Header
Anekdoten - A Time Of Day CD (album) cover

A TIME OF DAY

Anekdoten

Heavy Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars The long awaited ANEKDOTEN new studio album **** STARS

Finally we have new studio material from these swedish super quartet, and among the years i really hope that the band can still together for quite long.Every year i checked ANEKDOTEN´s site expecting the worst, but it seems that they won´t share ANGLAGARD´s faith for the prog sake. The album started with "the great unknown" and inmediatly remind us the previous GRAVITY album. The next track "30 pieces" has a beatiful flute played by Gunnar Bergsten that goes very well with the band style.In the instrumental track "every step I take" is curious how close to the sound of the post-rock band GODSPEED YOU BLACK EMPEROR can be.Anyway, it´s the same ANEKDOTEN sound but it´s really a less depresed album than the others and a little bit slow for my taste.Nevertheless, we have powerfull tracks like "In for a ride" as great as "from within", "hole" or some many other. I don´t know if it´s unfair to compare "A Time of Day" with the previos records, but we always expect more from such a great bands like ANEKDOTEN, I give the album 4 stars because i don´t think it´s another VEMOD or NUCLEUS, in fact, it´s a little bit different maybe because there is a 10 years gap from those albums, but now the difference is that the ARTWORK it´s just PERFECT!!!

No matter what, it´s still highly recommended album and a must for any ANEKDOTEN fan.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to rafabal (BETA) | Report this review (#120148)
Posted Sunday, April 29, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars There has been 4 years since Anek. last studio album and the time worth it.

It appears they worked hard to create posibly their best album.This album is in the level of their first ones"From Within " "Vemod" and "Nucleus" and better.

Melodies and armonies are beautifull,the instruments and voices combines and interact so well.

Themes are short but with a lot of variations

It`s a pitty it is a little short(less than 50 m)but that`s good because you get hungry of Anekdoten,and love to listen the album again and again.....

5*

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to robbob (BETA) | Report this review (#121253)
Posted Tuesday, May 08, 2007 | Review Permalink
Heptade
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars This has been a big year for new albums, what with Porcupine Tree, Rush and Marillion records coming out. Those records have all been pretty good, but for me, this was the one I was waiting for, and it's everything I cracked it up to be.

Anekdoten has improved with every CD, with 2003's Gravity being their last triumph, an album on which they added pop, ambient and psych elements to their usual dark prog riffage. The live record Waking the Dead was also a triumph and well worth picking up. This record finds them refining their sound further on a remarkably consistent album. There are new touches, such as the flute on 30 Pieces, some nice synth and organ sounds and even some hard rock riffs, as well as the return of the cello. As always, there are great big lashes of majestic 'tron all over everything, which pleases me no end. The songs are strong, ranging from the pounding dark prog numbers which the band is known for to delicate acoustic songs like Stardust and Sand and Prince of the Ocean, the album's highlight track. The band's vocals from Jan Erik Liljeström and Nicklas Barker continue to improve with each passing album.

I find it hard to find any fault with this record, which is a stew of psychedelic dark prog of the highest order from an incredibly consistent band. I think Anekdoten is the finest young prog band in the world today, and this is their best record- better than the new PT? You bet. It's their masterpiece. Housed in a really nifty digipak with great art and high quality paper, this is an essential.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Heptade (BETA) | Report this review (#123168)
Posted Wednesday, May 23, 2007 | Review Permalink
Prog-jester
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars It seems they know a secret hidden from others. They manage to write good and even catchy songs but they're still Prog. Maybe, a lot more mainstreamy than on "Vemod", but I like this movement towards Modern Prog.

"A Time of Day" sounds like a mix of "From Within" (very good) with "Gravity" (average). The result is rather predicatble, worthy of solid 4 stars, but still they mean a lot for me, and this one will be definetely featured in my personal Top10 of 2007. "A Sky about to Rain/Every Step" is a wonderful 9-min long journey (my favourite here so far), "In for a Ride" has classy Canterburish organ solos, "30 pieces" is a wonderful mellow 7/8 groove with flute soloing...stop me if you can :) Highly recommended album - do not believe anyone that ANEKDOTEN have lost their charm. They're better than ever. A Must

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prog-jester (BETA) | Report this review (#124089)
Posted Thursday, May 31, 2007 | Review Permalink
2 stars Great music let down by appalling production.

You've got to wonder about why such a great band would allow their subtle, beautiful music to be ruined by production that compresses the sound to within a whisker of it's life and cranks the volume up so high it pushes the meters to the upper limit.

When I first put this on, I had to leap out of my chair to hit the volume control, it practically ripped my Tannoys apart it's so loud! So heavily compressed there is virtually no dynamic range. In a misguided attempt to be 'heavy', they've greated a sonic sludge that has overblown bass boom and a crushing monochrome wall that is oppresssive instead.

Guys - oppressively loud is NOT heavy. It's destroyed a great album and sucked the life out of the music. Please, don't let the loudness obsessed idiots in record companies talk you into this again. If there IS a next album after fiasco, make it musical, not a sledgehammer.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to rhandmj (BETA) | Report this review (#124121)
Posted Thursday, May 31, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars THIS album is absolutely one of the most beautiful I have heard from Anekdoten. The songs totally envelop the listener in powerful yet dreamy melodies that give me goosebumps from the first track to the last.

I LOVE LOVE the sound!! The expert use of multiple instruments, voices, style and detailed production technique is a testament to their brilliance. I find myself turning it up all the time to get lost in the ebb and flow of mellotron, guitar and flute harmonies!

This band remains true to their genre while also is brave enough to push the boundaries within that genre with positive results....any artist can appreciate this quality within a band... and so I give my highest recommendations for this gorgeous new album!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to queenobliv (BETA) | Report this review (#124364)
Posted Saturday, June 02, 2007 | Review Permalink
erik neuteboom
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars My first musical encounter with Anekdoten their compelling and captivating music was when I started to write for Dutch progrock paper SI Magazine in the early Nineties. I was very lucky that in this era the Mellotron drenched Skandinavian prog had just started to florish with as good examples Anglagard, White Willow, Landberk and ... Anekdoten. I was blown away by their debut CD entitled Vemod (even more on the re- release that contains the wonderful bonus track Sad Rain). On that album they sounded very similar to King Crimson (Anekdoten began as a King Crimson cover band) but gradually their music turned into more original and quite distinctive prog with the CD From Within as my personal favorite. I was a bit disappointed about the successor Gravity so what to expect from the this new CD?

