Header
Genesis - Archive 2 1976 - 1992 CD (album) cover

ARCHIVE 2 1976 - 1992

Genesis

Symphonic Prog


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
fivefishessco
3 stars Some of the live takes are very good here, notably Ripples, Deep in the Motherlode and Burning Rope. I was glad to get a decent version of some 7 inch single cuts, like Inside and Out (great Hackett track), Evidence of Autumn and Vancouver, all from the mid to late 70's heyday. Also, there are some interesting tracks like Open Door which I hadn't heard before. If you're a real Genesis fan interested in the 70's music, there is plenty here for you. If you are a fan of the later stuff, likewise. Only those who think the band stopped with the Lamb should avoid this box set completely.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#10784)
Posted Friday, March 26, 2004 | Review Permalink
Sean Trane
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Folk
2 stars I find this one of almost more interest than the first box-set, although I dislike the band from Duke on . There are some interesting tracks from the Trick and Wind era but nothing really super , and and throughout the three cds there are more "gifts"as rare and unreleased tracks are are prolific in this box - not that I enjoy outtakes from Invisible Touch - as compared to the first box. But i'm glad I could rent it , because I would have never bought it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Sean Trane (BETA) | Report this review (#10785)
Posted Tuesday, April 06, 2004 | Review Permalink
Marcelo
PROG REVIEWER
1 stars I guess that all people at this site loves progressive music. So, I guess (almost) everybody loves the true GENESIS. And, although I guess everybody knows what happened with that once incredible band, here is my humble advice in case of somebody decides to check out this horrible monster signed by... GENESIS???

This stuff from this strange band, a sort of a Phil Collins (once a great drummer) project, includes 34 songs, and just two listenable! Six per cent isn't a good treat. Except "Ripples" and "Entangled", the rest is simply the most disgusting pop. It's an expensive three-cd set, keep your money! In addition, avoid it even if would be for free.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Marcelo (BETA) | Report this review (#10786)
Posted Monday, May 03, 2004 | Review Permalink
big_room@yaho
2 stars This triple-disc dip into Genesis' vaults covers a much more commercially successful span than the first "Archive" box did, but that doesn't mean it's right for casual fans. Yes, there are some hits on this collection of non-album tracks, like the studio "Paperlate," a live "Illegal Alien" (which is at least a little fun), and a few 12" remixes of major smashes. For the most part, however, those remixes can charitably be described as "uninspiring," and the set's overwhelming emphasis on catalog material makes the remainder inappropriate for hit- seekers.

This new box is instead aimed at stalwart supporters who love the "Duke" album as much as "Invisible Touch," who get as excited about Genesis' live "The Way We Walk -- The Longs" as about their "Shorts" (so to speak), and who still crave more. For them, the sheer quantity of high-grade non-album material makes it a worthy purchase.

The live tracks are generally outstanding and thoroughly rewarding, covering previously overlooked favorites like "Your Own Special Way," "Ripples," "Man On The Corner," and even "Duke's Travels." The studio cuts are less consistently compelling, often not as impressive as, say, the studio side of "Three Sides Live" (which, disappointingly, isn't fully included here). Still, they're always graced with Genesis' engaging instrumental textures, and Tony Banks never stops being Tony Banks.

Casual fans are clearly better served by other Genesis compilations. Even devoted fans expecting outstanding, previously unheard neo-prog may be more satisfied with strong efforts by Genesis-influenced greats than with "Archive #2." Nonetheless, the remarkable live versions, the many solid studio songs, and the beguilingly candid glimpse of "Mama" as a work in progress give diehards ample reason to rejoice.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#10790)
Posted Tuesday, July 06, 2004 | Review Permalink
Chris S
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Great stuff all round. If you are an avid fan of Genesis then you will want this arrchive set as part of your collection. The track ' It's yourself' and it's similarity to the subsequent Los Endos song, this alone makes the archive set worthwhile along with Burning Rope live, Ripples and Evidence of Autumn

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Chris S (BETA) | Report this review (#10791)
Posted Wednesday, July 07, 2004 | Review Permalink
twostikks@aol
4 stars I remember waiting for this compilation to be released. Being a completist, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it for little gems like "It's Yourself", "The Day the Lights Went Out", and "Vancouver". I figured it would be nice to have ALL of Genesis' later B-sides in one nice little package, along with some interesting live stuff.

Well, was it worth the wait....? .... I guess so......

This package includes MOST of that stuff. My beef with this collection is with what was omitted from it (although I could certainly do without those 12" mixes, and that "Mama" Work in Progress is also no major attraction).

For instance, WHY in the world would they omit "Match Of The Day"? It's kind of a comical piece, almost in the Monty Python vein (Phil was a big fan!). It's an interesting tune, perhaps not essential, but I dig it. The other major omission is "Me & Virgil", a neat little story about a boy and his brother growing up and moving out west ("Go West, Young Man", again...?). Kind of heavy, again perhaps not essential, but interesting. These 2 tracks WERE/ARE part of the Genesis catalog, so why in the world would they be overlooked?

