Header
Anathema - Eternity CD (album) cover

ETERNITY

Anathema

Experimental/Post Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
philou295@yah
5 stars My favourite Anathema's. Because it's singular,original, spelling, very ethereal, both spacy and so beautifully dark. Songs are really "progressive", they often move from a certain quietness to a tenebrous apocalytic doom-metallic atmosphere ( just listen to the powerful end of "Eternity part III") . A monument of atmospheric doom-metal, recommended for any fans of melancholic metal or progressive music with a touch of Pink Floyd.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#30107)
Posted Monday, May 24, 2004 | Review Permalink
4 stars This really is a great album. It starts with a peaceful piano/guitar instrumental. The album often reminded me of Pink Floyd. It contains great guitar solo's which really touched me. If you like Prog Metal/Neo Prog Rock I'd recommend it to anyone.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ---Progman--- (BETA) | Report this review (#30106)
Posted Tuesday, June 01, 2004 | Review Permalink
Knuhsten_30@h
5 stars Anathema still got inspiration, the way they have evolved from "The Silent Enigma"/"Pentecost" is amazing. The album is a reflection of how theyve evolved and I love the evolution. I get really emotional listening to the album.

The best track(According to ME!) on the album is "The Beloved" the Energy that Anathema is so good at expressing in their acoustic guitar is amazing, I get filled with adrenaline to this song.

I have Never in my life hear anything so original like this album, it has it all.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#30108)
Posted Thursday, June 02, 2005 | Review Permalink
3 stars This is a very nice melancholic metal album but it's far from being a five-star-masterpiece. Anathema has improved a lot since their early days. With "Eternity" the death-doom metal is gone and in place we have some nice dark melodic metal, their sound being a metallic and slower version of the great band Fields of the Nephilim.

All in all not a milestone of progressive music, but a nice listen though.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Prosciutto (BETA) | Report this review (#42410)
Posted Thursday, August 11, 2005 | Review Permalink
fystikis07@ya
4 stars Actually,this album is not progressive,it's alternative.It's just something different, but not progressive..Anyway,it's one of my favourites of Anathema.This english band which I have seen live in Athens, proves that emotions does not only mean love..That's a cliche for today's mainstream.This album has a fantastic atmosphere.It connects sorrow with rage and when you understand that you'll go crazy.You will listen to it all the time.There are 12 awesome songs in this one.If I could say my favourites,I'd say:Etenity I,Eternity III,Angelica,Suiicide Veil..No, [%*!#] it!They are all great songs.There is also a cover on Pink Floyd's "Hope".Excellent!!Anyway,if you like atmospheric and depressing songs, just buy this one.If you are more of a happy guy who listens to power metal,you will surely hate it..

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#44346)
Posted Friday, August 26, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars 1996's christmas present for me was this highly anticipated album (after I read a lot of review stating how much this album would blow up the previous releases of the band), and sure I was not deceived. This album is simply outstanding. The vocalist took singing lessons for the album and that's the main improvement: no more growls! The music, slow, dark and beautiful, lurks more and more toward Pink Floyd.

The album starts really smoothly with the beautiful instrumental "Sentient" (where you can see the influence of keyboardist Les Smith) and the ballad "Angelica" before things start to warm up. "The Beloved" is a very powerful song, fast paced with heavy guitar riffs. Then comes the masterpiece trilogy "Eternity", where you can recognize the songwriting of Duncan Patterson: "Part I" is a tortured song, a mix of pain and sorrow with awesone music and lyrics; "Part II" is an instrumental that is so beautiful words can't describe it; "Part III" starts again very quietly before the band unleashes an unexpected guitar storm at the end of the song. Other songs on the album incude "Hope", a Pink Floyd cover (though I cannot remember that song on any Pink Floyd album), "Suicide Veil", another outstanding slow and dark song (here you can hear clearly the Pink Floyd influences), "Radiance" (slow and dark again) and "Far Away" (another classic written by D. Patterson). "Cries On The Wind" is the only weak song on the album (without that song, this album would be in my top 3 of all time). Finally, the original release ends with an instrumental, "Ascension", in the vein of "Pentecost III" or "Black Orchid" on previous albums. The digipack version contains two more tracks: acoustic versions of "Far Away" and "Eternity Part III" (nice additions).