During my first listening session I got very excited, it sounds more as a succesor to From Within than Gravity featuring the distinctive melancholical vocals, the dynamic-rhythm-section and the huge tension between the mellow, compelling, propulsive and bombastic parts. Of course I am delighted about the unsurpassed sound of the omni-present Mellotron, what a moving waves! Other keyboards on this album are the Farfisa organ (especially in the captivating 30 Pieces in great interplay with the Mellotron along propulsive guitar riffs and a wonderful final part with delicate flute and lush Mellotron) and synthesizer in Stardust An Sand (mellow with twanging guitars) and Prince Of The Ocean (dreamy with soft organ waves and a beautiful closing section with Mellotron). The guitar work sounds very alternating: fiery in the poweful opener The Great Unknown, propulsive in 30 Pieces and A Sky About To Rain, sensitive in King Of Oblivion and In For A Ride and mellow acoustic twanging in Stardust And Sand. My highlight is the long composition (almost 7 minutes) In For A Ride: it starts very compelling and bombastic, then a powerful bass and a lush Mellotron sound join and halfway we can enjoy a sensitive guitar solo. The climate ranges from dreamy to bombastic featuring a bit ominous undertone, almost psychedelic and very captivating, this is Anekdoten at their best!

With this album Anekdoten has prooved again to be a current top progrock band, every song is a wonderful painting delivering exciting and colourful landscapes, as if Turner and Constable have translated their paintings into prog music, a big hand for the new Anekdoten, not to be missed!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to erik neuteboom (BETA) | Report this review (#125460)
Posted Monday, June 11, 2007 | Review Permalink
tszirmay
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Crossover Team
5 stars I couldn't help noticing the scarcity of reviews for such a major prog act's long awaited new recording, A Time of Day being released almost two months ago. Intrigued, I enlisted a certified Prog Doctor to supply his august diagnosis on such a puzzling patient! Putting down his stereo stethoscope and after numerous trebly symptom tests, he prescribed the following three possible scenarios: 1- Anekdoten fans are quiet due to a severe allergy towards the mellower strain initiated by the From Within and Gravity viruses and "dying" for a return to the metallic infections from the Nucleus (hint! hint!) era. 2- Anekdoten fans are stunned into a state of acute torpor because of their incapacity to properly put to ink the swell of emotions emanating from this latest sample and are still in the recovery room. 3- Or waiting for their birthday in order to religiously rip open the plastic and dive into the lush euphoria.(Hello Sinkadotentree!)

Well, I decided to look into this myself with a bit more maturity than before , having respected this Swedish band enough to purchase all their main albums but never really getting into their craft with any gusto and never really understanding why ( the Quark, Strangeness and Charm syndrome )Wake up call! I am floored by my own stupidity. I wanted to wait a bit before getting Time of Day but I was compelled to accept the advice of my prog store owner who branded this CD as prog from the gut (les tripes, en francais), a monument of stark, heartfelt and passionate music. He sold me and sold me the record too. From the opening strands of lead track "The Great Unknown", the anticipation is rewarded with a massive wave of all those elements that make Anekdoten special: a rumbling Rickenbacker bass, tight fisted drumming, swirling trons galore, gritty guitar ramblings and that flute-propelled Scandinavian mist that can only come from our northern friends .With evocative lyrics such as: "All the forces of the cosmos lead me on as we shoot through the galaxy, I'm coming home!", you get the message! "30 Pieces" is more angular, requiring a few obedient auditions before coming to appreciate this rather mordant piece, where guitar, bass and drums waltz in unison , egged on by a meandering flute lead. By the third track, the stunning "King Oblivion", the band "Emerils" it by kicking it up a notch, (yeah! Cliché, I know!), keeping the blistering pace all the way to the moody finale, as the fabled mellotron really gets all warmed up, purring like a savage cat, scouring through the thunder with tectonic abandon, proving conclusively that this much maligned instrument deserves its mythical place in prog history but also demonstrating its potential to enthuse for many more decades to come. "A Sky about to Rain" is another fragrant slice of irate melancholia, with gale-force mellotron sweeps, "burning a hole into my soul" where simple rhythm guitar meshes with ornate Moog leads, emitting a quasi Space-Rock feel that is very tantalizing segueing effortlessly into "Every Step I Take", an short instrumental outro that has nothing to do with The Police. "Stardust & Sand" features some more Floydian synths, somewhat reminiscent of "Welcome to the Machine" and an overall ambient feel, drowsy percussion, male and female vocals and acoustic guitar. The calm before the storm: "In For a Ride" is aptly titled, a gloomy, somewhat opiate delivery propelled by some blistering bass married to a relentless beat with a neat Niklas Barker (Ex-Berg) guitar solo, a great voyage indeed. The disc ends its run with a delightful closer "Prince of the Ocean", a perfect companion to "Stardust & Sand", with a scintillating cello\tron that gently lullabies you into pressing restart , back to the top, again and again. I am somewhat in need of returning to the back catalogue and have a smorgasbord orgy of Anekdoten, this time paying a little more attention. So, is it masterpiece or the wall paper behind it? The doctor waits... 5 cellos

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to tszirmay (BETA) | Report this review (#126350)
Posted Tuesday, June 19, 2007 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
4 stars Few groups take as much time between albums while still managing to release them at regular intervals. Just Tool seems to be able to be more parsimonious. While Anekdoten's last two studio albums had not raised that much enthusiasm from fans, the first being vacuous and thin, the second foraying in the wrong direction, this was IMHO, Anekdoten's fifth is breath of fresh air. With an artwork (in a digipack) hinting at Vemod's paganism and mystery, the return of Anna-Sofi's cello, a wider array of keyboards and even some occasional flute (by guest Bergsten), indeed giving the whole album an impetus that was absent since the late 90's. I must say that for me, this was their last chance before I gave up if another poor album it was.