My other complaint concerns the editing of 2 tracks that WERE included. "It's Yourself" and "Submarine" both fade early, whereas when they were originally released on 45, they actually resolve. OK, Submarine is no masterpiece (Why include THAT at all, if you're not going to include "Match Of The Day"....!), but it's okay. Why the early fade? Someone ask Tony Banks; he seems to have all the answers.

At any rate, some of the live tracks are brilliant, especially "Entangled" and "Duke's Travels".

Despite my complaints, it's a good collection, with the sound quality much improved over what was available (IE; 3 Sides Live's 4th studio side, which is no longer in print). Perhaps the omissions could be rectified when they decide to remaster the Genesis catalog again.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#10792)
Posted Tuesday, July 20, 2004 | Review Permalink
Cappa@hotmail
2 stars I found myself probing this poor collection to find the good stuff... the biggest problem with this collection is the span of time is too great. 1976-1980 might work much better. Pack it with lots of "Trick" and "Wind" live bits and pieces and even studio demos... why on earth are we interested in a watered down mid 80's and early 90's boatload of garbage. Give the fans what they need... not what makes them cringe. If I don't hear and song from Invisible Touch live I don't think I'm going on any killing sprees. At least they got a few good tracks in there... Ripples & Entangled! Spot the Pigeon... ahem.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#10793)
Posted Wednesday, August 25, 2004 | Review Permalink
soundsweird
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I'll admit it; I waited and waited to buy this until I found a cheap copy at a record convention. I knew that there would be little in the way of new and undiscovered finds. But, I had to get it for the following reasons: 1. "It's Yourself"; this was the B-side to the British Import 7" single "Ripples", which I had ruined through repeated plays. This is the "missing" song from "Trick of the Tail", the one that allows "Los Endos" to finally make sense ("What's that section doing in there? It's not from any of the songs on the album!"). And it's just a great song anyway. 2. "You Might Recall"; one of the studio tracks from the original "Three Sides Live". This catchy, melodic and semi-progressive song got a lot of radio airplay at the time, and I wanted a clean-sounding version. 3. Various live versions of songs that didn't appear on other live albums. 4. Surprise! Some of the studio tracks I hadn't heard are pretty good....however, I'm glad I waited for that bargain price. Too bad the damn thing takes up so much room, but it does fit alongside Volume 1, which I don't mind making room for at all.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to soundsweird (BETA) | Report this review (#10795)
Posted Wednesday, January 12, 2005 | Review Permalink
2 stars This for me is nowhere near as essential as the first archive box set. This is the commercial money-making machine version of genesis. If you like the pop side of the band then you will probably love this this. It does contain some interesting tacks, a few b-sides are good and i must admit i quite like 'paperlate".

A set for collectors or late genesis fans only

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prog_head (BETA) | Report this review (#10797)
Posted Wednesday, March 09, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Oh, c'mon guys, it isn't that bad.... In fact its very good. The tracks fall into a couple categories: 13 Live tracks, 16 studio outtakes, 4 dance mixes and 1 work in progress recording of the band jamming. The first two categories make up the vast majority and its the reason you are even bothering to read this review. Surprisingly about the outtakes, almost all are above average songs, and many would have been quite at home on the albums they were cut from. The songs from Spot the Pigeon will be a revelation to those who haven't heard them, especially Inside and Out, a beautiful track starting with 12 string guitars and ending with an In that Quiet Earth-esque jam. Evidence of Autumn is a fine Tony Banks song cut (unfairly?) from Duke. There is even an exceptional song from the Invisible Touch sessions, the 7 minute instrumental Do the Neurotic, which gives Brazilian a run for its money in the best post-Abacab song contest. It's yourself is a fine outtake from Trick of the Tail that includes the intro to Los Endos as its outro. The live tracks are all good, and some great performances. Dukes Travel's/End is the best thing they did in the post Hackett era and is done justice with a spectacular performance. The biggest surprise: a great version of No Reply at All showing what Tony Banks did under those horns. Unfortunately, the only Bruford (or Hackett track for that matter) is the genteel Entangled, a fine song in its own right but not showcasing either of these players skills. The dance mixes are some horrible, horrible error that will haunt whoever gave them the green light to their death. Luckily, most of them are at the bunched together at the beginning of a disc, so your finger is already near the fast forward button after you press play. The work in progress version of Mama is some noodling about that presumably would come to form the middle section of the song. Not a bad listen, but I've had this set for a year and I have listened to it perhaps 4 times.