Rating: 91/100

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to zaxx (BETA) | Report this review (#64719)
Posted Saturday, January 14, 2006 | Review Permalink
aapatsos
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal and Heavy Prog Teams
5 stars This was one of the first albums I ever delved into... I first read about it in a review of a magazine 10 years ago which described it in a very emotional way, not making any comments on the music, the guitars, vocals etc. I was pretty impressed I must say.

The music: Anathema have evolved from their latest 'Silent Enigma' and follow a more 'melodic' path in this record. The heaviness is still there though. A good description of the music could be 'melodic doom/atmospheric' metal. Of course there are several points were the Floyd influences are obvious and the keyboards bring this feeling. There is also a cover of Gilmour's 'Hope' (for many years I thought it was a Floyd cover) which is excellent.

The emotion: The strong asset of this record is the combination of the music with the lyrics. If you start 'getting' into the meaning of the words, it is almost inevitable to fall in love with this album. Issues about life and death, human existence etc. are very well 'presented' and make this record a 'painful' journey...

It is still (and probably will always be) Anathema's best release. Hint: Don't treat this album as a common release, try to search 'deep' in it, you won't regret it. Regarding it's progressiveness, I can't tell if you can consider it prog or not. For me it's definitely a masterpiece of atmospheric music. Everything seems perfect, from the cover to the last note. Highly recommended.

Angelic...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to aapatsos (BETA) | Report this review (#77610)
Posted Tuesday, May 09, 2006 | Review Permalink
4 stars One of my favourite albums, Eternity shows Anathema moving away from their early doom sound to an amalgam of progressive rock, alternative and metal, whilst retaining an oppressive atmosphere. Naturally, this move alienated a lot of their early fans but, given the lineup changes, a change of some description was probably inevitable.

My favourite tracks on the album are The Beloved, Eternity Pt I, Hope, and Cries on the Wind. The instrumentals are great as well. Contrary to popular belief, Hope's neither a Pink Floyd track nor a David Gilmour one (though he did co-write the song), but a track from the Roy Harper/Jimmy Page album, Whatever Happened to Jugula? Harper himself provided the opening narration for this version.

Their move away from doom continues through their following albums, though they still end up playing gigs with other metal bands, which is no longer really their best audience.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to johnafirth (BETA) | Report this review (#79396)
Posted Friday, May 26, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars Every once in a while there comes along an album that makes a deeply significant impact on you. An album that sums up the utter power of music. While it plays, all you can do is sit there, and listen...allowing every note in every song to completely consume your entire being. All the joys and sorrows, all the pain and laughter, the beauty and darkness of life flashes in front of you at once, and leaves you breathless. If, in fact, a recorded volume of music can indeed make such an impact upon a listener that it significantly alters, or even changes, one's life, then Eternity is such an album.

The crushing Doom Anathema had been known for now seemed worlds away. Indeed, it was hard for me to get my head around the fact that this was the same band that wrote songs like "Under A Veil (Of Black Lace)", "All Faith Is Lost" and "Nocturnal Emissions". There was a certain maturity to these compositions that transcended genre. Album intro "Sentient" is a beautiful introduction, heartfelt guitar melodies over softly tinkled piano which then gives way to the fragile yet painful beauty of "Angelica". Vincent's voice had grown leaps and bounds from his vocal debut performance on The Silent Enigma. Throughout the entire album, he sings every word as if it was his last, unquestionably one of the most emotional vocal performances ever recorded. There is an abundance of keyboards here, and the music overall is less sonically heavy as before, with the band concentrating on mood and atmosphere instead of crushing weight. However, I hold this album to be much "heavier" than anything the band had done before it. Emotionally heavy. It is here where Anathema's lyrics really began to be as important as the music, so honest and from the heart, you know they dug deep to get this out. Their cover of David Gilmour's (Pink Floyd) "Hope" sits perfectly in the center of the album, flowing along as though Anathema could have written it themselves. The Pink Floyd comparisons came in droves at this time, but given that they are admittedly a major influence, I hold Anathema to be much better than Floyd. Much more personal, emotional, and yes, even better songwriters. Testaments to this are the despondent "Suicide Veil," the graceful splendor of "Radiance," "Far Away"'s nearly psychedelic spirit which then sees the band launch into a rocking ending, and 'Cries On The Wind", an ode to the pits of despair. "Ascension" lifts the desolate atmosphere up to the heavens and ends this journey, as a fallen soul taking one last look at the sky.