After an enthralling lead-off track Great Unknown (the usual Anekdoten realm track plus a great flute), comes one of the most unusual but extremely successful track 30 Pieces starting out like an 80's pop track (Nordin's drumming will keep this characteristic for much of the 7-min+ track) and slowly evolving to become a wild four minutes instrumental interplay passage where the superb flute takes the lion's share of the spotlight; Very refreshing and a great start to this album!

King Of Oblivion (with its shared verses between Jan and Niklas) and A Sky About To Rain (with a slower and ambient ending that's overstaying slightly its welcome) fail to maintain the superb level of the first two, but both would've been highlights on the previous Gravity. The short instrumental Every Step I Take (with a post rock feeling especially the guitar part), Stardust And Sand (a very acoustic ballad that reminds War Is over from the previous album, but in better), the gloomy and furious In For A Ride (with its great inter-verse lunacy bits) and Prince Of The Ocean (slow, lengthy and haunting) are ending the album on the same level than it started.

While not quite of the level of their now-mythic debut or its violent follow-up, this album is indeed a return to form, forgetting the emptiness of From Within and easily outdoing Gravity. Having maybe found a start to their new direction without losing their souls, Anekdoten is one of the better bands from that second 90's prog wave

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#126791)
Posted Tuesday, June 26, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars RETURN OF SWEDISH MAGICIANS

It happens to me almost each time i listen to Anekdoten, i feel hynotized, like an enchanted cobra under the mid-east piper command. And it´s happening again with this marvelous record that amazed me again, a cd that as a matter of fact took 4 years to see the light Looks like the magic number is 4 because that´s the time it takes for them to release an album, with the exclusion of Nucleus which was released 2 years after their famous debut, and actually i think it´s their weakest (maybe they should waited 2 more years).

This is one of my Anekdoten´s favourites along with Vemod and From Within, and it´s also between my ´07 top 5. Their style is same but sharper and the production is superb, and it´s no news that they give us again a mellotron overdosis, with clever use of strings and flute, that if i´m not wrong never included before on any of their previous works.

The opening track"The Great Unknown" starts with power and then lead us to the classic synth driven tune with very sutil flute on the back and then powerful riffs and drums again. Second song "30 Pieces" is very compulsive with the inclusion of a flute solo. "King Oblivion" broght me a 60´s feeling with very nice guitar work. "Sky about to rain" is a mellower track nicely conected to the short but good "Every step i take" that reminds me of some Post-Rock bands. "Stardust and sand" is another mellow song with tons of diffent synths and melloton. "In for a ride" starts similar to the opener but faster and kind of psychedelic. The album ends perfectly with "Prince of the ocean" beautiful spacey track.

With this output Anekdoten proves again to be one of the reigning acts of modern prog, leaving behind that statement of being King Crimson clones, and giving us each time fabulous recordings. If the next album will be as good as this one, i´ll be glad to wait another 4 years!

Viva el Prog!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to FranMuzak (BETA) | Report this review (#127554)
Posted Wednesday, July 04, 2007 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars My original frustrations with this album brought back memories of a similar event in my life back in 1982. It was like history repeating itself for me. RUSH has been my favourite band longer then I care to say, and I remember buying "Signals" and being so disappointed. It was nothing like their previous five glorious albums. Sure their previous album "Moving Pictures" was their most radio friendly release but it still rocked. "Signals" didn't rock and synths dominated where the guitar should have. Well after putting it aside for weeks I brought it back out and it just clicked with me. I still prefer the five albums before it but man I like "Signals" an awful lot. Fast forward to 2007 and "A Time Of Day" from ANEKDOTEN (my second favourite band) comes out and I just couldn''t get into it. The powerful bass and heavy sound was lightened, sure the mellotron was still there thankfully but it wasn't gale force like before. "Gravity" the previous album much like "Moving Pictures" was more commercial sounding but it was still awesome. Well in my first review I gave "A Time Of Day" 4 stars reluctantly but felt in my heart it didn't deserve it, but I also thought it would grow on me. After putting it aside for months I brought it back out and it just confirmed what i felt earlier and so i changed it to 3 stars. Well i'm back in April of 2009 after listening to it about four times over Easter weekend and it clicked. Funny but it clicked the first time I listened to it, but further listens have only made me like it even more. Go figure ! The band continues to progress by adding some flute from guest Gunnar Bergsten from FLASKET BRINNER and some Post-Rock style guitar on one song, and an overall more modern sound.

"The Great Unknown" is classic ANEKDOTEN ! I like the lyrics which are about a man going into deep space where no one has gone before. It opens with drums and rumbling bass as mellotron rolls in. The song settles down quickly as vocals come in. A lot of bottom end on this track. Mellotron returns in a big way, enough to capsize a ship. Some great guitar later. What an opener ! "30 Pieces" features vocals that are deliberate and almost spoken with steady drums for a minute when mellotron floods the song breifly which is so moving. This contrast continues. A flute solo starts before 3 minutes while the song closes out with piano and flute until mellotron joins in around the 6 minute mark. This song shows the band trying new things more than any other song on this disc. It's also my least favourite (Haha). "King Oblivion" is a song that would have fit nicely on the "Gravity" record. I love the vocals on this track and the tasteful guitar solo before 3 minutes.

"A Sky About To Rain" is a song that Jan-Erik said was their most accomplished and visionary yet. And it's hard not to disagree with that as I feel this is the best song on the album. Why am I so moved when I listen to the beginning of this song ? We get a full sound 1 1/2 minutes in of mellotron, bass, drums and guitar. Hell yeah ! The contrast of the mellow and full sound continues. When he sings "A sky about to rain" then the mellotron falls like a down-pour of rain. Nice. Heavy guitar follows. This song eventually blends into "Every Step I Take" an instrumental that sounds like the previous song (like the second part of it) only the guitar shines even more. This is where the Post-Rock style guitar comes in as the song slowly builds. Great tune ! "Stardust And Sand" is a good song with gentle guitar, drums, vocals and synths. Oh and lots of mellotron. I agree with tszirmay that this song has a real PINK FLOYD feel to it and especially a "Welcome To The Machine" sound.