Problems: Its reputation as completing your Genesis catalogue is untrue by the lack of Match of the Day and Me and Virgil, two tracks that Phil Collins hate, but I like quite a bit. Also, it is not in any discernable order. The live tracks are mostly on disc 2, but some are on disc 3... the dance tracks are almost all on disc 3, the outtakes are split between discs 1 and 3....I mean, did they pick the track numbers out of a hat?

But, if you have a remote control on your CD player (as I do) be prepared to be blown away by what were considered throwaways for the longest time.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to beterdedthnred4 (BETA) | Report this review (#10798)
Posted Saturday, March 26, 2005 | Review Permalink
let.me.go@whi
3 stars This is not the 80's Genesis, but it's also not prog.... There are crappy 12" mixes which sound horrible and also progressive tracks (most notable the live versions of "Ripples", "Entangled", "Burning Rope" and "Duke's Travels / End"). But it's NOT a bad album!!! Listen to the B-side tracks (from "And Then There Were Three" and "Duke"). Why did they cut those wonderful tracks from the albums? The most beautiful of the B-sides is probably "Vancouver". I would have given the "ATTWT" album 5 stars if they had replaced "Follow You..." by this one! "The Day The Light Went Out" shows us another side of Genesis. It sounds a bit like the Beatles (as other Genesis songs also do, for example "A Trick Of The Tail", "The Chamber Of 32 Doors", "Lilywhite Lilith"), and, even if it's a pop song, it would have sounded good on "ATTWT" or "Wind"! The Duke B-sides are real gems. I always wondered why they had not put "Evidence Of Autumn" on Duke instead of "Misunderstanding" or "Turn It On Again"! "Open Door"? Very good song. "Submarine" is one of the "Abacab" B-sides which would have been a good closer. Compare it to the silly "Another Record".....! It's a pity that "Match Of The Day" or "Me And Virgil" aren't included, just because Phil didn't like them anymore! ("Me And Virgil", in my opinion, is the best track on the "3 x 3" EP!) But "It's Yourself" is another gem, and "On The Shoreline" shows us they still had the old Genesis power in the "WeCan't Dance" times! The tracks from "Spot The Pigeon" (the INCLUDED tracks, becuase "Match Of The Day" is also a "Pigeon" track) are good, "Pigeons" is a ditty like "That's All", but it's still much better than later songs. "Inside And Out" is another reason to buy this one. Just listen to it....incredible!!!

the Sorcerer

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#35247)
Posted Sunday, June 05, 2005 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars As prog lover actually I reluctant (very!) to purchase this box set. But, as Genesis fan since seventies, I feel like being obliged to spend my money for the band that I love. And so I did. It's good to put in my CD shelf as on box set altogether with other box sets of legendary bands like ELP, King Crimson, YES, and also Genesis Archive vol. 1. Is that the only value for this box set? Not really, actually. Of course I sometime spin the CD Two that contains a previously performed live track "Ripples". What a great live record. "Ripples" from "A Trick of The Tail" album is one of my favorites Genesis tracks because I like the segment that features keyboard and howling guitar alternate work in the middle of the track. And now, it's performed live. So, I enjoy it! The other tracks that I enjoy are: "Burning Rope", "Entangled" and "Duke's Travels / Duke's Ends". This box set also contains two tracks from "Spot The Pigeons" EP. Keep on proggin' ..!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#44076)
Posted Wednesday, August 24, 2005 | Review Permalink
NJprogfan
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I was given this boxset as a Christmas gift back in 2000, (I was actually hoping to get Vol.1!). Upon hearing it for the first time I was extremely disappointed. I really didn't need to hear anything that came after DUKE, even if it was live. Back then it would have gotten a 2-star rating. But 5 years later I can honestly give it a solid three stars, and its mainly for the live tracks from the early tours, (Trick of the Tail, And Then There Were Three & Duke tours). I enjoy hearing "Deep In The Motherlode", "Ripples", "Burning Rope", and "The Lady Lies". But I especially like the live version of "Duke's Travels", the last song to have that Banks wall of sound. Of the many b-sides and other tracks, "The Day The Light Went Out" is my favorite. Least would have to be all the 12" singles, especially "Tonight, Tonight, Tonight", godawful! The good outweigh the bad on this set, so for my money, the live tracks make up for the whole thing. Buy it if you can get it on the cheap go for it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to NJprogfan (BETA) | Report this review (#50130)
Posted Wednesday, October 05, 2005 | Review Permalink
Zac M
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars This is a three disc set of post-Gabriel Genesis material. Some people would despise ever owning such a thing, but I find myself enjoying some if it. In fact, I got mine for fifteen dollars used. I thought I was getting a great deal, and after listening to the whole set, I noticed that there are obvious high points and low points. In my opinion, this is a true treat for the fans of post-Gabriel Genesis or those wanting to discover deepcuts and live tracks by one of prog's most prolific and controversial bands. Now, on to the review.