Eternity was the beginning of a new era for Anathema. Always having been synonymous with feelings of despair and sorrow, they still possess these feelings, but have found a much more fitting and appropriate way to get the message across. While experiencing this masterpiece, one cannot help but ask the questions we may never find answers for. Questions of life and of death. Anathema poses one of their own...."Do you think we're forever?". We are all destined for eternity, and Anathema's provided our soundtrack

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to bleak (BETA) | Report this review (#85982)
Posted Sunday, August 06, 2006 | Review Permalink
Mellotron Storm
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars This record is the start of a new era for ANATHEMA. Gone for good are the Death Metal vocals, and they would become more PINK FLOYD sounding.The best song for me on the record is "Hope" which was co-written by David Gilmour and is a cover from the Roy Harper and Jimmy Page record called HARPER AND JAGULA. The monologue to open the song was also done by Roy Harper. I really like the guitar line in this one. Duncan Patterson's finger prints are all over this album from the lyrics to the excellent bass playing. Compared to the albums that follow this is a little dingy sounding and the vocals to the songs themselves just aren't as good. Maybe it's because this is the transition album.

The first song "Sentient" has some nice piano and guitar, and ends with some vocal sampling sounding a lot like PINK FLOYD. "Angelica" has a quiet beginning that builds in intensity until the vocals come in. Some emotional guitar on this one."The Beloved" is a rocker, much more aggressive than the first two tracks. Some excellent guitar 4 minutes in. "Eternity Part 1" is emotional much like most of this record, love the line "do you think were forever ?" "Eternity Part II" is atmospheric with a guitar line that comes and goes, some faint spoken vocals 2 1/2 minutes in.

"Suicide Veil" is pretty much a gothic tune, dark and slow, with lots of bass, ending with some beautiful acoustic guitar and rain. "Radiance" kicks in around a minute and gets heavier with synths before 3 minutes. Passionate vocals and guitar after 4 minutes. I love the chorus on "Far Away", and the bass is great too. I like the way the song speeds up at around 4 minutes and then the guitars of Vincent and Daniel shine. "Eternity Part III" is a dark tune that gets heavy with some nice guitar. "Cries On The Wind" features some heavy passages early. Check out the ripping guitar solo after 3 minutes, then the tempo picks up. It ends with spoken vocals. "Ascension" is a melodic instrumental ending emotionally with piano.

A pretty good record but the best is just around the corner. For me "A Fine Day To Exit", "Alternative 4" and "Judgement" are all a level up from this one.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Mellotron Storm (BETA) | Report this review (#93937)
Posted Monday, October 09, 2006 | Review Permalink
hdfisch
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars This album was the definite transitional one in the career of this band hailing from Liverpool. After two full-length releases plus one EP having been quite influential in doom metal they've changed here drastically their sound towards more atmospheric and psychedelic rock/metal with a strong Floydian touch. It became a highly emotional, melancholic and inspiring album and I've to say it's besides "Alternative 4" one my favourite ones by them (though all their others are very good as well).