"In For A Ride" is the most uptempo song on the album. Mellotron leads the way in the beginning until guitar takes it's place as vocals arrive. Mellotron 4 1/2 minutes in is back and there is a guitar solo 6 minutes in. What's so cool about it is the distorted organ or is it farfisa throughout. Anyway it has a strong Canterbury flavour to it that I thought i'd never hear on an ANEKDOTEN tune. Great track ! "Prince Of The Ocean" is good but not great, the cello is a nice touch anyway.

In the liner notes they thank Anna & Mikael Akerfeldt as well as Stefan Dimle and Reine Fiske both previously from LANDBERK, as well as both PAATOS and OPETH.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#128530)
Posted Saturday, July 14, 2007 | Review Permalink
Eetu Pellonpää
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars I had heard this band's earlier stuff extensively on record player and also on concerts. As I was really crazy about their dramatics, I was excited to get this record to my hands as quick as it was released. The compositions are great, continuing the progression of slight taming from the records of earlier days, but with familiar sounds and musical ideas present. Careful arrangements have been done with good taste, and sonic palette has been enlarged with some visiting new instruments. I really like the coda of the celestial flight on "Every Step I Take", allowing the emotions fly on the wings of shoegazing sounds. The harder parts in the songs are also great, but I admit the intensive feeling parts appeal me personally more. I recall facing this album was first little difficult, as the two earlier records had made so profound impression to me. But this is really fine album also, little rockier but really pleasant, having a feeling of Scandinavian spring in it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Eetu Pellonpää (BETA) | Report this review (#128617)
Posted Sunday, July 15, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars There was a time I decided to start hearing more modern prog music, after investigating thoroughly the Golden Age (although I still have a big road to cover) I was hearing Anglagard (which was already one of my favorite bands) and noticed this group called Anekdoten and read about their influences (king crimson) and acquired their first two studio albums, Vemod and Nucleus; needless to say that they clicked for me, I mean apart from Anglagard I wasn't expecting in finding another group from the same country that had a great sound and rejuvenating feeling to them, I mean you could hear the influences but they weren't that important, they created they're own sound and are making way into turning into one of the big modern progressive groups (if they aren't already).

This album I acquired when heard that they had made another studio album; I wanted to know if they still had the touch, and was expecting to see the same kind of sound that they had in their past albums, but how surprised I was that they had taken another way into a more calm sound, although still maintaining their hard prog and quite agressive sound full of those mellotron notes, flowing in the back of your head, delivering that dark mood and feeling that only the nordic cultures can deliver. The album is small but thats how I like, It allows me to hear the album, making me enter their world and making me want more.

Well for those that haven't experienced Anekdoten, I advise you to start with their first album, thats it if you like that kind-of-prog-metal which hasn't the growlings and all that agressiveness. This group knows how to switch through a powerfull and hard prog with dark mood style into a sea of calmness at the same time, and thats witch probably attracts so many people into this group, However acquiring this album first can be a great choice as well; all tracks stand out I like all of them and I haven't a favorite of all of these, which is something that for me makes a masterpiece of an album; In nowadays progressive world This is a group to watch because I believe that they're still going to do more great stand out albums, and I give them five stars only for the fact that, in regard to modern progressive rock music they're one of the best and this album shows it.

Acquires this album if you like your music with a dark mood, mellow feeling, that switches hard to calm swiftly giving you that autumn feel. A masterpiece considering modern progressive music.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to LeInsomniac (BETA) | Report this review (#130781)
Posted Monday, July 30, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars After first listening nothing happened. So I gave this record another chance. Then it spoke to me. Oh my God!!! This record is amazing. It's so good. I just couldn't get this music out of my head for next couple of weeks. I was listening to it round and round every day. This music is fantastic. Full of beautyful melodies, mellotron passages, very nice organ work. And this lovely melancholic vocal. It's powerfull. I don't know if objectively it's masterpice but I love it and in my humble opinion it deserves 5 stars. I love it almost as much as Anekdoten's great debut. If you don't know Anekdoten music, you have to listen to this one. Highly recommended!!!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Publius84 (BETA) | Report this review (#132153)
Posted Tuesday, August 07, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars I have Day A Time of for some days only, I have it listen three times in its entirety. My first impression, I liked well the first four tracks especially. This album makes me the same effect as Gravity, at the beginning this last as an album bonbon, easy of listening with all ingredients which like. With In Time of Day, it is a bit the same thing, not poor far off but far from what Anekdoten had got used to to us. It is perhaps it evolution. By ending, I still listen to Gravity with pleasure, I think sincerely that will be similar with A Time of Day. My rate 3.5.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to spacefolk (BETA) | Report this review (#136012)
Posted Monday, September 03, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars This band is finally in their prime. The entire album exhibits a sensitivity and control of writing, arranging and performing that few manage to achieve. Perhaps one of the finest improvements is in the vocals. Gone are all the weaknesses in pitch and delivery that occasionally plagued poor Nicklas. I was also pleased to hear that they've expanded their sonic palette by integrating Hammond organ and analog synth. Very welcome additions that are used tastefully and effectively.

Anekdoten's appeal for me has always largely been the emotionality of their music and this album delivers in spades. I guess I'm just a sucker for beautiful melody, Mellotron and grinding, overdriven bass. I can't recommend "A Time Of Day" highly enough. I've been listening to it multiple times daily for the past couple of weeks and my appreciation only continues to grow. I don't make light of a 5- star rating, but this one truly deserves it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Seagles (BETA) | Report this review (#138302)
Posted Friday, September 14, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars This is my first Anekdoten album and on this showing, it will not be my last. A Time Of Day is a wonderful achievement and, for me, there isn't a single weak track present - A Sky About To Rain and Every Step I Take are my particular favourites.

Regarding the album as a whole, it is full of musical layers and combines elements of just about every other flavour of prog, including some very post-rock-like climax building. I've only listened to it a couple of times but it's growing stronger with each listen and I find more and more amongst the layers.