The first disc is a set of deep cuts, unreleased tracks, singles, etc... collected on to one cd. The "We Can't Dance" tracks aren't very good. I mean really, who wants to hear a 12" version of "We Can't Dance?" I'm sure someone does, but it really is not my cup of tea. "On the Shorline" is a pretty good song considering it came from the same sessions. I like it more than most of the tracks on the "We Can't Dance" album. I wish I could say the same thing for "Hearts on Fire," but in my opinion, it's pop garbage. The "Abacab" songs again are overall pretty poppy, although I find myself enjoying "Naminanu" and to some exten "Submarine." "Naminamu," although it is repetitive, is one of the stronger tracks. One track from the "Invisible Touch" sessions really stands out. "Do the Neurotic" is an incredible instrumental that reminds one of "The Brazilian," but is much longer and better. It is the best track on the album. The other two songs come from "Duke" and "Wind and Wuthering" sessions, but are just ok by me.

The second disc has many live tracks performed during the Collins era. I really enjoy the live version of "Dreaming While You Sleep"; to me, it is much better than the album version. "Deep in the Motherlode" is a track that is full of energy. You can tell that the band was really enjoying performing this song live, and the audience seems to enjoy it as well. The two instrumentals, "Duke's Travels" and "The Brazilian," are great as usual. Other noteables tracks are "Burning Rope," "Ripples," and "Entangled." Honestly, I could do without the rest, although "Illegal Alien" is an extremely catchy song.

The third disc is a hodge podge of 12" versions of hit songs, some more live tracks, more deep cuts (B-sides, singles, etc...), and Mama, presented as a work in progress. The twelve inch versions here are much more enjoyable than the "We Can't Dance" 12". Some of these "remixes" are even proggier than the original album cuts. I'm not to fond of the live releases on this disc. They seem somewhat random, and in my opinion, are not performed as well as those on the second disc. The B-sides and singles aren't even that good this time around. "It's Yourself" is the only real stand-out among them. The last track Mama (work in progress) is actually quite enjoyable. It and the 12"s are the best tracks on the third disc. The third disc is definitely the least representative and interesting.

This box set is good for Genesis completists or those who are fans of the Collins era. I find myself enjoying some of the tracks, but in the end, this set is for the completist, and that is why the set gets two stars. This is for the collectors and fans (of Collins Genesis that is ).

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Zac M (BETA) | Report this review (#53553)
Posted Wednesday, October 26, 2005 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars There are some 12 inchers here, but you won't listen to them as a rule! .

The second of the "Archive" box sets covers the post-Gabriel period which saw Genesis gradually move away from the fine progressive rock they had created while he was on board. Like it or not though, it also covers the most commercially successful period for the band, and thus this collection will therefore probably have a far wider appeal than volume one. The only album recorded after the period covered by this set was the 1997 Album "Calling all stations", and of course by that time Collins too had left.

It is unfortunate that the compilers chose not to present the tracks here chronologically, as it would have been significant to hear the way their sound mutated from "A trick of the tail" to "Abacab" and "Invisible touch" before the more reassuring finale with "We can't dance". What we end up with is an eclectic mix of previously unreleased recordings, non-album tracks, early studio versions, remixes, and live versions.

The rejects include those studio tracks included on the fourth side of some releases of "Three sides live", with the exception of "Me and Virgil", which was deemed by the band members even now to be unworthy of inclusion. Also included is the excellent "Inside and out" from the "Spot the pigeons" EP, but interestingly not "Match of the day" from that EP, which the band also considered sub-standard, even for this collection! "Inside and out" was recorded early in the life of the Gabriel-less Genesis, and would have fitted in well on either "Trick of the tail" or "Wind and wuthering". The first two tracks on this collection are from the "We can't dance" sessions. "On the shoreline" is a slightly faster "Mama", while "Hearts on fire" is throw away funky pop. We then jump about between 1980 and 1986. While "Evidence of autumn" is a "Duke" outtake, it would have been very much at home on "An then there were three". It is one of the few highlights of disc 1. Why on earth the reasonable instrumental "Submarine" was left off the dire "Abacab" album is a real mystery. At worst, it would have made for a reassuring instrumental break during one of the mediocre songs on that album.

The second disc consists entirely of live performances recorded between 1976 and 1992, the tracks having all originally appeared in studio format on the albums from that period. It is perhaps easy to forget that Genesis did not turn their backs on their prog roots the minute Gabriel left (in fact, it could be said that he was the first to turn). "A trick of the tail" and "Wind and Wuthering" had many fine prog tracks, and even after that, "And then there were three" and "Duke" had their moments. The live versions of "Ripples", "Duke's travels", "Burning rope", and "Entangled" which are included here, are fine reminders of that golden age. "Dreaming while you sleep" from "We can't dance" also shows how they came full circle (or at least 270 degrees!) on their final Collins era album. Steve Hackett is only present on one of the live tracks, "Ripples" (which also features Bill Bruford on drums), and only a couple of the studio tracks are from the time when he was still in the band.