The short but fascinating "Sentient" is a perfect introduction into the inspiring atmosphere of this album and "Angelica" reveals a sound quite typical for the band's later albums with weeping guitars, mournful atmosphere and soft vocals by Vincent Cavanagh that considerably improved compared to "The Silent Enigma". "The beloved" changes to a significantly heavier and more aggressive mood though still having pleasant and highly emotional sections with expressively presented deep lyrics. Then there are the first two parts of the title track of which Part one is a great highlight in particular. It's a rather up-speed track with some experimental electronic sounds at its end leading into Part 2 which continues with more atmospheric and ambient tunes. Pink Floyd-cover "Hope" starts with the recitement of a Shakespeare-sque sonnet and represents a very nicely done version of this great song. Somehow it fits here very well right in the middle bringing some gleam of light into this rather mournful album. "Suicide veil" is another highlight and as the title implies a very sorrowful and depressing song with some nice Floydian touch. "Radiance" is another slow paced and excellent track revealing a highly textured symphonic sound. The following "Far Away" is - actually I hate repeating myself - once again a highlight of this disk and together with "The beloved" and "Hope" one of the easiest ones to memorize from here. "Eternity part III" reveals a more dragging doom metal sound with thick guitars and here we can find one of the few sections with growls of this album. "Cries on the wind" continues in a heavier and slow paced mood with great thick guitar sound and all instrumental last track of the standard edition "Ascension" starts in a more up-speed pace before it closes with a mellow acoustic sound. The limited edition comes including acoustic versions of "Far Away" and "Eternity part III" which are a very worthwhile addition.

As a summary I just can highly recommend this album to any fan of heavier, dark and atmospheric progressive music. Certainly worth (at least) 4 stars!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to hdfisch (BETA) | Report this review (#99095)
Posted Thursday, November 16, 2006 | Review Permalink
OpethGuitarist
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Cavanagh makes leaps and bounds with his vocals - but the rest?

Anathema biggest leap into a "darker" Floydian sound was here at Eternity. The copy I have is actually a Limited edition Disc with 2 extra tracks, an acoustic rendition of Far Away and Eternity Pt2. Anyways, this might be one of my least favorite Anathema records, it strikes me as the most plain and least captivating.

Quite frankly, I find little of it intriguing, progressive, or what not. Most of it seems like bland alternative music. And to boot, the melodies are not particular captivating, as they would be on Judgement and Alternative 4. Many speak of the emotion that is contained in all of the Anathema records. I find little if any of it here. Instead I here a group of musicians, while still very able, searching for their sound since they went away from their doom roots.

I am sure fans of neo, alt. rock, and more mainstream acts might find this album very enjoyable, however, it's just not for me. I find many of the other Anathema records much better music wise, and also crafted much more thoughtfully.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to OpethGuitarist (BETA) | Report this review (#112020)
Posted Tuesday, February 13, 2007 | Review Permalink
Moatilliatta
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars For those of you who read my review for A Fine Day to Exit and wondered why Anathema seemed like such an anathema to me, I would first like to say that I only said that just now because it was a pun and I almost never leave a potential pun unsaid. Now, the band is no anathema to me, but they do bore me. And if they don't bore you, well then my goodness you are either a boring person or you are really depressed and you just sit there meditating on the lyrics while you listen and you wallow in the grief that you've exagerrated because you crave attention.

Before you guys get all offended or whatever, know that I am kidding, unless you liked the Crestfallen EP, because you shouldn't like that even if you're into doom metal. Sure, I'm opinionated, but I've also long held the belief that my opinions are facts, so there. I'm not going to argue with you about it! Just let me write this review!

So, what we have here is Anathema sprouting from their doom metal roots into a decent-sounding alternative metal with some Pink Floyd influence. This is the premature version of their sound, though. You'll notice that when Anathema drastically changes their sound, it takes them and album or two to actualize the potential of their new ideas. A Fine Day to Exit was a decent album, but it did get a little boring and I couldn't bother finishing it when I had more enjoyable music to listen to, like the album that followed, A Natural Disaster.