I'm not quite convinced that it is an essential release but would give it 4.5 stars if I could. It is still an excellent addition to my prog library and I'm sure it would be to many others.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to scarista (BETA) | Report this review (#141339)
Posted Monday, October 01, 2007 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars The first time I knew Anekdoten was through their "From Within" album which blew me away at first spin and made me explore other albums of the band. I got "Nucleus", "Vemod" and now the latest album "A Time of Day". When I spun this album at the first time, I was so impressed with the opening track "The Great Unknown" (6:22) which generates mellotron-drenched music combined with guitar rhythm in floating style. It again confirms that the music of Anekdoten is very close with King Crimson. It's truly a joy enjoying this opening track especially when the style of guitar fills, solos combined with soaring mellotron sounds which remind me to the 70s prog music. Not only that, this album also features Gunnar Bergsten as flutist. Wow! man . it's truly a great track!

The next track "30 Pieces" (7:13) moves in an upbeat mode but it still maintaining the similar style of opening track. The vocal line sounds heavier. There is an obvious use of organ overlayed by mellotron. Again, the flute work is so catchy and dark .. in fact it has catchy notes. This time flute provides great solo during interlude part and makes this song sounds elegant as a vintage prog tune.

"King Oblivion" (5:02) moves in a bit different style because there is an obvious psychedelic style and the way vocal is being sung. It's still a nice track with straightforward structure. "A Sky About To Rain" (6:29) goes even more psychedelic especially through the use of acoustic guitar in a mellow style. "Every Step I Take" (3:06) brings the music back on track. The mellotron sounds go thinner and softer. "Stardust And Sand" (4:29) starts off with an acoustic guitar works accompanying excellent singing style. Keyboard and mellotron played softly at the back.

"In For A Ride" (6:47) brings the music into uptempo style with heavier mellotron sounds. The musical break with organ solo is really interesting. The concluding track "Prince Of The Ocean" (5:30) is really a good track in mellow style with catchy and memorable melody. The vocal line (male - female duo) is so clean and powerful. This is one of my favorite tracks.

Overall, I am really happy listening to this album because all songs are good with some are being exceptional. If you have King Crimson, Van der Graaf Generator albums and you like it, it's a big possibility that you like it as well. Give it a try! You will never be disappointed owning this album. Keep on proggin'..!

Peace on earth and mercy mild - GW

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#155287)
Posted Thursday, December 13, 2007 | Review Permalink
5 stars An early contender for album of the year, ANEKDOTEN have once again produced an album that combines excellent individual songs with a cohesive feel that leaves the listener with the impression that he has arrived at the end of an emotionally intense journey at the end of the album's 45 minutes.

A bit slower-paced on the whole than some of ANEKDOTEN's earlier works, the music benefits from a more organic feel, flowing effortlessly between tracks, moving the listener rather than punishing him (as some moments on NUCLEUS may have done). And yet the sound is unmistakably familiar, no other band could have made this album.

Highlights for me are "A sky about to rain" and it's natural conclusion in "Every step I take", a worthy centrepiece to the album, as well as "In for a ride" which does pretty much what it says on the album cover. Less patient listeners might deride the fact that the pace of this latter song is rarely matched elsewhere, but then the balance would have been lost. For me, this is possible ANEKDOTEN's most consistent work to date and the most emotionally rewarding with a grain of hope glistening through the characteristic melancholy.

Undoubtedly one of the best albums of 2007, essential listening for all fans of post rock and melancholic prog, and worthy of a place in any prog fans collection. Perhaps 4.5 stars for the individual tracks, but 5 stars for the complete piece of music.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warren (BETA) | Report this review (#155442)
Posted Friday, December 14, 2007 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars The least I can say, is that Anekdoten is not a very prolific band. This is only their fifth album in a period of almost fifteen years, being a short one in the current standard of the industry. But as I have already mentioned, I prefer a short and good album than a long and dull one. So.

The Swedish lads come back again with their powerful yet melodic music. The opening song "The Great Unknown" is seriously Crimson oriented. Fabulous tron of course, but you know by now that I am biased, right?

"30 Pieces" is more complex, hectic. It is a more difficult song to apprehend and needs more listening than other pieces of this work to fully capture it. But even so, I am not fully satisfied nor thrilled. And I guess that if you prefer their melodic/melancholic flavours, a song as "King Oblivion" will suit your ears more. At least, it is my case.

The next one, is a dual song. A dull intro but then.Yes, guys : a sublime mellotron break will almost transport you to heaven. Half a song? Maybe. And what to say about the immaculate beauty of the short "Every Step I Take" ? Breathless, I am.

I have a mixed feeling about this release. I was so anxious to listen to it after their last two studio albums (and their great live one "Waking The Dead") that I might just be too demanding. But songs as "Stardust And Sand" (the weakest here IMHHO) as well as "In For A Ride" (which is only great during the second half with a superb bass play) are not as good as what I had expected from this excellent band.

It is true that I fully appreciated their work with "From Within" and since then, each of their work was an enchantment. Maybe the next one will revert the band in these territories. This is a good album which closes on a dark "Prince Of The Ocean" (somewhat PT oriented). Three stars.

I hope that the musical chair is now over in terms of genre. Anekdoten started in the Art Rock, switched to Eclectic and is now in Heavy Prog. I hope that they won't end up in the Prog Related next time!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#159991)
Posted Sunday, January 27, 2008 | Review Permalink
4 stars This album is not as dark and intense as some of their earlier work..... Sometimes it even sounds a little bit happy..... This is still a worthy album and it shows a lot of the same characteristics as their earlier fine albums.....This one might be a little more accessable to a prog newbie......but it still has that characeteristic Anekdoten sound...... Who knows what this always interesting band will come up with next time??

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to digdug (BETA) | Report this review (#164885)
Posted Monday, March 24, 2008 | Review Permalink
Prog Leviathan
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Another fine album from one of the most underrated, underappreciated, and sadly unprolific groups around: A Time of Day delivers the goods with Anekdoten's signature sound of heavy/light contrasts, savage gusto, sweeping mellotron, and energetic melodies-- this is great stuff!

With A Time of Day, the group's songwriting tip-toes into more accessible formats, with many strongly performed, catchy choruses and big instrumental melodies. There's still that dark, brooding energy which Anekdoten fans adore, but this time it's tempered a bit by the likeability of the songs-- as well as Barker's improved (and much more prevalent) singing voice, which comes close to crooning here and there. The first three songs are a pure joy, with Great Unknown starting things off with a heavy, bass-led riff giving way to vocal shout choruses, background flutes (great!), and a general feeling of excitement. The cynical 30 Pieces follows up with even more flute, inclusion of piano, and extended instrumental passages only to give way to King Oblivion-- a short, atmospheric jam song. Lyrically evocative and sonically dynamic, there's a lot to like here, and the enjoyment only deepens during multiple listens.