There are several 12" single versions of more familiar tracks, such as "I can't dance", "Invisible touch" and "Tonight ,tonight, tonight". These add nothing to the pop driven originals, only serving to remind us of the depths this once great band sank to. It could be argued that the fact that these tracks lend themselves so readily to the 12" remix treatment is evidence enough of how far they strayed.

Apart from three of these 12" versions, disc 3 has a further three entirely disposable live tracks from 1980-81 and some older, much more interesting outtakes. "Pigeons" was the other track on the aforementioned "Match of the day" EP. "Open door" is a Mike Rutherford song very much in the vein of "Your own special way", while "The day the light went out" is a rather striking Banks composition from the "ATTW3" sessions. The excitement of finding an outtake from the "Trick of the tail" sessions rapidly evaporates as it becomes clear why "It's yourself" was omitted form the album. It is not entirely without value though, as part of the latter half went on to become the intro to "Los Endos".

The final track is a "Work in progress" version of "Mama". The lyrics had yet to be written, so Collins is improvising sounds where the vocals will eventually go. The track is interesting in that it gives an insight into how Genesis went about developing their music, but at nearly 11 minutes, it becomes tedious.

The two Genesis Archives sets are split neatly between the Gabriel and Collins led eras, thus this second volume takes us from the first post Gabriel album "A trick of the tail", up to Collin's swansong "We can't dance". Neither this, not volume one should be mistaken for anthologies as neither contains any studio material which has previously appeared on the band's official albums. They are therefore intended for fans/collectors, and not for those who are new to the music of this once seminal band.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#78123)
Posted Sunday, May 14, 2006 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars I was quite reluctant to listen to this triple CD effort. While the previous boxset was gorgeous (at least for three CD's out of four), I was very doubtful about the need to release another of the genre to cover the period 1976- 1992. This one not being the best (to say the least). I must admit that after having listening to it carefully, it is a honest compilation.

Disc one contains outakes tracks from several album sessions and some B-side material.

Some numbers are very poor like "Paper Late", "I'd Rather" or "Naminanu". The extended version of "I Can't Dance" is also questionable: the album version was already dull, so an extended 7 minutes one is even more boring.

Some are average like "Do" (a rocking instrumental) or "On The Shoreline" (from the "We Can't Dance" sessions). Actually this song is above par with this album and I do not understand why it did not make it. Probably not commercial enough ! "Spot The Pigeon", the title track of an EP and a tentative hit (?) single is OK. The last ones in this category are "Heart On Fire" and "Feeding" which are the usual Collins oriented stuff.

Other songs are good to even very good :"Evidence of Autumn" from the "Duke" sessions (already released on the US version of "Three Sides Live" - this is also the case for "Paper Late" by the way). "Inside" comes from the "Wind" sessions and has flavour of "Your Own Special Way" : it is less poppy, and very, very quiet). My favourite track of this CD is "Submarine". This B-side is a slow instrumental and almost noinaudible during two minutes : you really have to turn up the volume to max. to hear it, but then it nicely builds crescendo and turns out to be very symphonic.

Disc two : like on "Archives - Volume I", we have a live CD. This is the one I prefer on this compilation.

I was quite happy to hear two tracks from "And then they Were Three". The band usually skipped this album from their live sets (with the exception of its supporting tour which can be heard on the unoffical "Follow You, Follow Me" album recorded at Chicago Uptown Theatre - October 13, 1978). These are excellent versions of "Burning Rope" and "Deep In The Motherlode". "Trick " is represented with two quiet tracks "Ripples" and "Entangled". This is understandable since most of the other ones are featured on "Seconds Out". One can only regret that the best song out of it "Mad Man Moon" has never been played live (this information is available on the Genesis official web-site). But they don't tell us why !

On the other hand, I was dispointed that there is only one song from "Wind "(and not the best one) : "Your Own Special Way". I know that they played "Eleventh Earl of Mar" as well as "All in a Mouse's Night" during their 1978 tour. This would have been a better choice.

From "Duke", the rendition of "Duke's Travels, Duke's End" is absolutely fantastic. The highlight of disc two, for sure. The last three numbers come from what I consider their weakest albums, so there is no big deal here.

Disc three is the weakest from these "Archives" (like disc four was for "Archives I"). A lot of 12" versions of poor songs from their less creative studio career. Some interesting moments though : A live version of "The Lady Lies" from "And Then...", an extended demo of "Mama" with a keyboard solo at the end (this is the only unreleased studio material here) . This version is quieter than the one we know, and honestly I do prefer this version. "The Day The Light Went Out" is quite rocking and very good for a B-side, sounds like it comes out of "And Then..."). Same applies to "Vancouver". The most interesting one (IMO) is "It's Yourself" : it seems to be an earlier version of "Los Endos" but with vocals during the first three minutes and a very quiet end (a bit in the style of "Dancing Out") ! I will rate this effort three stars.