If you like the general sound the group presents here, I would suggest that you stop listening to whatever you're sampling, and grab Judgement, which [at this point] is analogous to A Natural Disaster in terms of sound development. If you're really into this sound, I still suggest that you stop and go check out the aforementioned as well as Alternative 4, which is also better. Now, if you still aren't satiated by those two, sure, have this one as well, but I doubt you'll listen to it half as much.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Moatilliatta (BETA) | Report this review (#168244)
Posted Sunday, April 20, 2008 | Review Permalink
The Crow
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars The album where the Anathema's musical direction changed definitively... Thanks God!

But the style of the band was not really orientated yet. After closing their Doom Metal era, they maked this album based on Pink Floyd and 70's sounds, and with some gothic and symphonic influences... And the new Anathema's style was born!

They keeped their metallic roots, but giving the music a lot of more sentiment and diversity... The clear Vincent vocals are far from the Doom Metal growls. Ok... But I muss say they are not really good. This mand could not really singing yet... He is not very bad, but sometimes he sounds out of tone, and I think his voice was not under his total control. It's a pity... Because some great parts of the album are spoiled by the weak Vincent's singing. He would improve a lot for the next realease (Alternative 4), but in Eternity he sounds unpleasant. Nevertheless, the female voices in some songs are much better.

The album is maybe still harder than the later Anathema's milestones... But the acoustic and ambiental passages avoid this album being hard for not-metal lovers. Some songs have even new age influences... Like Eternity Part II, and the very Pink Floydish Sentient. This is still metal, but a mellow view of this style, and more accesible than the previous Anathema's extreme works. So if you are not into hard sounds, this is not a problem.

Best songs: Angelica (one of the most beautiful guitar meodies Anathema has ever made...), The Beloved (hard and catchy song... Despite the bad vocals), Hope (one of the most original songs, with good guitar layes and some keyboards), Far Away (a little classic of this album...) and Cries on the Wind (I like the egipcian influences of this track...)

Conclusion: the first album where Anathema starts to showing the style they make now... Really different of their Doom Metal beginnings, and far better in my opinion. This album has some weak points, like the poor production, and the bad Vicent's singing. But every Anathema's fan will find it interesting. I would also recommend this album to the rest of listeners... But despite this is not a bad work, if you are new to Anathema, I recommend you to start with later albums like the marvellous Alternative 4, or the equally excellent Judegemnt, because Eternity can be a bit hard for beginners.

My rating: ***

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to The Crow (BETA) | Report this review (#171775)
Posted Tuesday, May 20, 2008 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars Anathema shock. they're very good!

Between 1992 and 1995, Anathema released two full albums and two well filled EPs. With their doom laden heavy instrumental sound and growled vocals, they appeared to have set out their stall and defined the path they would take throughout their career. People like myself found their works frustrating as they hinted at great potential but ultimately disappointed. Nothing prepared any of us though, including their most devoted fans, for what was to happen in 1996.

The line up remained unchanged for the recording of "Eternity", but the reality is this is a completely different band. Suddenly, Vincent Cavanagh discovers he is actually a highly capable singer while the band as a whole reveal a starling capacity to create melodic masterpieces. There is no question of the band compromising their values or selling out, but this is the equivalent of Pink Floyd metamorphosing from the band which made "Ummagumma" to the creators of "Dark side of the moon".

The opening "Sentient" signals the change straight away, with beautiful piano and weeping guitar combining over a lush mellotron like base. The track is slightly reminiscent of Marillion's "Pseudo silk Kimono", in texture if not melody. This becomes "Angelica" where we find a continuation of the wonderful guitar sounds. As we brace ourselves from the inevitable growling to shatter the magnificent introductory moments, we are presented with delightfully melodic vocals. I still find it hard to restrain my unfettered joy in Anathema's decision to take such a bold step at this stage in their career.

Even when the pace is lifted and the atmosphere is sharply altered for the hard rocking "The beloved", melody and fine vocals remain the order of the day. The arrangements are admirably inventive and tightly performed. The first of three tracks to bear the album's title runs in all to almost 6 minutes. The choral synths, female backing vocals and gothic atmosphere combine to create a track which has all the hallmarks of a Sisters of Mercy number, it could even be Wayne Hussey singing! There is no direct connection between the three "Eternity's", part two being an atmospheric instrumental coda to part 1.