By this time I can almost guarantee that new listeners will fall in love with this band, and if not the gentle vibraphone interlude to Sky About to Rain will cinch the deal. In general the album has a more tender, thoughtful feel to it than their previous works, but is nonetheless an outstanding example of their songwriting and instrumental proficiency; I have yet to find a group that is as consistantly good as Anekdoten. Highly, highly recommended for a variety of listeners!

Songwriting: 4 Instrumental Performances: 4 Lyrics/Vocals: 4 Style/Emotion/Replay: 4

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prog Leviathan (BETA) | Report this review (#165431)
Posted Monday, March 31, 2008 | Review Permalink
3 stars I am a big Anekdoten fan and have enjoyed all of their albums from 'Vemod' to 'Gravity' but sadly this album does not live up to the expectations of Anekdoten's previous albums.

Anekdoten have tried to adopt a different sound in this album. This has not paid off. The song writing is nothing special to their previous works. Songs such as 'stardust and sand' get very annoyingly repetitive after time. However their are nice elements to 'A Time of Day' such as 'in for a ride' which is a truly atmospheric, melodic song and builds up excellently with flourishes of mellotron. Due to my love of the original 'Anekdoten sound' I feel hesitant to this 'new mainstream sound' they have adopted and it doesn't suite them. I have attempted over the time of a few weeks for the album to digest, but it simply hasn't happened for me. Its more of a personal opinion in a way. But it may not be the same for others who have purchased the album looking at the high % of vote.

I recommend Vemod to start, which is a true prog album in the style of King Crimson's 'Red'.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Batthingman (BETA) | Report this review (#166382)
Posted Friday, April 11, 2008 | Review Permalink
Andrea Cortese
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars When I bought this record the last year I was very excited at the first spins. That oppressive and dumb atmosphere filled with mighty mellotron waves (and nice flute background) is really fascinating. Unfortunately, after a year I still have great difficulty having a complete and satisfactory listening session. The album is great, no doubt, but it lacks of any variation and appears, sometimes, simplistic. There are some exquisite touches, I cannot deny. A subtle dull impression permeates the whole work, though. The album is perfect when you pick a pair of tracks for a short spin.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Andrea Cortese (BETA) | Report this review (#173267)
Posted Sunday, June 08, 2008 | Review Permalink
Finnforest
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Music for a winter night

"A Time of Day" is the 2007 release from Anekdoten, one of the most favored progressive acts of the modern era. It features moods that are mostly in the darker and chillier realms, reminding me of forests and wintery landscapes. I enjoy a good deal of the album but still find it a bit hit and miss. The first two songs (The Great Unknown and 30 Pieces) along with the last track (Prince of the Ocean) were my winners. Draped in luminous mellotron and rolling drums the opener is a choice feast with some good guitar work as well. I love the odd drum beat and pacing of "30 Pieces" which features lovely flute work in the latter portion, really some nice stuff. The closer "Prince" is captivating as well with oodles of spellbinding mood and really nice contemplative guitar work. The emotions here just hang with you, cling to you as you listen. Some of the others were considerably less interesting to me, such as "Sky About to Rain" and "Stardust and Sand." Both felt uninspired and compositionally lackluster. Another problem is the suffocating production of this CD. I can't really describe what they did here but the album seems muffled or something, as if your speakers have thick quilts over them. I would certainly recommend Anekdoten fans judge for themselves but I cannot get beyond 3 stars for this release, good moments but hardly essential listening.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Finnforest (BETA) | Report this review (#198933)
Posted Tuesday, January 13, 2009 | Review Permalink
4 stars This was my introduction to Anekdoten. Luckily for me, cause it's a great introduction to the band, not as harsh and provocative as, for example, Nucleus, this is an album which is easy to get into but at the same time really progressive. That doesn't mean that the tracks aren't growing the more you listen, the case is closer to the opposite. In the beginning the songs can seem a little bit too tame, but the more you listen, the more you see the beuty and details in the music. The band has an organic sound with philosophic and somewhat dark, abstract lyrics, and you get the feeling that every instrument in the music is living and perfectly fells into place, like all the bioforms in a large, lush forest. Strange comparation? Maybe... Liljeströms Vocals aren't the main attraction on this album, but there are no big problems with them and they fits good with the mood of the music. The introduction is great, The Great Unknown opens with a memorable guitar riff, followed by a powerful mellotron. It's really a feeling of adventure and new upcoming experiences in this track. The next one, 30 Pieces, is a more up-tempo and more unsecure. It's about chrysis in relationships, but not in the sound you are used to hear those kind of songs. The song features some nice organ during the verse and some touching flute solos. King Oblivion is more mystic in nature. The instruments are more stripped down and rely much on a hypnotysing accoustic guitar, the characteristic loud bass of Anekdoten and also some background synths that grows in strenght towards the end of the song. A Sky About To Rain begins very calm and harmonic with only an accoustic guitar and the lyrics present from the start. It starts to grow more powerful, and then explodes into a giant mellotron riff. The song just getting better and better, and when a mighty black sabbath-like guitar riff appears I am completely satisfied. A touch of psykadelia in this this song. It fades into Every Step I Take which I prefer to see as an endning of the previous song, cause it doesn't have enaugh meat on its bones to be considered an own song and works more like a bridge between the previous and the next track. It's still a nice add to the album, and you once again feel that every instrument is placed perfectly in comparation to each other. Stardust and Sand is a nice, mellow track. Even this one has a touch of psykadelia. Next song is In for A Ride, which returns to the more up-tempo style of the first track. It is somewhat weaker, but still a worthy song. Prince of the Ocean is a slower, melancholic track, even if it's not as silent as Stardust and Sand, and feels like a farewell from the album which fits very well as the last song. A very good and solid record, but it would have needed some more touch of drama and suspence to be called a masterpiece. The first half of the album is almost perfect, the second half is somewhat weaker.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Eastvillage (BETA) | Report this review (#204707)
Posted Saturday, February 28, 2009 | Review Permalink
Bonnek
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
5 stars If you want to know how much I marvel at Anekdoten's music I will simply refer you to my Gravity review and not start all over again here. A Time of Day continues in the same vein as Gravity, with some extra proggy things thrown in for good measure such as vintage prog instruments like moogs and flutes and some unexpected interludes and alterations in some of the songs.