It is with a lot of emotion that this closes my reviews for Genesis. I reviewed a total of twenty-four works. I have done this in the course of the last two months (writing a lot more reviews from other beloved bands which will be posted soon). I spent some fantastic moments listening again to some of their work. As you have noticed in my reviews, I am the old fan type (from "Trespass" to "Duke"). I have suffered a lot with their later work. In the early seventies, Genesis was my preferred band and probably one of the most influent of the prog rock genre of all time. Thanks a million Mike, Peter, Phil, Steve, Tony and to a lesser extent Jonathan, Anthony and John. You were integrant part of my life when I was a teenager and I remind this period of my life with great emotions. Again, thank you very, very, very much.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#105043)
Posted Sunday, December 31, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars If one can enjoy latter-day Genesis, then this is a collection worth having. The 12" versions are superb, really superior to the regular versions, harder and longer, slightly more progressive. They are less polished however (obviously), cluttered and if you don't like the originals at all, you will only be annoyed by the roughness of their 12" forms. I sometimes put the Invisible Touch 12" versions in a playlist (on my PC) with the rest of Invisible Touch minus the pop songs In Too Deep, Anything She Does, and Throwing it All Away. I believe that if that album was more like this, with say, one more good track, it would be considered a very good album by progressive fans (who are irked by even Follow You Follow Me appearing on ATTWT), so as you can see, the 12" versions interest me significantly. Other gems are the live versions, which are really interesting, the Dukes Travels being a really fun listen. The un-released Paperlate is actually a decent pop tune, it is amazing they didn't put it on perhaps Abacab or something, (I don't know when they recorded it) as it is a odd dig at Genesis fans, being a lyric on Selling England by the Pound "paperlate cried a voice in the crowd." Three point six or so, really, but worth owning as a Genesis fan, especially if you have a computer and can dissect it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to mcgoverntj (BETA) | Report this review (#127434)
Posted Tuesday, July 03, 2007 | Review Permalink
progaardvark
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars The second Archive box set released by Genesis covers the Phil Collins era of the group. As you can imagine, it's a mixed bag of stuff; some of it great, some of it just plain awful. The best stuff of the whole collections is the second disc containing unreleased live material. Of particular note are Duke's Travels, Burning Rope, and Ripples. The first and third discs are mainly unreleased material, although some of the tracks were previously available on Three Sides Live and the Spot the Pigeon EP. In many ways, this is basically what a fan would expect in a box set which is also why it isn't always necessarily a wise purchase unless you are a die-hard fan. Much of the unreleased material is forgettable (like the awful 12-inch single version of Invisible Touch). Some of it is slightly interesting. For collectors and die-hard fans only. Two stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to progaardvark (BETA) | Report this review (#127970)
Posted Monday, July 09, 2007 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
2 stars Do the neurotic

This three disc set complies some otherwise unavailable Genesis songs, the most interesting being the non-album b-sides. The first disc is dominated by these and it starts with On The Shoreline, the b-side to the I Can't Dance single. This song is 100% We Can't Dance in both sound and quality, it sounds just like the songs on that album and it is not any worse or any better than an average We Can't Dance track. Hearts On Fire, on the other hand, which was the b-side to Jesus He Knows Me, is a much lesser song which would have been a sore thumb on the album (which has its bad moments). This one sounds more like a Phil Collins solo number, which is hardly a compliment! You Might Recall is an older song and was originally released on the 3x3 EP in 1982 together with Paperlate (also featured in this box set) and Me and Virgil (not featured here). Both Paperlate and You Might Recall are dispensable and the former is incredibly trite!

Evidence Of Autumn is a good song that was the b-side to Misunderstanding single from the Duke album. The song is very much in the style of Duke. Prog it is not, though. Do The Neurotic is an instrumental that originally appeared as the b-side to the Land Of Confusion single from the Invisible Touch album and it is in the style of The Brazilian from that album. This one is at least semi-progressive and quite decent with nice guitar and keyboard work. I'd Rather Be You quickly brings us down to earth, this is possibly the worst of the songs here even though the competition for that position is fierce! This song first appeared as the b-side to In Too Deep also from Invisible Touch, though it sounds more like an outtake from Abacab. Naminau is from the Abacab days, and it is another stinker; extremely repetitive and very annoying.

Inside And Out was one of the three tracks from the Spot The Pigeon EP from 1978 and is thus the first track here that goes back to the Steve Hackett-era and as such it is the first track here that might interest the Prog purist. It is a nice song, but very far behind the Trick Of The Tail and Wind And Wuthering material. The other song from Spot The Pigeon that appears here is Pigeons, but strangely that one is relegated to the third disc. The third track from that EP, Match Of The Day, is not featured at all. Feeding The Fire once again brings us back to the commercial period of Invisible Touch, this one was also a b-side to Land Of Confusion. The first disc is rounded out by an unnecessary 12" version of I Can't Dance and the floating instrumental Submarine, which was the b-side to Man On The Corner from the Abacab album.