The next surprise is the inclusion of a cover version of the David Gilmour/Roy Harper song "Hope". This starts with a poetic recital leading to magnificent bass laden number with a quite astonishing vocal performance. As Vincent sings "I wanted to live forever" the quivering of his voice is charged with emotion and power. Why would anyone with such a fine voice waste so many years growling!

"Suicide veil" has more in keeping with the old Anathema in terms of style and instrumental sound, the raw emotion being brought out far better by the sung vocals. "Radiance" builds from a goth like start to a climactic conclusion, the Mission/Sisters of Mercy comparison remaining entirely valid. "Far away" is strongly reminiscent of Porcupine Tree, a band Anathema have been closely associated with over many years. The vocal style on this song is that of Steve Wilson, especially on more recent Porcupine Tree albums.

The final "Eternity" track is by far the hardest, venturing even closer to the style of previous releases. "Cries on the wind" prolongs the doomy mood with ultra-heavy guitar sounds prevailing. The instrumental "Ascension" which closes the album takes us back to the haunting piano atmosphere of the start.

The re-released version of the CD includes three bonus tracks. Two of these are acoustic workings of tracks on the album, while the third is a live rendition of "Angelica". I find myself preferring the acoustic renditions of "Far away" and "Eternity part 3" which are after all the heaviest tracks on the album.

This is the album Anathema had threatened to make right from the start. Those of us who saw the potential in their early albums but were left disappointed by them have been rewarded beyond our dreams here. There is still a little way to go to attain the heights the band would reach on later albums, but "Eternity" represents a massive change for the band and one of the most admirable improvements in the history of prog.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#174779)
Posted Sunday, June 22, 2008 | Review Permalink
Bonnek
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Prog Metal Team
3 stars With the death grunts gone, some of the band's future style and quality starts shining through. What we get is emotinal doom rock that reveals a lot of Fields of the Nephilim and Pink Floyd influences.

The album is uneven though, only a few songs are really remarkable and while Vincent gives a brave try at the vocals it comes out rather forced and regularly out of tune. At least he succeeds in offering some strong melodies and an emotional - not to say pathetic - edge to the growing personality of the band. You can certainly not blame them for not doing their ultimate best.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Bonnek (BETA) | Report this review (#237626)
Posted Sunday, September 06, 2009 | Review Permalink
EatThatPhonebook
PROG REVIEWER
2 stars Anathema's third studio album is the album that divides Anathema's two main periods: The deat Doom metal one, and the Alternative Rock (with Doom Metal influences) one. Said that, "Eternity" is still an immature album, with certainly some very nice moments in many parts, but the band obviously hasn't reached maturity yet; the vocals aren't really convincing, just like some moods in the songs.

Musically, the album has many Pink Floyd influences as well as still some metal winks here and there. The structure of the album isn't particularly well-built, but still respectable for a band that still had a lot to prove back then.

Some of the best moments are also the most dramatic; "Angelica"'s melancholic melodies, the first part of the title track's amazing, haunting, and very impactful atmospheres. Not to forget also the alarmed and creepy "Cries On The Wind", and the beautiful harmony of "Far Away".

An interesting effort, in conclusion, and definitely worth the listen if you like the band, since it it's a landmark album for them chronologically and musically speaking.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to EatThatPhonebook (BETA) | Report this review (#318781)
Posted Sunday, November 14, 2010 | Review Permalink
ZowieZiggy
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars If you have ever read some previous reviews of mine about "Anathema", you might know that I was quite mixed (to say the least) about the music displayed so far. The only exception being of their "Pentecost III" EP (whose lenght was almost a full album one);

This "Eternity" album starts brilliantly, with a fantastic intro song that should shiver your flesh. The instrumental "Sentient" is such a moving piece of music! Almost symphonic!