Even so it took me months to appreciate it, I could tell a similar story to that of a reviewer above. I liked it at first but it didn't really gel until I gave it another spin in the spring of 2009. I've played it an uncountable number of times since and it still continues to blossom more intensely. That is how slow and simultaneously addictive this music works on you. So be warned and go out and buy this now. Just like a good wine this needs a few years to season.

I initially gave this 4 stars because I like the bleak beauty of Gravity even more, but since this sits definitely in the top 5% echelon of my discography 5 stars it must be. There's few contemporary bands that crawl under my skin like this.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Bonnek (BETA) | Report this review (#236945)
Posted Thursday, September 03, 2009 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars A Time Of Day is the fifth full-length studio album by Swedish progressive rock act Anekdoten. I´m pretty much a newcommer to Anekdoten´s music and have in the past couple of years worked my way through their discography from an end. The first four albums have been some great surprises for me and I´ve become quite hooked on Anekdoten. The last album Gravity (2003) is probably the most accessible album in Anekdoten´s discography and I´ve been very curious to hear what the band has cooked up for us on A Time Of Day.

The trademark dark, bass heavy and mellotron drenched progressive rock/ alternative rock sound of the predecessors is fully intact on A Time Of Day and fans of the band shouldn´t worry a bit before purchase. The vocals are as always kind of dreamy almost shoegazing in style. All songs on the album are of high quality and besides the excellent opening track The Great Unknown I´ll mention In For A Ride, A Sky About To Rain and 30 Pieces as some of the highlights. The latter contains a great guest performance by Gunnar Bergsten from Fläsket Brinner on flute. But as mentioned all songs are excellent.

The production is really of high quality too. Anekdoten´s sound on A Time Of Day is dark and organic which suits their music perfectly.

A Time Of Day is another great album by Anekdoten and it´s hard to imagine that they will ever fail to excite when listening to this music. The only complaint might be that there are few surprises on the album ( the addition of flute on 30 Pieces is one of them) but Anekdoten is obviously a band that only slowly adds new ideas to their basic foundation. But on the other hand who would want them to sound totally different? A Time Of Day fully deserves a 4 star rating ( maybe even a 4.5).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#256255)
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2009 | Review Permalink
Marty McFly
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Errors and Omissions Team
5 stars Just another of Marty's crazy reviews, but this time, we'll done it differently, because I've long awaited the time, when state of my mind will allow me to do this statement. Music of Anekdoten is weird. There's something sinister, yet interesting about their music. Heavy, too heavy feeling, like anvil hanging above your head, threatening you to fall. After all, they're Heavy Prog, or at least classified as this. We can go along, Marty and this term.

So where's the statement ? Here, all these words, whole review is epitaph to this living dead music. Yes, this music feels like hundreds of years old tomb, where parties are still held, bouncer is still here (although quite rotten) and everything seems to be fine. They're having fun, aren't they ? But there's something bad, but the more you are here (listen to this music), the more "normal" it sounds, even this feeling in the back of your mind remains.

There's not many musical acts that sounds like Anekdoten (German for something like "humorous story" ... hey, I'm not laughing, not at all, not even a little bit, this is serious business), their sound is very distinctive. Combining mellow (tron) music with distort, non-pleasant elements (and then suddenly, flute bursts in and confuse us all again) in a way that is simply impressing.

You feel like being dragged somewhere you didn't want to go at all, but when you're here, you'll at least try to enjoy it to the maximum, because Carpe Diem, life is short to be worried about bad things like doubts. Sometimes almost post-rock like style of music, when you have to feel to "feel" it. Feel for feel, makes completely sense (dude).

And meanwhile, flute still plays and treats you carefully, like when you're small and mother guides you through dangerous mine field. Umm, something like that at least.

5(-), after all, why not. This music has everything. But consider it one star less when you're not "in mood" and want just something easy-listening. Not my case most of the time, though.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Marty McFly (BETA) | Report this review (#262558)
Posted Tuesday, January 26, 2010 | Review Permalink
Rune2000
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
3 stars I bought this album during Anekdoten's gig as a supporting act for Riverside back in 2007. At the time I haven't listen to their music for almost a year so I almost felt like I owed it to myself to check out and see what the band has been up to.

The gig went well although, if the memory serves me right, I was surprised that Anekdoten didn't play a single track from Nucleus. Instead we've got a first hand introduction to the band's latest material through performances of In For A Ride, A Sky About To Rain and The Great Unknown. To tell you the truth I was so overwhelmed by Riverside's excellent performance that I only have fragmentary memories from Anekdoten's gig so I'll leave it at that and move on to the review.

I started listening to A Time Of Day the day after the gig and did so for at least two weeks. Since I missed out on Gravity I wasn't entirely sure what I was about to experience, but some of the material I've heard live did feel much more interesting in comparison to From Within.

The Great Unknown sounded like a very smooth opening track that just glides into the scene and creates the right atmosphere for the rest of the album. 30 Pieces is mostly memorable for the flute performance which brightened up the other arrangements but ultimately I just get the feeling of déjà vu whenever I hear it.

Next up is King Oblivion, a song that I really enjoy although something tells me that it's probably for all the wrong reasons. It's basically a straight forward rock-tune but with a very nice melody that gives it a just the right twist to keep me entertained. It's important to note that the arrangements on this album feel much softer and more melodic compared to what I previously have heard with A Sky About To Rain and Every Step I Take as the most prominent examples of just that.

In For A Ride is my least favorite composition off this album because I just don't see where Anekdoten was going with this peculiar performance and it really made me scratch my head when I heard it live. I can't say that I enjoy the direction that the band is going for with their later releases. I get the feeling that they are trying too much in creating a sound that would be appealing to a wider audience and in result are loosing the identity that was so prominent on Vemod and Nucleus. Still considering all the praise that A Time Of Day has received I feel as though I'm in minority.