The second disc consists entirely of live recordings of familiar songs from various sources. As such there is not much interest in it, with several other live albums out there. It sounds rather incoherent given that it is not a single concert, but songs recorded over a period spanning from the late 70's to the early 90's. Some nice moments, but hardly essential given what is available elsewhere.

The third disc contains further unnecessary 12" mixes of familiar songs and a few further live recordings. With the exception of Mama (Work In Progress), the rest of disc three holds further non-album studio recordings. This is very welcome with some of the most interesting selection of the box coming at the end. Open Door was the b-side to Duchess in 1980 and is unsurprisingly rooted in the sound of Duke. The Day The Light Went Out and Vancouver were both b-sides to the Many Too Many single from 1978 and is as such similar in sound to the And Then There Were Three album. However, they are far behind the album tracks in quality. Still nice, though. Then there is the aforementioned Pigeons and a track called It's Yourself that apparently is a Trick Of The Tale outtake. This one was originally intended to come just before Los Endos and you can clearly recognize the parts towards the end that were used in Los Endos. This is an interesting outtake, but it is wholly understandable that it was left off the brilliant Trick Of The Tale album (my personal favourite Genesis album!).

While this archive release might be a goldmine for hard core fans, it is really only of major interest to just such fans. For me this is a great way to get hold of the band's non-album b-sides that otherwise would require me to search out and buy many individual singles. Nothing here is essential, but surely a nice addition for fans and collectors.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#258851)
Posted Friday, January 01, 2010 | Review Permalink
Matti
COLLABORATOR
Neo-Prog Team
2 stars This one's a very mixed bag indeed. Covering the Phil Collins- era of the band on three CD's and collecting only tracks not included on the albums, it consists of three kinds of tracks: 1) live recordings not included on Seconds Out, Three Sides Live or The Way We Walk, 2) studio outtakes from album sessions (some have appeared as B-sides or otherwise, which sadly isn't indicated in the info), 3) maxi-single versions of hits such as 'Land of Confusion' or 'I Can't Dance'. Fortunately the latter department is not big. But with these principles it's clear that this set is designed for fans of the Collins-era Genesis.

The essays are very informative about the band history during the time, with several well- known prog musicians passing by. It just annoyed me how they seem to take commercial success as proof of artistic success as well. For example: Invisible Touch is great because it had so many hits. Ouch! Another annoying thing is the total lack of logic in the running order, except that the second disc is completely live recordings. It would have been nicer to have a chronological order, for the studio material at least.

I have never been a fan for live recordings. If I have the song as the studio version, I usually don't much care about getting a live version of it. In the case of Genesis that's exactly so (but of course Seconds out is interesting for including Gabriel-era music with new lead vocalist! In this box however there are no tracks pre-dating Gabriel's departure). That's not to say these live selections wouldn't be OK, and naturally in many cases they make better listening than B- sid or left-out tracks. No surprise that I enjoyed 'Entangled' and 'Ripples' the most in the live department. Sadly the Hackett-era (76-77) offered quite a little to be collected here, studio or live.

My curiosity was mainly on the tracks I hadn't heard before. Perhaps surprisingly the most interesting ones are fusion-like instrumentals dating around Abacab (1981). 70's tracks originally appeared on Spot The Pigeon EP were not all as good as I hoped. All in all, this is a clear case of "Collectors/fans only". To those preferring Collins-era to Gabriel-era.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Matti (BETA) | Report this review (#297244)
Posted Friday, September 03, 2010 | Review Permalink
Guillermo
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This 3 CD Boxed Set is good, but, with Genesis increasingly becoming a more Pop Rock influenced band since 1978, the contrasts between the tracks are more clear. So, I divide the tracks in three groups:

The Live Tracks. For me, the most interesting thing in this release, with the tracks recorded between1976 and 1980 being the most interesting. It is good to have very good live versions with good mixings of "Entangled", "Deep in the Motherlode", Ripples", "Burning Rope", "Duke`s Travels" and "The Lady Lies". The live tracks from 1981 are still good, despite being Pop influenced songs ("Not Reply at All" and "Man on the Corner"). But from the 1984 live tracks, only "It`s Gonna Get Better" is good, with "Illegal Alien" being a disposable track as I consider it as the worst song they composed. The live tracks recorded during the "Invisible Touch" tour, "The Brazilian" and "Your Own Special Way", are not very interesting, despite the latter has a string arrangement. Why they didn`t release a live version from 1977 instead? From the "We Can`t Dance" tour, there is "Dreaming While You Sleep", which I think that it is the same version which was released in the "Never a Time " CD single in 1993, and it is a good version.