Actually, the great feeling goes on with the other songs featured as well: harmony combined with some heavy enthusiasm. If it weren't for one of my best friend (hi JP), I wouldn't have investigated more into this band. But as I wrote in some previous early recordings (especially the EP "Pentecost III"): there were some good signs which are completely fulfilled in this album.

Of course, this work doesn't belong to some sort of a quiet and tranquil generated music. The offering is rather energetic, but still melodic and comfortably innovative ("Eternity"). What a change in comparison with some previous works!

The band is almost unrecognizable. Not in terms of instrumental parts (I have mentioned how great they were already). But more in terms of musical beauty ("Eternity " both part I and II).

This band was categorized in a complete different section while they appeared in PA. But now, gone are the growling vocals, and welcome are the melodic song structures like "Hope". I would almost tell that the great instrumental sections of their previous recordings are shadowed by the vocal parts of this work!

The excellent doom atmosphere is not alien from this album of course: "Radiance" and the excellent "Cries On The Wind" are there to remind us these moments. The added prog feel is so obvious! These songs are a great achievement and a definite superb prog adventure.

As many reviewers have written, this work is a major step forward (but some signs of improvements were noticeable already with "Pentecost III") in the development of the band / music.

The most emotional track being the wonderful "Far Away":which featurs an awesome guitar finae. Itl is of course a highlight of this album.

This effort is by far their best one. Seven out of ten, but upgraded to four stars. This is a total and reversed style of music which is played . But so pleasant to report! And so great to listen to!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to ZowieZiggy (BETA) | Report this review (#338575)
Posted Monday, November 29, 2010 | Review Permalink
3 stars Eternity ? 1996 (2.6/5 almost 2 stars) 9 ? Best Song: Angelica

Artistic growth used to mean so much more, I think, and this isn't me complaining about the 1990's, because if you take a quick stroll at my other review pages, some bands (like Ween) receive glowing praise from me. But back with a band like the Beatles, artistic growth from them was going from I Wanna Hold Your Hand, a cutesy pop song, to Happiness is a Warm Gun, which nearly defies explanation. Today, though, it seems like artistic growth implies beginning as an awful lot of noise, then whipping into gothic rock. Sure as hell I'd take good gothic rock over the best obnoxious trite noise, but I'd much rather the groups just take a crash course in songcraft. Eternity is akin to that latter form of artistic growth. I'd certainly take a relatively interesting, sharply psychedelic melancholy track in the flow of 'Angelica' over anything from the first two albums. I'll go ahead and say that I hate black metal more than hardcore gangster rap, and call it a night for many a young reader. And I still wonder. Yes, Eternity is an improvement, and I hesitate to overrate it. But that opening instrumental is pointless. They're still relying on style and aesthetic sound values over the actual direct notes they play.

The singing retains the quite-abrasive coldness on 'The Beloved', and it makes for a disconcerting experience. The riffs become thicker, more well-oiled and fitting of the big flair, and the bucket whacking has gone down to a minimum. These are not positives so much as loss of negatives. For no reason I can discern they cover a Roy Harper song. I like it for what it is, but gosh it's out of left field. Almost like a classic metal band covering a folk love ballad to Bob Dylan. It's all pessimistic and depressing in the silliest manner, but at least I can listen to it without going back to the medicine cabinet for another handful of ibuprofen.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Alitare (BETA) | Report this review (#459139)
Posted Saturday, June 11, 2011 | Review Permalink
5 stars A fair proportion of bands are able to produce one album which clearly stands out above the rest, and stands as a crystallisation of all the best elements of the band while carefully avoiding some of the more obvious negatives. And in my humble opinion, this is Anathema's. The Liverpool lads have produced some exciting and varied stuff over the years, but this one really hits the spot for me. It may not be their most atypically 'proggish' release, but this work is progressive in the way that it stands pretty much alone in rickety bridge between death-doom and a more alternative-prog sound, something which to my knowledge no other bands have attempted to do in the same slow progression across many albums that Anathema have done.