***** star songs: King Oblivion (5:02)

**** star songs: The Great Unknown (6:22) A Sky About To Rain (6:29) Every Step I Take (3:06)

*** star songs: 30 Pieces (7:13) Stardust And Sand (4:29) In For A Ride (6:47) Prince Of The Ocean (5:30)

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Rune2000 (BETA) | Report this review (#264808)
Posted Sunday, February 07, 2010 | Review Permalink
AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
4 stars A Mellotron-soaked maelstrom of ambience

Anekdoten's latest 2007 album "A Time of Day" is a strong melancholic atmospheric work with very slow paced easy listening material mixed with bursts of dynamic creativity. Each track tends to blend into one piece so it is difficult to define any highlights for me. Having said that, '30 Pieces' is my favourite track as the time sigs and vocal style are memorable among all the instrumental sections that the album capitalises on. This track also has a killer riff in the instrumental break and some wonderful flute. There are moments of sheer tranquil bliss in the same vein as King Crimson, Transatlantic or Porcupine Tree. There are passages of deep mellotron mixed with spacey guitar embellishments, and the cymbals crash in like waves on a beach. The music transports you to an imaginary location: I can picture a forest with sun bursting through the clouds with the golden rays blessing the treetops. The soundscape is a beautiful transfixing serene texture with shades of light and dark.

The vocals are quiet and reflective such as on the acoustically driven 'A Sky About To Rain'; "How did it ever come to this, I can't pretend that nothing changed any longer... Ignore the space between the lines, don't act so surprised when you knew it all along each and every lie bursts a hole into my soul." Powerful stuff.

There is not a lot of heavy rock on this which may alienate some of the fans of earlier heavier Anekdoten. The fantastic up tempo 'In For a Ride' is as heavy as they get and even this is layered with pleasant sounding keboard motifs. The vocal style on this is similar to Gentle Giant as are the rhythm breaks. However, as in the case with Opeth's "Damnation" that did not have a shred of metal on it, this is a nice departure for the Swedish band. It takes them in a new direction with waves of gentle keyboards, focusing on duel mellotron layers, and a few detours with some heavy drum beats and solid guitar breaks. The riff on the instrumental passage of 'A Sky About to Rain' is notable as a memorable killer riff, but for the most part the mellotron orchestration dominates.

Overall Anekdoten have a real winner here and it may pleasantly surprise you as it did me. It will grow on you with its infectious melodies and solid virtuoso instrumentation. I have to award this musicianship and consistent high level of innovation 4 stars at least.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to AtomicCrimsonRush (BETA) | Report this review (#281773)
Posted Thursday, May 13, 2010 | Review Permalink
EatThatPhonebook
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Interesting return for Anekdoten, with 2007's "A Time Of Day", definitely their best album since "Nucleus".

Wonderful, but also very different: surely the band is coherent with their sound, but something in these songs say that the band has become more modernized ( all their previous album, in my opinion, where excessively influenced by 70's prog rock, which made them not as interesting for the general audiences). There still are some weak and not very convincing moments, that lowered the album's level, and that is why I'm giving it a four. However, great moments are as well present: the first couple of songs are exquisite, from the melancholy of "The Great Unknown", to the dazzling "30 Pieces", which can boast a one of the best Anekdoten melodies ever, or the utterly original sound of "King Oblivion". The "Sky about to Rain", which really makes you believe that rain will soon come down, is another gem of the album. These mentioned are the best songs, in my opinion. "Prince Of The Ocean" also has a nice melody, very calm but still mysterious.

I'm hoping for a new Anekdoten album, since I see that, after more than fifteen years, they are still able to surprise.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to EatThatPhonebook (BETA) | Report this review (#297025)
Posted Wednesday, September 01, 2010 | Review Permalink
5 stars Anekdoten are one of that delicious bands coming from Sweden in the 90s that bring back the classic symphonic feel, being a King Crimson cover band in their beginnings. Through the years they have managed to build a unique sound, identified by images of sweetness, abyss, rage and melancholy. Always sounding from the heart and soul.

Time Of A Day is their last effort to date and IMHO they have created perfect beauty in each every song, is hard to tell what's inside this album, but I can tell you it's full of passion. Mellotron and vintage keyboards are usual leading rolls, and cello and flute are simply dreamy and precious, but one can't forget the perfect rhythm section of this band. Guitars are well crafted into the songs, crystaline arpeggios or fiery reminiscent riffs from the red crimson period. Production is great and every song gets benefit from that.

30 Pieces, A Sky About To Rain, are examples of sad and melancholical beaut. Instrumental crescendo and armonic balance make EveryStep I Take so eerie. The Great Unknown has a magical vocal performance. In For A Ride reminds me of the first Camel efforts, with a great keyboard and bass work. Prince Of The Ocean and Stardust And Sand are the mellowest songs in the album and are leaded by the vocal performance and the touching lyrics.

Anekdoten clearly deserve 5 stars for this album!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to migue091 (BETA) | Report this review (#306674)
Posted Tuesday, October 26, 2010 | Review Permalink
4 stars This album marks a departure from Anekdoten's traditional Red-era King Crimson-esque sound, making it's way into territory traversed by Radiohead and Muse. Despite distancing themselves from progressive territory, Anekdoten manages to develop a new, more mature personality. Instrumentally speaking, this album is far less complex than its predecessors, given the lack of strange time signatures. Emotionally speaking the band has lifted itself away from the deep, dark, suicidal dismay into a more hopeful melancholy, particularly evident in the vocal melodies. Notably, the vocals are immensely better quality than previous Anekdoten releases. The advantages here are the development of a distinct emotional richness, while sacrificing instrumental complexity. This certainly will not appeal to hard head Red-era King Crimson fans, but will certainly appeal to those who enjoy King Crimson's more emotional side such as in 'Book of Saturday'.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to EMLonergan (BETA) | Report this review (#1191206)
Posted Wednesday, June 11, 2014 | Review Permalink

ANEKDOTEN A Time Of Day ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of ANEKDOTEN A Time Of Day


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.64 seconds