report this review (#443393)
Posted Friday, May 06, 2011 | Review Permalink
3 stars An underrated album, but almost understandably so. Mike sings the lead vocals, and while his vocals have many strengths, they are an aquired taste. Very scratchy, and occasionally out of tune, but also very aggressive and heartfelt, and on most of the songs that is a plus. The only song that I can easily imagine being improved by someone with a more experienced voice is "Who's Fooling Who" (I'm thinking Noel McCalla, or someone of a similar timbre), but then it doesn't sound that bad with Mike singing either. His voice seems most suited to the catchy power pop of "Maxine." The only thing is, after a whole album, the vocals do wear a little thin, and it's not something I could listen to on a regular basis, but thanks to a good amount of the songs being very, very good songs, I could put to this album on somewhat of a 2nd tier medium rotation. The first two songs don't really grab my attention much, although "A Day To Remember" does have very interesting lyrics. Actually, pretty much all the lyrics on this album are very clever and intelligently written. ("Couldn't Get Arrested" is supposedly about having a diffucult time making a mark on the music industry.) Musically, the album is very upbeat and spirited, with heavy doses of energetic, trebbly distorted guitar and synths (yes, those adjectives apply to both instruments), and Stuart Copeland sounding very much like himself does a fine job drumming on this one. As for melodies, hooks, and songwriting in general, well, you can't ask for a better hook than the ones in "Halfway There" and "I Don't Wanna Know", and that inlcudes the latter's very Police-like outro refrain "I don't wanna be another fool... " I think the album slopes down a little bit at the end, with the slow ballad "Hideaway" sounding a little genericky, but Rutherford's vocals on the chorus are very touching, so that helps. Add everything up, and you have a very exotic and unexpectedly different album of energetic pop/rock with plently of great music to jump over coffee tables to.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to 7headedchicken (BETA) | Report this review (#571302)
Posted Saturday, November 19, 2011 | Review Permalink
Tarcisio Moura
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars I´m glad that sometimes I follow my intuition and do not listen to certain albums even if they are from people I deeply admire. Mike Ruterford´s second second solo efford is a typical exemple: I loved Smallcreep´s Day dearly, one of the best prog albums at the time (ok, it had some popish tunes too, but they were also great). Yet, I felt that Acting Very Strange would not be something I´d like (maybe the ugly cover was a warning?) and stayed away from it all theses years for one reason or another. It took me over 30 years to actually get the CD to finally listen to it. And I was right all along. If Smallcrep´s Day had some similarities to Tony Bank´s A Curious Feeling of the same time, this one is also the counterpart of Banks hideous The Fugitive (also released at the period). Both are probably the worst stuff released by any current or former Genesis members ever (yes, I´m including here the entire Phill Collins solo discography!).

Some reviewers here complained a lot about Rutherford´s decision to take on the lead vocals. He may be no singer, but clearly his voice is the least of his problems here. In fact, he does it better than Banks did on that department. But the songs... my god! I always knew Rutherford was the more pop inclined member of the band (Collins was to blame, but he was always on R&B and soul music), and Your Own Special Way was proof of that quite some time before. His first solo album had its share of ballads but, boy, do you really expected those songs to be that bad here? It´s hard to believe that such terrific musicians like Darryl Stuemer (ex Jean Luc Ponty and live Genesis guitarrist), Stuart Copeland (The Police) and Peter Robinson (Brand X) are performing here. He could have hired much cheaper studio hands and the results would be pretty much the same.

The songs: undistinguished, repetitive, boring, unimaginative. Only a few nice moments, which are killed by the arrangements and repetition. The production is aimed for the typical 80´s audience (you know, those cheesy, plastic synths sound and eletronic drums), even going as far as including a lot of very americanised syrup sax solos you heard a million times before and after. Sometimes he seems to be trying to emulate his Genesis colleague Collins like on Who´s Fooling Who (very aply title!), complete with a brass arrangement, but to no avail. All could be forgiven if the tunes were good, but really, I don´t remember Rutherford releasing such weak bunch of songs anywhere else. Even his Mike + The Mechanics delivered much better stuff. The last track, Hideaway, is a little different from the rest of the techno pop stuff, and even then, it is nothing to be proud of. He was, indeed, acting very strange.

Like Banks The Fugitive, this record is nothing but a big mistake made by a great artist and should be avoided at all costs by anyone who likes music in general and prog rock in particular.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Tarcisio Moura (BETA) | Report this review (#812634)
Posted Thursday, August 30, 2012 | Review Permalink

MIKE RUTHERFORD Acting Very Strange ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of MIKE RUTHERFORD Acting Very Strange


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.33 seconds