The B-sides and tracks taken from E.Ps. Again, the most interesting for me are the songs recorded between 1976 and 1980 , but again, the tracks recorded in 1981 are still good. Among the best are: "It`s Yourself" (1976), "Pigeons" and "Inside and Out" (from the "Spot the Pigeon" E.P., 1977),"The Day the Light Went Out" and "Vancouver" (1978), "Open Door" and "Evidence of Autumn" (1980). The tracks recorded during the "Abacab" album sesions (1981) are still good ("You Might Recall",and "Paperlate", both from the "3 x 3" E.P., and "Submarine" and "Naminanu"). I still think that "Match of the day" (from the "Spot the Pigeon" E.P.,1977) and "Me and Virgil" (from the "3 x 3" E.P., 1981) could have been better choices to be included in this Box Set (but were not included as the band members didn`t like them anymore then) than the inclusion of the tracks recorded during the "Invisible Touch" ("Do the Neurotic", I`d Rather Be you", "Feeding the Fire") and "We Can`t Dance" album sessions ("On the Shoreline", "Hearts of Fire"), all of them very Pop tracks which show why they were released as B-sides of singles.

The less interesting tracks in this Box Set are "Mama (Work in Progress)" and the inclusion of the 12" remixes of "Invisible Touch", "Land of Confusion", "Tonight, Tonight, Tonight" and "I Can`t Dance", which could be only interesting for the most "obsessive fans" of their Pop years. I think that instead of including all these tracks it could have been better to include more live tracks, like the 1976 tour version of "Dance on a Volcano" with Bill Bruford, more live tracks from their 1977 ,1978 and 1980 tours, like "Eleventh Earl of Mar", "One for the Vine", "Your Own Special Way", "All in a Mouse`s Night", "In that Quiet Earth/ Afterglow", "Inside and Out" , "Say it`s Alright, Joe", etc.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Guillermo (BETA) | Report this review (#303534)
Posted Tuesday, October 12, 2010 | Review Permalink
lazland
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars The second of three official boxsets issued by the band, this one covers the Phil Collins era from Trick Of A Tail onwards, and, as such, invites tons of hostility and inevitable comments as to the fact that "they're not prog any more".

Well, nonsense. This boxset is too large for a detailed review of each and every track, but there are some progressive rock gems hidden in here, and, yes, some damn good commercial rock as well.

As with the first boxset, it is the live releases which attract the most interest, and, in the main, the most enjoyment. With the exceptions of No Reply At All, one of their most forgettable compositions, and Illegal Alien, their worst composition ever, there is not a bum track included. When, for instance, you listen to this version of Dreaming While You Sleep, you come to the realisation that here, in the 1990's, was still a huge symphonic prog force. It's Gonna Get Better sounds fantastic live, and the classics just roll off the tongue. Tracks such as Ripples, The Brazilian, The Lady Lies, and the symphonic tour de force that was Duke's Travels all make you sit up and notice as to how wide ranging and important this band were.

The 12 inch versions of the more pop directed tracks all add quite a lot to what were, to these ears, enjoyable tracks anyway. Dare I say it, they add a progressive element to all?

Lastly, there are also some previously discarded or obscure gems included on this, as with Archives One, except I think these are far better, although, of course, this is also due to the infinitely superior production utilised as compared to the schoolboy era. Particular highlights are Its Yourself, Vancouver, and Evidence Of Autumn.

This is not a boxset that should be purchased solely by completionists. It is something I think all Genesis fans will take huge pleasure in listening to, although the price of it might put a number off.

Four stars for this, from an unashamed Collins era fan.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to lazland (BETA) | Report this review (#351582)
Posted Monday, December 13, 2010 | Review Permalink
3 stars Genesis Archive #2 is a very good box set. The sound is very good and most of the tracks are well chosen.

There are, however, some inconsistancies. Match of the Day from the Spot the Pigeon EP is missing as well as many of the live cuts from the 1980s that were on 12" singles and flip sides of 45s, as well as the extended versions of Mama and Its Gonna Get Better. Where are all of the Ray Wilson B- sides? Yet they included four 12" remixes from the 80s. If this was supposed to put out all the released materiael in one package, then they have failed.

What they have here, though, is very good. The live cuts are excellent choices, especially Ripples, the Brazillian, and Duke's Travels. It's wonderful to have Inside and Out and On the Shoreline on CD finally.

What this set has is quite good, although I could easily have lived without the 12" remixes. Because of that, I rate this one four stars. Recommended for Genesis completists.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to wehpanzer (BETA) | Report this review (#904108)
Posted Friday, February 01, 2013 | Review Permalink

GENESIS Archive 2 1976 - 1992 ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of GENESIS Archive 2 1976 - 1992


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.44 seconds