The album is incredibly atmospheric right from the off, the flowing 'Sentient' expertly punctuated by the feedback heavy guitars and subtle synthesisers. This leads nicely into the next track, 'Angelica', which is quite simply one of most awesome pieces of music ever recorded. With around 90 plays on my I-Pod to date, I've calculated that I've spent nearly 9 hours of the past year listening to this song, but every time I hear it I feel the goosebumps as the gentle guitar slowly builds into a powerful but certainly not heavy riff, proving that Anathema could dispel their death-doom roots without losing the ability to write a flipping good song!

'The Beloved' and 'Eternity Part I' pick up the pace a bit but not at the expense of the atmosphere. Both songs offer great riffs and 'Eternity Part I' offers excellent build up to a very goth-rock style guitar verse. As usual, the lyrics are fairly doom and gloom, but with the atmospherics that Anathema play with, they actually manage to pull it off.

'Eternity Part II' slows things down again, but the instrumental provides an interesting break before seamlessly leading into a rendition of Roy Harper's excellent 'Hope', which Anathema pull off flawlessly, and manage to make the piece sound like it was always meant to be a goth-metal song!

The album continues with 'Suicide Veil' and 'Radiance', slower and more melancholy numbers which nevertheless pull their punches when they mean too, before the well placed 'Far Away' brings in Floyd-ish elements (if at a fairly slow pace) and sounds a little less doom and gloom, even if the lyrics suggest otherwise. Of course the album couldn't end there, so some slow and more atypical (of the album) sounding songs finish it in the shape of 'Eternity Part III' and 'Cries On The Wind', both entirely capable numbers even if they're not up to the high standards set by 'Angelica' and 'Eternity Part I.'

On the whole, the album really does sound excellent. It flows well as an album even if it's not hugely diverse, and there are no weak tracks on the thing, along with some amazingly strong ones. The staple feedback guitars are very present as is the snails- pace of the some of the songs characterised in Anathema's early work, but this album catches Anathema at a very unique bridging point between the much doomier and heavier 'Silent Oblivion' and the more overtly alternative if still dark 'Alternative 4', neither of which were a patch on 'Eternity.' In all, this really is an excellent album, but in the words of that recent BT TIVO advert (of which I am not really a fan) 'But what do you think?' ................

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Ffogorp the Confused (BETA) | Report this review (#567445)
Posted Sunday, November 13, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Of all the bands in the "Peaceville Three" of Anathema, My Dying Bride, and Paradise Lost - pioneers of both a death/doom hybrid sound and, later, gothic metal, Anathema are by far the group I enjoy the most. On Eternity they play an intriguing blend of doomy gothic metal with gothy indie rock which puts me in mind of The Chameleons - in particular, Vincent Cavanaugh's lead vocals put me in mind of the vocals of Mark Burgess of Chameleons fame, and both bands tend towards a similar "wall of guitars" sound. I think the reason I like Anathema more than the other two boils down to them showing real taste and discernment when it comes to the alternative rock and gothic rock influences they weave into their music; Eternity is a good case in point.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#627088)
Posted Sunday, February 05, 2012 | Review Permalink
4 stars 7.5/10

And here things start to work, thankfully.

With Eternity, I get to see Anathema who I became a fan. No more guttural vocals, and I am eternally grateful for it: this is an album of transition, more melodic and ethereal than its predecessors. There are still a lot of weight here, but it is clear that the intention of the band is distancing himself from the sound of the first two albums towards something like say ... "enlightened."

When it comes to Anatehma, I like to use that word for some reason.

The production is still far from the best in the world. Especially the battery seems weaker here. And while Vincent sing melodically here, I think he will offer a better performance in the next album. One of the things that I like is the incursion of pianos and ethereal sounds, adding and boosting the overall sound of the band. The guitars continue to be the strong point here, and also mention to the bass of Duncan Petterson.

4 stars.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to voliveira (BETA) | Report this review (#996618)
Posted Friday, July 12, 2013 | Review Permalink

ANATHEMA Eternity ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of ANATHEMA Eternity


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.41 seconds